We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Amazing Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We got more that we were expecting when staying at the Ascot House Hotel. It was amazing value for money. They were very accommodating about us bringing a dog (we decided not to in the end). The owner was super helpful and breakfast was amazing. Wow. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentHkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
271
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ascot House Hotel for 2 nights, and will deffinately return in the near future. We were greeted by Terri who was an excellent host. The room was lovely and so tastefully decorated, comfy bed and clean. The breakfast was excellent and great service, care and attention are given at all times. Thank you Terri and co for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Had an overnight stay in Torquay for work, and found this hotel after reading teh reviews on here. Well, they are all true below!
Nice personal welcome from Terri the owner, and shown up to the room and a brief but informative chat about all the available facilities etc.
Room was lovely. Very nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. The bed was fab! Felt like memory foam bed and pillows were perfect - I had a great night's sleep.
Breakfast was served in a lovely bright room - and was cooked to order. It was lovely, and certainly didn't taste like cheap ingredients.
It's worth booking direct, on their website you can specifically book the room you want. I had the suite up on the top floor - not a massive window, but certainly big enough to afford wonderful views over the bay.
I don't go to Torquay much - but if I do again, this will definately be my first choice of place to stay.

Room Tip: Suite on Top Floor is well worth the small extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just spent 3 very comfortable nights at Ascot House Hotel. The Ascot has been tastefully furnished to a really high standard and spotlessly clean.

We have already booked another 4 nights in June, so would definitely recommend the Ascot House Hotel.

Thank you again for a lovely time.

Room Tip: The top suite has an excellent sea and costal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonLee752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at Ascot last weekend for 3 nights. Terri very friendly and kind.

Our Room Number 9 is a average size room, king size bed with small shower, but is fine for us. Next time I would prefer stay at Number 6 or 8. If you are a big size I would suggest you stay another room due the shower room a little tight, but on the website already mentioned so up to you to decide.

Location good, only 10 minutes walk to seafront and the hotel very clean and organize.

Breakfast is nice and a lot of choices, the fruit platter is a very good ideas, little lovely touch.

Terri very kind to let me have a look another rooms before her guests arrive. All rooms looks nice and the suite looks very lovely, no doubt some guests would like treat themselves.

Overall I would like to stay at Ascot House Hotel for my next visit Torquay.

Room Tip: Number 6 or Number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steplulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We arrived early on the Saturday of bank holiday and Terri was very accommodating and welcoming. We parked very easily, but I guess it could get a bit tight when busy.
We took the 10 min walk downhill onto the seafront and returned to a beautiful room which was a good size, despite it claiming to be on the small size. Everything was so clean. The corner shower room was small but plenty big enough for us. I loved the fact that fresh milk is provided in the little fridge on the landing - I usually have to go out and get my own because I cant stand the UHT stuff. Free and reliable WI-FI another bonus - I've spent £100s a night in other hotels and still had to pay fro WI-FI.
As for breakfast - delicious! Fresh fruit, cereals, breads and pastries and that is on top of the cooked breakfast which was 100% to my taste and the best I've had in a long time.
I've stayed in lots of Torquay hotels before on business, but if I ever got the choice I would stay here every time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NetandBDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Nice people, a warm welcome from Teri, a good clean and comfortable room and an excellent breakfast (full English but with a strong French influence) add up to a very good stay and represents great value for money. Add to that a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner, and some unexpected good weather and it all ensured we had a very enjoyable time in Torquay

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing