We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down from Scotland”
Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #38 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Down from Scotland”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We had an excellent short break at the Tor Dean. Right from the initial phone call to book the accomodation, Nicola was very friendly and helpful. Both she and David were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they always had time to talk to you giving lots of information about the area. We were treated to a cup of tea on our arrival as we filled in the registration form. The room was a good size and spotlessly clean, there was a well equiped hospitaly tray.
The breakfast and 3 course evening meals were excellent and plentyful. Tor Dean will be our first phone call on our next visit toTorquay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Manager at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you Nicky for your lovely kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and take care of you for four days. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future. Have a great summer , give our love to Janet and take care.
Nicola & David xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
127
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

An excellent hotel. I was on the same trip as Richard who has written lots so I won't duplicate his efforts. Can't comment on value as not paying, otherwise everything excellent. Friendliness a big factor in its favour if you are an outgoing sort of person. Gorgeous sitting-room.
Only one suggestion - fish on offer for breakfast would be a very welcome addition (as well as the excellent good-quality salmon with scrambled egg.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you Val for your review. We had a lovely few days with the NUT'S and look forward to welcoming you all again. You did mention Hot Fish for Breakfast , just to clarify ,with the position of the kitchen in relation to the stairway to the first floor ,the smell tended to hang around for most of the day. Some guests commented on this and we decided to leave it at smoked salmon. We had a visit from our hotel inspector the week before you arrived and we were awarded a breakfast award and a silver award. For the breakfast award you have to score 100%, the inspector commented on the use of high quality locally sourced ingredients used in the breakfast with ample choice.

Nicola & David xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our stay at the Tordean was very enjoyable, it is by far the cleanest and friendliest we have ever stayed in, and Nicola and David are the nicest of people , very funny geniune people , we go back to visit when we can and have become friends. The hotel is in an ideal location, within walking distance of the beach and shops. I love the little jokes that David provides on a daily basis, always with a big smile , Would recommend this hotel to both couples and families, nothing is too much trouble, Thanks for looking after my mum last year !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you Wendy and co for your review. It's always a pleasure having you here to stay , we all have such good fun. See you later in the year and enjoy the summer. xxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I booked 4 rooms at the Tor Dean Hotel over the Easter Weekend. Myself and my colleagues were delegates at the National Union of Teachers Conference at the Riviera International Centre.
In October last year I spoke to Nicola about vegan catering. One of the conference delegates was a vegan and another vegetarian. Nicola told me she had catered for celiacs in the past so I was confident of the catering arrangements.
We all had a great 5 days at the Tor Dean Hotel. My partner and I had a huge King-sized bed and a great room. David and Nicola are excellent hosts. When we arrived by train they were disappointed that we had not rung them from the station. Even when leaving David offered to drop our cases at the conference centre. The hotel is very close to the Riviera International Centre.
All the guests in our booking were very happy with breakfast at the hotel. The hotel is clean and spotless. David and Nicola are good at suggesting local places to visit and eat in. We would stay here again if the NUT uses the Riviera Centre in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you Richard for your kind words. It was a lovely to meet you all and a pleasure for us to look after you for five days. We hope to see you again in the future, have a great summer and thank you once again for choosing us.
Nicola & David xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just got back from a easter break at the tor dean david and nicola made us very welcome nothing was too much trouble even down to the fact that i had forgot to pack a jumper and dave leant me one of his hotel and rooms very clean great breakfast choice overall lovely place and couple would stay again colin and sharon

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both for the first time and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Have a great summer Nicola & David xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have stayed at Tor Dean on several occasions and have always had a friendly reception, plus a cup of tea: and cake, on arrival. Our room, as usual, was of ample size, well appointed with plenty of storage space and spotlessly clean. The hotel atmosphere was most relaxing; whether we were having coffee in the guest lounge or a drink in the cosy bar. We had a splendid breakfast each day, the menu having many options as well as a selection of cereals and fresh fruit available on the sideboard. Our hosts, Nicola and David, worked hard to make our short break as enjoyable as possible with local advice and entertainment suggestions. Nicola’s and David’s “Tor Dean” will continue to be our “Port of Call” whenever we visit this part of the West Country.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you Bob & Barbara for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure having you here to stay. Have a great summer and enjoy your well earned retirement.
See you both soon Nicola & David xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

hotel spotless,food brilliant and hosts were born to make people happy.fabulous location near the attractions but in a quiet lovely street.watch out for daves practical jokes but in a word the whole holiday experience was SUPERB.we will be back with friends as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasootch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely kind words Ian & Jill. We had a lovely few days with you and we look forward to you bringing your gang with you next time. Have a Great Easter , hope the weather stays nice for you both.
Best Wishes Nicola & Dave xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#22 of 150 in Torquay
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#30 of 150 in Torquay
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#4 of 150 in Torquay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Property: Tor Dean
Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tor Dean Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing