We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We found this lovely hotel through Tripadvisor so am thankful to the other reviewers! This hotel is beautiful with great hosts and gorgeous rooms. We've never stayed in a suite in UK before, so our 2-night stay was a very welcome change. We booked the Luxury suite which was just superb - the bedroom is posh, bathroom huge, immaculately clean and lovely! The lounge has a small fridge too which was a great help. Terri, the owner, was very helpful and explained each room in detail over phone to help us decide which one suits us the best. The breakfast served each morning was delicious with many options. I will definitely stay here again!

A small tip if you have a large car/SUV - the space for getting in and out of the hotel parking is very tight, and needs an experienced driver to manoeuvre through.

Room Tip: The suites (luxury and Gothic) are on first floor (stair-free access) have a lovely balcony. Sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
And thank you SalRV for making your own contribution to the reviews! We're so pleased you enjoyed your first UK Suite experience - with all the little touches you mentioned - and very much hope it won't be your last!
I'm also very happy to have been able to help in assisting you in the choice of which Suite would suit you best. Although each Suite has a complete lounge and bedroom, they vary in the lay-out and general space. We put a lot of effort in trying to present the rooms as completely and honestly as possible so guests have a very clear idea of the Suite they are booking. And, yes, space can get tight down here in Torquay, as is the case with the car park. We do our best to advise guests who find it challenging, and are always happy to see that the majority of them seem to have it sussed by the time they leave.
Thanks again for sharing your experience,
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
313
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbots Langley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ascot House in August 2013 but I lost the details do am only leaving a review now. The lady (sorry can't remember her name though think it was terri-sorry if that's wrong) was lovely and even stayed up until about 11pm when we finally arrived. She made a gorgeous breakfast each morning for us and the fruit platter was a lovely bonus, especially as we were just starting to wean our baby so he got some lovely fruit! She made our stay really pleasurable and pointed out lots of local attractions to us. She even helped me manoeuvre in and out of the car park which is a bit tight on space if you have a slightly larger car. And she put a microwave in our room which we needed for sterilising our babies bottles, not many places would do that. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again when next in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlastonburyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Impressive memory, 'GlastonburyBaby', as you did, indeed, remember my name correctly - as well as so many details about your stay with us! And how thoughtful of you to take the time and effort to add a review a full year after your visit. We're very appreciative. I'm so glad the small gestures on my part were able to have such a positive impact on your visit to Torquay. It's so rewarding to hear that guests have had a great time.
Many thanks for the lovely review!
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the deluxe suite (we got upgraded which was very generous).
The room & hotel was scrupulously clean. The decor and artwork was beautiful. The breakfast spread was amazing. The location is a 10 min walk to the shops & seafront.
There is no door in between lounge and bedroom, but that was only a problem for us as our son goes to bed at 7pm!
We would definitely return to this hotel when we visit Torquay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeJep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks so much, 'MeJep', for taking the time to share your experience with others. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, overall. Yes, since establishing the Deluxe Suite this past Winter, we've been contemplating the best approach to take with the door. We initially preferred the openness the lack of a door gives in connecting the lounge with the bedroom, but upon staying in the Suite to experience it ourselves, we became very aware of the drawbacks. We'll be dealing with the issue this next Winter, so whether it's a regular door or a type of bi-fold door, parents travelling with children will find the set-up much more satisfactory.
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fantastic hotel, the photos on the web-site, although good, really do not do the size of the rooms justice. I stayed in the de-luxe suite and the bathroom alone is larger than most hotel rooms! Everthing was beautifully clean with lovely little touches, they really have thought of everything! Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. Thank you Terri & Bernhard for your warmth and hospitality from start to finish. Left us with lovely memories of time spent with special friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are suites and are all equally as liovely as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks Kate! We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy to hear that we were able to help make your weekend together that bit more special. We're particularly pleased that you so enjoyed the Luxury Suite with the balcony access and very large bathroom/dressing room. (The Deluxe Suite is on the middle floor, and while it has a very nice sized bathroom - also with roll top tub and separate shower - it's not as big as that of the LS).
Hoping to see you on your next Ladies Weekend Away....
Bernard and Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked Ascot House last minute and were certainly not dissappointed. The welcome was very friendly and made us feel at home. The room (deluxe suite) was bright, clean, confortable and spacious. We used the sofa bed for 10 year old son and all of us had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious and again the service was excellent. 10 minute walk down to the harbour and was easy to find. Would happily stay for longer if we had not been in a rush back to London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Many thanks Alex - we're so glad you chose us for your short visit to the area and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much hope to welcome you back next time you're down this way.
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent says it all. We were made very welcome. 3 nights in a comfortable suite, with a wonderful breakfast. Cannot fault your lovely hotel. Thank you for all the information about the local area. Brodie enjoyed herself too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrodieS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure having you and we're always happy to help make the visit a more enjoyable one if we can, so I'm glad to hear you found my suggestions/information about the area useful!
Hoping to see you on your next visit to the area,
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spotted this little gem in the 'Telegraph' last year and we were not disappointed. Our suite was delightful. Really comfortable with loads of space, high spec and even a full length balcony. Terri was marvellous and nothing was too much trouble. It's a high quality base from which to explore Devon. We shall definitely return next time we are in the area. R and R :)

Room Tip: There are rooms to suit most budgets and tastes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much Rachel! We're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and so appreciated the décor and space. It was, in fact, precisely because more and more guests were commenting a what a great difference it made to their stay, that we decided to turn all of the rooms into Suites - so having a lounge in addition to the bedroom.
We very much look forward to seeing you again on any future visit to the area - and don't forget you'll get the returning guest discount.
Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing