We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here for my wifes birthday weekend and the lovely Terri upgraded us to the Gothic Suite which was an exellent room. The kids loved the balcony over looking the quiet road and also watching kids channels on TV. The rooms was confortable, well presented and had everything we need. There is a small car park which is tight to get in to so if you have a large car, you may struggle, but don't let this put you off. The breakfast is excellent and the plate of fruit was very refreshing and the kids loved this touch. You get a small slip from Terri to chose what you would like on the breakfast and this adds a small personal touch. The only downside....we were only here one night! We certainly will be back and it will be much longer. Do recommend the Ascot House Hotel, too right I do!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCityRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
270
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed at Ascot House during the end of the February half term. I had booked quite late, and Terri was really good about figuring out the accomodation - we needed 3 rooms with various configurations. That conversation alone, done over the phone, told me that we were going to a friendly place.
Ascot House is in a good location, close to the waterfront of Torquay, but up the hill so it is away from the crowds. The place is done up nicely, with French antique style furniture. Each room has facilities to make tea, plus fresh milk in a small personal fridge. The rooms are done to a high standard, and the bathrooms are well equipped and modern. The luxury suites are really massive, and a good place to hang out if you are in a larger group.
Terri gave us a key and we were free to come and go whenever we liked.
We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, cooked by Bernard. They were wholesome and with plenty of variety. Fruit, cereal, bread, croissants, brioches, eggs with an abundant supply of coffee or tea or hot chocolate - no salmon (as Bernard explained...).
I would highly recommend Ascot House.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

FANTASTIC!! , Terri came out to introduce herself and help us park, She was very welcoming to our 3 and a half year oldafter which our eldest could not stop talking about Terri!
The room was WOW (luxury suite)!! great decor and very clean and spacious, very well thought out as there was a small chair in the bathroom for our daughter and the cot that was put out for our baby was lovely.
It was gorgeous and very relaxing (our eldest snuggled on the sofa in the cozy throw and watched a dvd).
Breakfast was great, fruit plate was lovely (our eldest hogged it) and the scrambled eggs were amazing and they had also put out a special chair so that our eldest could reach properly (like a highchair but no tray or straps), she loved it.
Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazzy228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This is an excellent small boutique hotel, with lots of attention to detail. Much thought has gone in to anticipating a number of common requests.

Particularly good touches:
- fresh milk in a mini fridge outside your room
- free WiFi network with the key displayed on the desk
- a decent hairdryer in the wardrobe
- breakfast: more than even I could eat (and that is quite a lot)

I stayed in a double room which had been generously discounted for single occupancy but the suites downstairs looked excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedoc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

This hotel is bijou in the true sense. A little jewel. It is very well presented, extremely clean, and the service was good, both friendly and helpful. I loved the interior architecture and the decor; the wonderful central staircase is evocative of times past and what must be the Victorian heritage of the building. I had to stay in Torquay for work but look forward to returning to this hotel for pleasure. I'm bringing my husband next time!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I recently travelled to Torquay with friends. We were lucky to stay at the Ascot House. The hotel is conveniently located .
Each bedroom has its own style and is finely decorated. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious.
Wifi access very useful.
The customer service is excellent. Hosts are warm and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Ascot House is not only a hotel but also a place you do not want to leave.
Terri and Bernard are wonderful hosts with great professionalism and make you feel at home.
It is difficult to say what we enjoy most in our stay since everything was so nice and beautiful. We loved everything from the location in a quiet area of Torquay to the amazing breakfast. Each item of decoration seems to have a story or an anecdote that Bernard can tell you about.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry-Nolwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing