We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay and a lovely welcome”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A very reasonable price with 5 star service from the excellent Terri,nothing was too much trouble and the best value breakfast (and its included in the price) I have had in a long time,its just a short walk to the town and nice n quiet overnight with a very comfy bed too,so comfy we slept in but Terri still did our breakfeast :-) and that's not a spelling error! A real pleasure will be returning at some point.Denver and Claire x

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have just returned from three nights at the Ascot House hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in the Top suite with fabulous views of the sea.
From the moment we arrived we knew we were in excellent hands. Terri and Bernard run a stylish yet friendly B&B. We found it to be in a good location, central to all the amenities of Torquay.
The breakfast was first class with top quality ingredients and first class service.
We really didn't want to leave and will definitely return. We travelled with our 6 year old daughter and she also loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Excellent small hotel with friendly, charming hosts who looked after us very well and we have no hesitation in fully recommending anyone to stay there. The bedroom had a comfortable homely feel that suited the building that Bernard told us was built in c. 1850. The breakfast was certainly worth mentioning, probably the best we have had in an hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

An immaculate and charming little hotel with a delightful host. Our room was spotless, it had charm, and the bed was so comfortable. Everything was done to a high standard, not in a fussy, irritating way, but in a homey, welcoming way. There is obviously great care taken in the kitchen to provide healthy and nutritious breakfasts; a lovely little fruit plate was on the table to start us off. Terri was gracious and cheerful, as well as knowledgeable about the area. We would definitely stay there again and also recommend it to our friends. Jane and Colin

Room Tip: We peeked into a few of the unoccupied rooms and they all looked lovely. I don't think you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Beautifully kept individually styled rooms. The cleanliness, friendly welcome and that wonderfully comfortable bed, together with all the little extras make this a very special place to stay. Delicious fresh fruit platter at breakfast, fresh milk in a fridge by your room, extra tea, coffee etc should you require - in fact there was nothing more we could have wished for.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area and we hope to visit again too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Beautiful room, spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast and the best host. Terri and Bernard have thought of everything to make the stay perfect. The bed was so cosy, we didn't want to get out in the morning, but the lure of the breakfast was too much. My husband's diet was put on hold! We absolutely recommend a stay at the Ascot House, and we'll definitely return as often as we can. Thanks again Terri, you are a gem. P & E

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul and Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Manager at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Oh, thanks so much Paul and Elaine. It was a delight to have you both and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Torquay. Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the attention to detail was fabulous. Our hosts Terri and Bernard made a fantastic job of making us feel very welcome and helping to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were splendid; very characterful! I would defiantly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in Torquay and would have no hesitation in returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - one space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing