We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to our high expectations!”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #15 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lived up to our high expectations!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Immaculate decor and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast and helpful hosts who recommended restaurants for eating out and places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
364
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Me and my husband had a few nights in Briarfields on a mini break. The location of the hotel is fantastic, far enough out of town to be peaceful, yet close enough to not need your car the whole trip. Walking to the seafront takes about 5-10 minutes, and a gorgeous walk round to the harbour takes you to town.
The hotel is exceptionally clean, and well decorated. It's comfortable and the owners are lovely people. Breakfast was delicious!
Overall a fabulous break and we will definitely be going back to Briarfields when we can free ourselves of the children again!
Thank you for a fabulous stay, Briarfields is a credit to you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5... it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voddyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

AMAZING B+B - BEST WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT! Stayed for 8 nights at the beginning of August with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we set foot over the doorstep, NOTHING was too much trouble. Peter and Trish the owners were two of the loveliest people I have ever met. Their calmness and gentle ways couldn't help but make you relax. Coupled with their good humour and always making time to chat, ask how your day had been and what your plans were for the day to come, along with actually being interested in your response, made it a real home from home! Our room was IMMACULATE on a daily basis, with lots of personal touches from the refreshment tray to the complimentary aromatherapy toiletries. Complimetray Free Wi-Fi too! On another note for the OCD amongst you (of which I am a proud member) I am really fussy about bathrooms (and have stayed in places where I wouldn't return to based purely on the state of the bathroom) but the bathroom here was of the highest standard. Newly refurbished but maintained to that standard on a daily basis where cleanliness is of prime importance and the word immaculate just doesn't seem enough. Priceless!
Peter has an amazing local knowledge and can tell you the pros and cons of local amenities, how to find them, travelling distances and points of interest to look out for. Trish can cook a mean breakfast, done to your personal tastes and requirements, which is most important to us as a couple as I am a vegetarian and my husband is Diabetic! Not the best combination but we were catered for without even asking especially for it! A vast selection of yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices and THE BEST COFFEE I have had all made the start to each day the best it could be.
Some of these reviews have mentioned how warm the rooms are on the top floor-which is where we stayed. Our room had 3 windows that opened and a bathroom window that opened too, PLUS a ceiling fan which was a brilliant addition to the room. Yes, the room was warm, but never stuffy due to the whole 'less is more' ambiance of the room, plus the room was a good size and the ceiling fan made a world of difference. And as staying in the UK doesnt always guarantee the weather, I would take warm over cold anyday. (I suspect that Peter and Trish were so on the ball though, that they may have had a word with the MET Office to make it good weather for our stay too)
All in all, I could sit here all day waxing lyrical about The Briarfields and Peter and Trish, but ultimately the bottom line is, if you visit Torquay YOU MUST STAY THERE! Your time in Devon will be all the more worthwhile if you experience staying at The Briarfields. Thank you so much Peter and Trish xx

Room Tip: Extras can be organised for rooms such as flowers - nothing is too much trouble!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Everything was perfect! The rooms were spotlessly clean and modern, very spacious with nice personal touches, The breakfast was of a high standard with quality produce, plenty of choice with quick service and also little extras, eg. fresh flowers in dining room and hallway. Briarfields is located very close to the amenities, town centre, train station etc.
Nothing was too much trouble during our stay.
Thank you Peter and Trish for the excellent service and making us feel so welcome!
We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed here 1st - 3rd August 2011. One of the best B+B`s my Wife & I have ever stayed in. The room we stayed in was modern, super clean and decorated to a very high standard as was the rest of the B+B.
Pete is very knowledgable of the surrounding area and is a great guy to chat to.Trish is a very competent host and is genuinely intersted in what you have to say, so easy going,nothing is too much trouble for either of them.
Breakfast was certainly worth getting out of bed for and was a tasty treat for our palete,all in all we couldnt fault this place..... If only all bed & breakfast places were as good as this one..... Thanks once again for a fantastic stay. 10/10
P & L Miles

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great place to stay. Not far from the sea front and easily accessed by car. Very friendly and helpful owners made our stay enjoyable and stress free.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor very comfortable and well fitted out but quite hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have just returned from a wedding weekend in Torquay and spent 3 nights at Briarfields. The owners are friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to accommodate some requests for flexibility with changing guests over the weekend to fit in with the wedding plans - even leaving flowers and wine for the bride and groom on the wedding night, which was a lovely touch.

The b&b itself is very clean and the standard of decor throughout justifies the price tag. Our room was large and well furnished and the shower was superb. The only negative was that as it was on the top floor and the weather was very good, the room got very warm. The fan above the bed is helpful, but air conditioning would have been very welcome.

Breakfast was excellent. Overall, a great place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: With friends staying there too, we saw 3 of the rooms and would have been happy with any of them. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Property: Briarfields
Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing