We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break in Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #12 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
2 reviews
“Short break in Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent four nights at The Briarfields and could not fault it. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and our hosts were very friendly throughout our stay. The room (a mini-suite) was very comfortable and had everything we needed. At breakfast our hosts offered a number of choices - any menu with kippers on is a winner in my book - all cooked and served beautifully and efficiently. The attention to detail was very impressive. We particularly appreciated the little touches, such as fresh milk provided each day, toiletries, cotton wool, etc in the en-suite shower room, fresh flowers in reception and in the dining room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
360
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Fantastic place, fantastic people, fantastic rooms. My husband and I will definitely be returning to visit Pete and Trish again. We laughed from beginning to end. The only regret we had was that we didn't book for longer. If your looking for a lovely break away this is definitely the place to go. We have visited Torquay several times over the last 20 years and this was the best trip we have ever had.
Paula and Paul - Swindon

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Wow! Just come back from a lovely weekend at Briarfields- cannot fault it. Spotlessly clean, friendly chatty hosts, beautiful breakfast. Had booked based on location and previous reviews and wasn't let down.

Right from the word go nothing was too much trouble- even giving directions! Taxi booked for the evening and a nice local bar was recommended by Trish and Pete who made us feel at home instantly. Only negative was that we couldn't stay longer!

Cannot wait to go back!!

Polly & Tom xx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Friendly welcome and at all other times. We stayed for two nights in a pleasant room on the first floor. There are eight rooms and all are a bit different (see photos on website) so you might find it best to book direct rather than through a booking site so you can discuss the various options. Two easy chairs in the room, plus fridge (with fresh milk), celling fan and no less than seven double sockets. Very clean throughout. Excellent breakfast. Parking and wifi. Certainly lived up to its reputation and we would stay again if were in the area.

Room Tip: Look on the website first and then ring to discuss the various options. Biggest rooms are on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

First class ,the welcome and service is wonderful.This is the second time we have used this Luxury Accommodation we booked the entire house for our party. Everyone said that it was the very best they had ever stated in.

Room Tip: Do not miss this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwattyHaverfordwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself stayed in the briarfields for 3 nights.

Upon arrival we were first of all made up at the free parking right on the front of the building. We were then greeted with the friendly voice of Trish. Who welcomed us into her guesthouse and explained everything in detail. (We hadn't even got to our room yet). She then proceeded in taking us to our rooms. Even offering to help carry our luggage.
Upon entering our room (room 3) we were greeted by a fresh clean smell of a lovely light and airy room. Trish shown us how everything worked. I think she would have even shown us how the kettle worked.
The bathroom. What can i say about the bathroom? It's bigger than some B&B rooms I've previously stayed in. And it has an amazing power shower. Great toiletries. And even a lovely room spray. In all honesty I've never seen a cleaner bathroom.
Once we unpacked we then decided to relax and watch telly with a cuppa. If you like your teas you get a good selection from earl grey to fruit teas and everyday tea. And they even give you a fresh jug of milk every day in your fridge.
The bed was lovely with Egyptian cotton sheets on. And a fan above it. Ideal for cooling off when you are all hot and steamy (from the shower).
In the morning breakfast is served from 8.30 - 9.30. But if required earlier they will oblige. Pete is the chef. And what a great job he does. Perfect breakfast. Lovely quality food. Fresh fruit. Cereals and juices available to you before you order your hot option. You can even have smoked salmon.
When we do go torquay I know where i will be staying. Perfect hosts. Perfect guesthouse perfect break.

Kellie & Phil - Liverpool.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDonlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Highly recommend this property! We stayed in a large suite room with a very comfortable bed. Having the separate seating area was a nice addition for relaxing after a busy day of exploring. The in room refrigerator and extra touches like wine glasses, fresh milk, chocolates, tea/coffee service added to the feeling of being right at home. The bathroom was spacious and spotless, with a powerful, roomy shower. Breakfast (served between 8:30 and 9:30) am was delicious, with a nice set menu selection. The dining room setup is cozy enough to allow for interaction with other guests if desired, but allows for a more private meal as well, like a small cafe. Pete and Trish provided excellent selections for getting around town, places to see, and places to eat. The location is ideal for a quick walk to the sea front, and very near train and bus stations. After much driving on our holiday, we left the car for a few days and easily explored the area by foot, bus, and rail. Will absolutely book this property again - so long as there is a vacancy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Property: Briarfields
Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing