We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, comfortable”
Review of Le Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Papillon
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat, comfortable”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Room was clean and bed was also neat and comfortable. There were most of equipment needed in the kitchen. The service was good also. But the point that the sharing bathroom is too cold was uncomfortable.(I've stayed there in winter) However, this wouldn't be problem in summer season. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryalice1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
22
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have stayed here a few times after a party with friends,very clean and it is adorned with paintings
painted by the landlady Marga.We stayed in room 6 a family room,consisting of a double and a single bad and a bunk bed ideal for the family.I would not hesitate to recommend Le Papillon.

Room Tip: If you are a large family ask for room six.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

we returned to the Papillon but this time it was 4 couples
as it was end of September it was quiet but very coosy and comfortable
Marga was very nice again and we did some good cooking
we just love it there and I will visit there again when I am back again

Room Tip: phone the lady for booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandro p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is the second time that I have used Le Papillon as part of a group and it has been great on both occasions. Marga is an excellent host, and will sort any issues that may arise. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are very clean. We will definitely be staying again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Me and my friend stayed at le papillon, it was more like staying at a friends house than staying at a hostel. Marga the owner was so lovely always complimenting us on our hair and clothes and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were nice and marga had a lovely dog. It was cute. The painting all over the house were interesting too. The cleaner was also very nice and friendly. GO MARGA!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethandstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Positives: Bright, clean accomodation (on the whole), biscuits and juice in room.

Negatives: Uncomfortable bed, noise from other travellers, paying for the showers, kitchen was dirty

The location was o.k - a bit of a walk to the centre of town

Overall, not as good as I expected from other reviews on here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marga C, Owner at Le Papillon, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a feedback but unfortunately I can not recall you having stayed here So I just like to comment in general on just a couple of points that you have made 1st , and I assume that you did stay during the height of season , it is a normal and a good sign of travellers talking to each other and sometimes the conversations are louder than intended but it is very exciting to meet people from all different cultures and what a waste it would be not to talk and have fun together.
2nd As with people from different cultures using one kitchen you have to expect all types of different aromas , which is a fun part of a hostel culture .Nearly all of our guests respected the kitchen and cleaned up after their meal. Our kitchen was busy and used a lot , but never ever dirty.
Please get to know the difference !!
Sorry I could not make your stay more to your liking but you never made yourself known to me
Marga Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My parents and I stayed in this lovely hostel for 4 nights and it was perfect. The rooms were clean and colourfull. The commonrooms where welcoming and had paintings on every wall. A nice big garden and a clean kitchen for visitors to use.
The location were great to. Close to the promenade and town centre, but hidden away in backstreet, so there were no annoying disturbance from traffic or drunk tourists.
The hostess was charming and always glad to give a bit of advice if you needed it.

So all in all a place I would definately advice you to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#52 of 87 in Torquay
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Guest House
Serendipity Guest House
#73 of 150 in Torquay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Papillon

Property: Le Papillon
Address: 18 Vansittart Road | Devon TQ2 5BW, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Papillon 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS 4 TWO Le Papillon is a very popular accommodation ideally situated within walking distance to the town centre, beaches, harbour, clubs and pubs Le Papillon has a large car park and a big south facing garden with a terraced area for BBQ's ideal for al fresco eating The rooms are spacious and comfortable There are 3 large double and 1 twin bedroom as well as a 4-5 bed dorm/family room 3 of the double bed rooms have TV and all rooms are large enough to put up 2 more beds if the room is wanted as a family room The hostel has 3 shower rooms/wc and 2 separate cloakrooms There is a big well equipped kitchen and breakfast room ideal for self catering Prices start from £20.00 per person per night SUMMER CABINS These Wooden Cabins have been converted into cosy double bedrooms with washbasin, hot and cold water, power points, heating and a patio with table and chairs PLEASE NOTE The cabins are situated in a secluded part of the garden There is a cloakroom (toilet and washbasin) outside the cabins but showers have to be used in the main house The price is £ 17.50 per person per night Wifi is accessible from most areas and ID is necessary For advanced bookings there is a non-refundable deposit required Groups over 5 people should contact the manager first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Papillon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing