We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in Torquay”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hotel in Torquay”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

What a woderful hotel, terri and bernard were amazing. The breakfast was amazing! The room was beautiful and tastefully decorated. Fantastic. We will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks for the 'amazing' comments, Janet. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
285
13
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Absolutely wonderful little find. Well presented, gothic french design complete with stunning furniture. Room was spotlessly clean, modern bathroom, superbly comfortable, plus Terri welcomed us warmly and provided the most amazing breakfast :-) definately a winner, we will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is a real gem with beautiful decor, a mouthwatering breakfast and a extremely friendly hosts. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Torquay, looking for good value for money and a person experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just spent a night at this little gem. Was last minute booking and only regret was couldnt stay longer. Terri and Bernard provide such a warm welcome and excellent service. Room was beautiful and very tastefully furnished. couldnt fault it at all. Breakfast was amazing plenty of choice and freshly cooked . The dining room was beautiful.. Hotel is only 10 minute walk into the town centre.A visit to this hotel is a must as you certainly wont be dissapointed ! ! Am already planning to go back in the near future . Thank you to Terri and Bernard as your hotel is a credit to you both.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbabe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at Ascot House over the jubilee weekend and it was incredible and thoroughly enjoyable. Terri and Bernard were gracious hosts and the breakfast couldn't be beat. I'll be back shortly with my mom as I take her around on her inaugural visit to me in Uni. I can't recommend this b and b highly enough! Fabulous location, excellent food, comfortable beds! just, WOW!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myfanwy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
How nice that you were, indeed, able to return with your Mum a short time later - just a pity about all the rain! We hope you had a lovely visit back home and we hope to see you once you're back in the area for Uni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Ascot House may not be on the seafront, however given the choice I would sooner walk a further 5 mins than stay any where else. The house itself is great, we stayed on the top floor which was fab for our family, which consisted of 9years to 69 years !!. Immaculately kept, topped up with goodies every day. Food... OMG where to start, fresh fruit platter every day, on to Croissants, toast,cereals, and a freshly cooked english breakfast by a very good frenchman !!
The hosts were so friendly and helpful in everyway.... we will definately return, had such fun. Many thanks for all your help Terri, and Bernard, we had an amazing time xx

Room Tip: If staying as a large family, ask regarding the whole top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikinoo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Myself and my Husband came here when we were given a gift to stay here as part of our wedding present. It was wonderful staying here and I didn't want to leave! Terri was lovely and cooks the most delicious breakfast, the rooms are all perfect and beautifully decorated. Nobody would be disappointed with staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Top Suite which is fabulous. A lovely sea view and very quiet. Massive bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing