We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Future four in a bed winners. Please apply for the show :)”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Future four in a bed winners. Please apply for the show :)”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself stayed in the briarfields for 3 nights.

Upon arrival we were first of all made up at the free parking right on the front of the building. We were then greeted with the friendly voice of Trish. Who welcomed us into her guesthouse and explained everything in detail. (We hadn't even got to our room yet). She then proceeded in taking us to our rooms. Even offering to help carry our luggage.
Upon entering our room (room 3) we were greeted by a fresh clean smell of a lovely light and airy room. Trish shown us how everything worked. I think she would have even shown us how the kettle worked.
The bathroom. What can i say about the bathroom? It's bigger than some B&B rooms I've previously stayed in. And it has an amazing power shower. Great toiletries. And even a lovely room spray. In all honesty I've never seen a cleaner bathroom.
Once we unpacked we then decided to relax and watch telly with a cuppa. If you like your teas you get a good selection from earl grey to fruit teas and everyday tea. And they even give you a fresh jug of milk every day in your fridge.
The bed was lovely with Egyptian cotton sheets on. And a fan above it. Ideal for cooling off when you are all hot and steamy (from the shower).
In the morning breakfast is served from 8.30 - 9.30. But if required earlier they will oblige. Pete is the chef. And what a great job he does. Perfect breakfast. Lovely quality food. Fresh fruit. Cereals and juices available to you before you order your hot option. You can even have smoked salmon.
When we do go torquay I know where i will be staying. Perfect hosts. Perfect guesthouse perfect break.

Kellie & Phil - Liverpool.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDonlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
370
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Highly recommend this property! We stayed in a large suite room with a very comfortable bed. Having the separate seating area was a nice addition for relaxing after a busy day of exploring. The in room refrigerator and extra touches like wine glasses, fresh milk, chocolates, tea/coffee service added to the feeling of being right at home. The bathroom was spacious and spotless, with a powerful, roomy shower. Breakfast (served between 8:30 and 9:30) am was delicious, with a nice set menu selection. The dining room setup is cozy enough to allow for interaction with other guests if desired, but allows for a more private meal as well, like a small cafe. Pete and Trish provided excellent selections for getting around town, places to see, and places to eat. The location is ideal for a quick walk to the sea front, and very near train and bus stations. After much driving on our holiday, we left the car for a few days and easily explored the area by foot, bus, and rail. Will absolutely book this property again - so long as there is a vacancy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a great find! Greeted by the very friendly and helpful landlady, Trish, we were shown up to our Executive upgrade room. It was a great size and was absolutely spotless. It even had air-conditioning. We were given a small jug of fresh milk for the fridge and two bottles of complimentary water. There was plenty of tea/coffee and two packets of nice biscuits. The shower was huge. The towels were bright white and fluffy. There was a good selection of shampoo, body lotion, earbuds, little nail file and make up removers. Absolutely 5 star!! The room was very quiet. Breakfast was served between 8:30am and 9:30am. A brilliant choice.. fresh strawberries, blueberries and raspberries, yogurts, cereals, full English, eggs benedict, kippers, muffins with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, kippers.. the list went on. Breakfast was served with a smile by the owners. We asked Trish to advise us where to go for fish and chips and her recommendation by the harbour was spot on. We also asked where to go for a good cream tea and she suggested Cockingham Village which was about a 20 minute walk.. we were SO glad we went.. it is a MUST do when in Torquay. We went to a place with a gazebo in the garden with a man playing a piano. It was a beautiful setting and the scones, jam and clotted cream were to die for. You can't miss it the tables are bright yellow when you get to them. The village is just fabulous.. full of thatched roofed houses and little curiosity shops. On leaving Trish and Pete came to say 'goodbye' they truly deserve to do well.. we will certainly go back when visiting Torquay again.. book you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Executive room which was at the top of the house and was extremely quiet and a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyJaneTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was the best guesthouse we have ever stayed in! Modern, spotlessly clean throughout and very comfortable room. We stayed in a suite which had great added extras like fridge & air conditioning, along with king size bed and spacious bathroom with walk in shower! Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. We were very warmly welcomed and given lots of ideas by Pete of good restaurants to eat at. Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely guesthouse to anyone and we will definately stay there again when we next visit Torquay. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may be quieter as you can hear traffic from the front?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having used numerus hotels and B and Bs we have found a gem. Warm welcome on arrival, very clean bedroom with air con, good comfortable beds with tea making facilities, bathroom very clean. What a superb breakfast what a delight, I cannot speak more highly, would recomend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We don't usually stay at B&B's as there can be such a difference in standards but on this occasion we found an absolute gem. The price of a nights B&B stay at Briarfields is by far very competative with many others we looked at but the standards that Peter & Trish have set make it an excellant value for money stay.
Our party had two rooms, a Mini suite and Superior suite room. Both rooms were large and spacious; decorated to a very high standard and equiped with most essentials. Both rooms were complimented with large en-suite shower-rooms which was ideal as my wifes parents find it a struggle to climb into a bath.
The beds are generous in size and comfortable in firmness. The only problem we suffered with was the passing trains on the neighbouring track. Easily solved by closing the windows and switching on the aircon!
After a good nights sleep, breakfast certainly set you up for the day ahead. Such a variety of choice from continental to traditional breakfasts complimented with endless fresh coffee, fruit juice and tea. Peter and Trish were even able to accomodate my wifes dietary requirements by getting gluten free sausage and bread so she could have a 'full english' with the rest of us!
It's fair to say that after having the breakfast, we didn't need to worry about the next meal until well into the afternoon!
Overall we all had a very enjoyable stay where you are made to feel very welcome. Peter & Trish give everyone that touch of personal attention from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.
I would certainly recommend The Briarfields for your stay and you will not be disappointed.
Keep up the excellant work Peter & Trish, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahors
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Delightful welcome: landlady Trish is a gem (everyone is My Love). Comfortable room (despite the railway line outside) with great shower. Superb breakfast: plenty of choice. You'll need a car to get anywhere, as there's not even a pub in sight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#15 of 149 in Torquay
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#21 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#14 of 149 in Torquay
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#30 of 149 in Torquay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Property: Briarfields
Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing