We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from a fantastic evening at the Ascot House Hotel! We would have no hesitation in recommending everything about this stylish, friendly boutique hotel. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and taken to our lovely double room which had everything we needed - tea, coffee facilities and an excellent hairdryer! Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the fresh fruit while you waited was a a lovely surprise! We could not recommend this hotel any higher and will definitely be returning! Hopefully, next time to one of the suites which are superb! great value for more! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a little extra try one of the suites for a special evening they look fa...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 271NandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Ascot House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in fullstop. The welcome was very warm and genuine; the hotel was beautiful and tastefully decorated; the breakfast was first rate. Just a short walk to the city centre. we will definitely be staying here again next time Bristol Rovers play Torquay!!

Room Tip: Our room was number 8 at the front. The bed was very comfy and I can completely recommend booking th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Had a lovely stay. Room very comfortable, we had a suite with lovely sea views. The accommodation was close to shops and not too far from the harbour. Good hosts and excellent breakfast with so much choice. Would definitely recommend. We will be visiting again this year.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jordmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked the luxury suite for a family weekend based on prior reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, Terri and Bernard are wonderful hosts, engaging people and providers of a warm, welcoming home from home environment. The breakfast and attention to detail are just wonderful, we've travelled and stayed in hotels a lot and theirs is one of the best. We enjoyed it so much, we're going back this weekend to try out the gothic suite :-)
The luxury suite easily accommodates a family of 4 in style and comfort, the bathroom is heavenly, well worth a visit and well worth the tariff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your very kind comments! We're looking forward to seeing you again so soon!
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed at the Ascot Hotel between 28th - 30th March 2012 and it was fantastic. From Terri coming out checking we were the "Smiths" when we arrived to the breakfasts, beds etc etc. Terri and Bernard who run the hotel can not do enough for you. The drive where you park is quite awkward and on the first day we were going out in the car Bernard ran out of the hotel and directed us so we could get out without any problems, they also let us keep some fresh crab that we had bought in their fridge with no problems at all. We stayed in a twin room and the beds were very very comfortable. The room was a nice size. The only slight niggle I have is that the toilets are saniloos and it takes about 4 flushes to clear it and the shower is more like a dribble. The breakfast starts off with a fruit platter every day and then you can have your choice of hot cooked breakfast. as well as this they have all the cereals you can imagine and white/brown bread for toast. All in all I would stay here again in a heartbeat. As well as the hotel being clean the staff that run the hotel will make you want to come back. A fabulous hotel and experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Fabulous boutique hotel. Friendly atmosphere and beautiful rooms and a very warm welcome! The additional touches of fresh fruit platter's with breakfast shows the love and care the owners have put into this hotel to make our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddyr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words, Teddy! We're always very pleased to hear that our efforts help enhance a guest's visit to Torquay. We hope to see you on your next trip down!
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Nice and easy to find, great location, 15 minute walk to princess theatre and centre. Excellent friendly welcome and this continued thoroughly out the stay. The room was very clean and very well laid out. Bed was extremely comfortable and loved the decoration, gothic style. Breakfast included and well worth it. Although next to a road myself and partner were not disturbed by any outside noise (awesome nights sleep) Will def use again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marley20b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,951 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £80 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing