We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Would recommend the luxury suite and these hosts for a base in Torquay. Nothing was too much bother, very good with our young child. Fantastic accommodation, very clean, spacious and comfortable. Lovely breakfast.
View wasn't great but that wasn't expected so no complaints there either.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ringlets2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you! - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Yes, while the Luxury Suite offers great space, including the roll-top tub and separate shower as well as balcony access from both the lounge and bedroom, if it's a view one wants, our Sea View Suite is the option to go for! We enjoyed having you all and very much hope to see you again on any future visit to the area.
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My Husband, Daughter and I have just returned from a two night break in Torquay where we stayed at the Ascot House Hotel. I booked the hotel on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and was very pleased to say that the reviews were spot on. As per the other reviews, Terri gave us a very warm welcome upon arrival, along with directions into town and other local places of interest. We stayed in the deluxe suite which was decorated to a high standard and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide choice of items available to choose from including a lovely fresh fruit platter, cereals, toast, croissants, brioche and/or cooked.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Torquay and will definitely visit again when next in the area.

Room Tip: I'd definitely recommend a suite when staying away with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks indeed, Jane. It makes our efforts all the more worth it when we hear that guests have really enjoyed their stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you all and we certainly hope to see you again on your next visit to the area - and offer you our returning guest discount!
Bernard & Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ascot House for one night while visiting relatives, staying in the Deluxe Suite. The experience was from beginning to end a pleasure. From the friendly text message acknowledging our email stating when we would arrive, to the delicious breakfast the next morning, we felt extremely well looked after by Terri.

The suite itself is spotlessly clean and very spacious - tastefully and thoughtfully decorated with some really unique touches. A particular highlight was the large free-standing bath in the bathroom and the giant bed which was very comfortable. I rather wished we could have stayed longer to have appreciated the place a bit more!

I really doubt there are many places in Torquay like this and for the quality of room, service and breakfast, it felt like good value for money. We will seriously consider returning when we are next down in Torquay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heveale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank You! The Deluxe Suite is one that was created with the most recent renovations (this past November) and is proving very popular indeed. We're so pleased you enjoyed the space as well as the roll-top tub! We do hope to see you again when you're next down - and don't forget we offer discounts to returning guests!
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What can I say that others haven't? Chose to stay at Ascot House due to the excellent reviews and was not disappointed in any way. Terri was extremely warm and welcoming on our arrival, we stayed in a deluxe suite with our 4 year old son, it was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and had plenty of space. We had a blissful night's sleep on the most comfortable bed we've slept away from home in, there was no traffic noise despite our room being at the front of the hotel, the curtains kept the early morning light at bay - so our son was not awake too early.
Breakfast was a delight, starting with the gorgeous fruit platter which didn't last long with myself and my son rapidly clearing the plate. Of course my husband was saving himself for the tempting cooked breakfast placed before him! There was ample selection to please all tastes including cereals, toast, croissants, brioche etc.
The hotel is within easy walk of Torquay' s centre, harbour/Marian and short drive to many varied day trip adventures.
We had a relaxing weekend stay at Ascot House Hotel, easily the best B&B experience so far. Will definitely be recommending to others and will look forward to further stays.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 365_sunnydays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words! Of course, we're always very pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us - and their visit to the area, in general - and we greatly appreciate the time and consideration taken to share your experience. In anticipation of seeing you all again....
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the Ascot House Hotel and what an experience, The Luxury Suite was amazing, large comfy bed, beautifully decorated and with an amazing bath. After a gorgeous breakfast we didnt want to move but made ourselves go and explore Dartmouth Castle (definately worth a visit). Terri and Bernard were wonderful thoughtful hosts bringing so many personal touches to a boutique hotel. If you stay here you will never want to stay anywhere else. Thank you so much for making our stay a memorable experience and will definately be back

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luxury Suite and it lived up to its name
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyq2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your weekend, overall. It was a pleasure having you and we very much hope to see you both again soon!
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A beautifully presented B&B 'villa'. We stayed in the Luxury suite - 3 huge rooms to ourselves! An amazing bathroom; spacious lounge and beautiful bedroom with large, comfortable, bed. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner Terri who was very welcoming on arrival and friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Wonderful breakfast with a wide choice. The platter of freshly cut fruit was especially appreciated! Definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The luxury suite is very spacious and tastefully decorated. The balcony adds a 'touch of class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deputy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We're always so pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us and very much appreciate your taking the time and effort to share your experience with others. It was a pleasure having you both and we certainly hope to see you again on your next visit to Torquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My friend and I Stayed here in February for a girlie night away for my birthday, after being warmly welcomed by the owner. We were amazed by the character and beauty of Ascot House. We stayed in the deluxe room. It was absolutely beautiful, so clean elegant, comfortable and modern with plenty of space, more like a small apartment. It is definately one of the nicest stays that we have had in Torquay. It is really close to the main town centre which was an added bonus. The breakfast was wonderful, cooked to perfection. The only way I could possibly sum up this hotel is absolutely adorable, it's a little gem in Torquay, really cant wait to go back, so thankyou Ascot House xxx:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks so much, Zoe. It was lovely to have you both here and we're really glad if we were able to contribute to your birthday night away being special. We certainly hope to see you again and thank you for taking the time to share your very kind review.
Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - one space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing