We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with amazing hosts, excellent value for money, do not hesitate to stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with amazing hosts, excellent value for money, do not hesitate to stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

From my first phone call, when Bernard and Terri went out of their way to accommodate our family, we were very pleased and impressed with this lovely hotel. Beautiful rooms, very comfortable beds with high quality bed linen, lovely bathrooms, amazing food and a convenient position. Lovely biscuits on tray, and real milk in fridge!

We treated ourselves to the luxury suite meaning that we could put the cot and children in the bedroom and sit in the lounge room with doors between them and us. Or rather between them and our lovely babysitters (thanks mum and Keith) while we went to the theatre(15 min walk downhill). Seemed to be an easier walk uphill through the town though, picking up a doner en route ;-)

We will definitely return and recommend to all, may need to book early...

Room Tip: Smokers are permitted to smoke on the balcony outside the luxury suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itinerantcrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
271
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Unless you are an incredibly picky soul there really is nothing to fault here. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and spotless, with thoughtful little extras like binoculars in the window so you can make the most of the view and hot chocolate sachets (regular and low cal). Breakfasts were exquisitely cooked and presented and the welcome is friendly. A top notch place to stay if you fancy a break on the English Riviera.

Room Tip: Go for the top suite. You'll get a sea view, a huge bathroom and calming decor of greens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank see g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I booked 2 rooms, for myself and some friends, we were so impressed with the place, the rooms are such a high standard, and the breakfast was very impressive.
You wont be dissapointed, great value for money, we are going to come back soon.
a real credit to the owners.

Brett

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brettplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from a fantastic evening at the Ascot House Hotel! We would have no hesitation in recommending everything about this stylish, friendly boutique hotel. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and taken to our lovely double room which had everything we needed - tea, coffee facilities and an excellent hairdryer! Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the fresh fruit while you waited was a a lovely surprise! We could not recommend this hotel any higher and will definitely be returning! Hopefully, next time to one of the suites which are superb! great value for more! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a little extra try one of the suites for a special evening they look fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 271NandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawtenstall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in fullstop. The welcome was very warm and genuine; the hotel was beautiful and tastefully decorated; the breakfast was first rate. Just a short walk to the city centre. we will definitely be staying here again next time Bristol Rovers play Torquay!!

Room Tip: Our room was number 8 at the front. The bed was very comfy and I can completely recommend booking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. Room very comfortable, we had a suite with lovely sea views. The accommodation was close to shops and not too far from the harbour. Good hosts and excellent breakfast with so much choice. Would definitely recommend. We will be visiting again this year.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jordmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked the luxury suite for a family weekend based on prior reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, Terri and Bernard are wonderful hosts, engaging people and providers of a warm, welcoming home from home environment. The breakfast and attention to detail are just wonderful, we've travelled and stayed in hotels a lot and theirs is one of the best. We enjoyed it so much, we're going back this weekend to try out the gothic suite :-)
The luxury suite easily accommodates a family of 4 in style and comfort, the bathroom is heavenly, well worth a visit and well worth the tariff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your very kind comments! We're looking forward to seeing you again so soon!
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing