We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Rooms & Fantastic Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Rooms & Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just left from a two night stay in the Gothic Suite. The rooms are stunning and the bed was so comfy I would have liked to take it home! Owners very friendly and welcoming, but not over fussy. Would definitely stay again....... Feel well taken care of.

Room Tip: Gothic Suite has balcony and is therefore good for the occasional cigarette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
270
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great place to stay - I definitely recommend this b&b/hotel and would go back if I am in Torquay in the future. The whole place was clean and the owners were friendly and welcoming. As mentioned by other reviewers, the breakfast on offer is well above the standard you get in a lot of hotels. Couldn't find any faults with this place. Top marks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay earlier this week. The Gothic Suite is nicely decorated with plenty of storage, a large living room and outdoor seating on the balcony. The term 'boutique hotel' is often overused but with the period building, standard of decoration and nice little touches we felt Ascot House was worthy of the title.

The breakfast included a nice selection of cereals, toast and preserves as well as a cooked breakfast of either salmon and eggs or an English breakfast. The cooked breakfasts were excellent quality (absolutely delicious scrambled eggs) and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Terri is an excellent host, happy to advise on local attractions and even popped out of the kitchen to help us manoeuvre the car out of a tricky space.

The only room for improvement I can think of is maybe the inclusion of a shaver socket in the bathroom (I couldn't spot one anyway), but it's easy enough to pack the adaptor next time.

Overall we thought Ascot House was a great hotel and would certainly consider booking again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesR115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights with Terri & Bernard, ourselves in the upper suite and our daughters in room 6. An enjoyable stay with friendly and helpful hosts, we had very comfortable rooms and enjoyed the hospitality and the tasty breakfasts. Efforts to cut down on the breakfasts failed... we were enjoying them too much! (sausages were a particular favourite!)
The Ascot House deserves its high rating, Terri , Bernard & staff are a super team!

Room Tip: We certainly liked the top floor suite! very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just spent a fantastic 7 nights at Ascot House. When we arrived Terri came out to the car to welcome us. She made us feel very welcome throughout the stay and was eager to tell us places to visit and best routes for getting around. Our room was very clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. A lovely touch was the little refrigerator just outside the bedroom door containing fresh milk for our tea and coffee - much better than UHT. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and there was a better than usual choice of cereals. Each morning on arrival at breakfast a plate of fresh sliced fruit was brought to the table - melon, red and white grapes, kiwi, strawberries, banana and pineapple. This was a fantastic start to each day. We had a great week's holiday and would thoroughly recommend Ascot House. Thank you Terri and Bernard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 3 nights at Ascot House. First impressions were great with a lovely warm, personal welcome from Terri. She went out of her way to talk us through what Torquay had to offer and the best routes for getting around. Our room (number 5) was beautifully decorated with lovely attention to detail. The whole hotel is uniquely decorated and spotlessly clean. Fresh milk in the room is a nice touch! Breakfast was great and Terri was receptive to personal preferences on how we wanted our food cooked such as the eggs. When booking I mentioned that I am vegetarian and Terri bought vegetarian sausages especially for me, very much appreciated! The plate of fresh fruit each morning was a lovely touch. A lovely relaxing stay in the sunshine!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great stay. Terri is an amazing hostess. Extremely helpful and kind. The breakfast was absolutely delightful and we felt a lot of effort and attention resulted in a faultless few days. The location is great. About a 10 minute walk into town and beach. Suite was neat and clean. We felt it was a home away from home. We will return again and definitely recommend the place without any second thoughts .

Room Tip: Gothic suite is a great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing