We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in the best possible way”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We booked this hotel following a recommendation from someone we knew who had stayed previously and a review of the excellent website. We booked the Gothic Suite for our stay as liked the idea of having a seperate living area - the suite is beautifully decorated and the fridge and fresh milk provided is a bonus. We arrived in very wet weather after a long drive and hosts Bernard and Terri could not have been more welcoming and helpful also in finding us a takeway (Tiger Bills - Thai Takeway, very nice) that evening! They provided the menu, plates, cutlery, glasses and ice for our drinks.

The weather did improve thankfully and Terri continued to provide a personal, quality service for the rest of our stay. Terri assisted with the itinerary for our stay whilst in Torquay and provided a delicious breakfast for us each day.

I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel for a stay in the Torquay area.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night then I would definitely recommend one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Manager at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

We're just so pleased that the weather cleared up for you after the wettest welcome to Torquay possible! And, of course, we're very happy that enjoyed your stay with us so much. All the best, Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

A weekend away in Torquay - we were hoping to be able to make Fawlty Towers jokes, but no chance with this hotel. The sea view was very definitely there, the breakfast was great, and our hosts Terri and Bernard were charming, friendly and kind. The presence of a fridge in the room was a real bonus and there were other thoughtful touches such as provision of child-size hangers (we were travelling with two smalls in tow) which made us feel really looked after. We are looking forward to making a return visit next year!

Room Tip: We were in the family room on the top floor - amazing views and binoculars thoughtfully provided!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for a week - and I cant tell u how fantastic it was the room a suite was lovely see the photos the hosts were perfect not overbearing and couldn't have been more helpful even offering to take us to Plymouth for the day suggested coastal walks, restaurants, etc as the other guests state breakfast is cooked to perfection n fruit platter perfect start to the day the one and only downside is that we couldn't stay forever !!! Thanks for a lovely holiday n we will be back xx Mark & Louise

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samamyluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Manager at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thanks so much Mark & Louise! It was a joy having you so we're really happy that we get to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Amazing hotel, lovely decor inside, was very clean and tidy. Arrived to a fab friendly welcome.
Breakfast was yummy. Will definatly come back to stay again as the location was perfect only 10 mins walk from the seafront and the town centre.
We Would have loved to have stayed longer and will bring the kids next time and try out one of their other beautiful rooms :) :) xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After spending some time in Cornwall and wanting to break up the 360 mile journey home to Stockport, we decided to visit Torquay. We last stayed there in 1985, so this was a bit of a nostalgia trip too as neither of us can remember the exact hotel we stayed in then other than it was on Warren Road. We have come to the conclusion it was the Conway Court recently destroyed by a fire in 2011.

We had no idea where we wanted to stay this time. However, after much browsing of the web we found the Ascot House. What a find it is too. It is a small B&B with just 7 rooms but the room we ended up in was much more than that. We had booked a superior room but due to a leak we were offered a suite. Teri the owner was waiting for us on arrival and explained that there had been a small leak in our proposed room and would we be happy with another room. We were more than impressed with the room we were given. It consisted of a large bedroom, a very generous sitting room with a large terrace and a huge bathroom with a free-standing bath, shower stall and the room was so big there was a large double wardrobe in there. The 3 rooms were all beautifully appointed and it was clear a great deal of thought and effort had gone into the decor and fixtures & fittings.

Breakfast was included and cooked to order. The usual cereals, toast, jams etc., were available and I had the tastiest tomatoes ever with my cooked breakfast.

Overall the stay at Ascot House made the trip. Torquay is not now the nicest of holiday destinations and that is why the overall score is not 5. The hotel is very much better than the area it serves, so much so, we would return and use it as a base from which to explore Devon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the suite, worth every penny for the space you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Our family of seven (all over twenty except for a 5 month old baby) stayed in three rooms in this comfortable, perfect hotel for 5 days. Its location is great; 10 minute walk to the town or the beach. The friendly and helpful proprietors (Terri and Bernard) work hard to provide a hotel with clean rooms that have great character. Terri also gives good advice on where to eat and visit. The breakfast was excellent; fresh fruit to start with a choice of cereals then the tastiest cooked breakfast you could dream of. Brioche, croissants and toast with a good selection of preserves. Overall it was good value. We have already recommended it to our relatives.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a standard room that is comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothergoosethemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at Ascot House for 4 nights and could not fault it in any way, other than we wanted to stay longer!!!!!!!
The character of this hotel is wonderful .......... the classy decor along with the most beautiful pieces of furniture make this a comfortable and homely feel ....... it was clean and nothing was too much trouble for Terri and Bernard ....... the breakfast was delicious ..... our children aged 4 and 5 loved the fresh fruit on the table and will be expecting this every breakfast time at home .... our room had plenty of room and ample wardrobe and drawer space ........... we would most definately recommend staying here and will return in the future ....... we were in the top suite and the views across the sea and over to Paignton and Brixham were lovely .......... just a perfect hotel with perfect hosts x

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveOurJollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Manager at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thanks for the enthusiasm Warwickshirecheeks! We do like having families with us and are therefore very glad you all enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to see you again! Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 86 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing