We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”
Review of Atlantis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantis
Ranked #104 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This is one of many guest houses in this area if Torquay and I'm gradually working my way through trying them. The decor was tired - paintwork was cracked, wallpaper faded, bathroom fitments loose and net curtains dirty. The bedding was spotless and the bed comfy. The breakfast as adequate but not outstanding. Owners were polite and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sally-anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    39
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
40
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

All in all good value.
Lack of on site parking is a problem, but if you don't mind parking elsewhere and a bit of a walk, it's fine.
The hotel itself needs a bit of a refresh, the rooms are a bit dated as are the en suits, but for the price you pay this is acceptable.
It's situated very close to the shops and promenade, only a short walk away.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent, the usual choice, full English, cereal etc and included in the overall price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We were greeted on arrival by the host who promptly showed us where to park for free. We were then given a map and a quick 'things to do' chat which was perfect as we've never been to Torquay before.
We stayed in room 3 - first impressions: clean, spacious, dated. It's not what we expected as we booked a 'superior room'. The photos show modern room with silk bedding but we has a fairly date yellow and blue room with pine furniture. (It looks a lot like a standard double so we dont know what the extra money went towards) We didn't complain because it was only a few nights and the room was very clean so we stayed and unpacked.
Location is perfect. Right near the sea front and town.
Plenty of pubs nearby for eating out or head a bit further into town for a more commercialised day.
Breakfast was lovely. A very attentive waitress. The dining room was cramped and we weren't sure where we were meant to be sitting. (We figured out that you can just sit anywhere) plenty of juice tea and coffee to see you through.
The only down side was the en suite. Unfortunately our en suite smelt quite bad.
We would recommend to friends and family but probably try a different B&B next time, just because there is so many!
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeleyfudge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked at the last minute for 3 nights but only stayed 1. The owner was very friendly and obviously trying to do her best for us BUT the room we were given was dark, tired, smelt of cigarettes and in need of a refurb. The ensuite shower room was dark, didn't smell great, shower curtain too short and grubby round the bottom, black mould on the pipework and floor water damaged. Beds were uncomfortable.

Dining room was poorly laid out and it wasn't clear where we were supposed to sit. The room was dark and overcrowded with tables - nothing like the photo on the website. Full English was good and there was plenty of fruit juice available in a jug on the table so you could have as much as you wanted.

We were concerned that there were no 'what to do in the event of a fire' notices on the back of the room door or in fact on any of the doors on the staircase or main areas. Thought this was a basic requirement??

Just wasn't right for us and we won't be going there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkle752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I would say how you rate this hotel is where you are coming from. My kids preferred this to the travelodge we would normally choose, why, good cooked breakfast ,good central location, free view tv,free wifi, nice owners a good homely feel, why not, we'll its not 5 star decor it's a bandb, the shower works, it's serviceable not the ritz, the wallpaper and carpet again not the ritz, I would stay there again, but don't expect perfection, accept for what it is a nice place for a couple of days in glorious torbay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Arrived and parked behind hotel - Steph had reserved a spot with a traffic cone - and she then sat with us to give ideas on hpw to spend the next few days. This was really helpful as we hadn't made plans, and we thoroughly enjoyed the 'round robin' trip, and Cockington Court. The rooms were a good size and clean with comfy beds, tea/coffee facilities, and biscuits and sweets. The rooms and bathrooms are a little tired, as others have said, but these are old buildings and we were more than happy with them. Breakfast was great, and Steph accommodated our various variations of the full English. Overall, very friendly, reasonably priced and could well stay there again if I head to Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weaves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with partner who had booked it as a surprise for me. We were greeted by the friendly landlady. Taken to the highest room, long way up. The room was nice & clean with double bed & single. The en-suite bathroom let it down. The shower control outside the shower very strange. The suite was all very plastic. The room overlooked where you could just squeeze your car at back. The seafront was a short walk away so was the shops & cinema. Breakfast was very nice. There's a big car park near to the seafront that's better for parking your car. It may cost but it's well worth the price for peace of mind & overnight parking as well as day parking.
It's got CCTV. The double bed was nice & big but a little too big.

Room Tip: Not the room at the very top
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#35 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#54 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#27 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis

Property: Atlantis
Address: 68 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing