We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #43 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a two-night stay for a Rotary conference at the Riviera Centre, just a short walk away. The reception, care and attention by Nicola and David was exemplary, the rooms comfortable and spotless and the breakfasts excellent. If all other hotels were run this way, Trip Advisor would be out of business! Thanks once again Nicola and David.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you David for your kind words . It was lovely meeting you all and we are so pleased you all enjoyed yourself. We look forward to meeting you all again in the future and thank you once again.
Nicola & David xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

David and Nicola were welcoming and extremely helpful hosts. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was a wide choice at breakfast which was well cooked each day. Despite the wet weather we enjoyed our trip to Torquay and would highly recommend The Tor Dean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul and Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you Paul and Linda for your lovely review. It was lovely meeting you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you once again
Nicola & David xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Tor Dean, and were more than pleased with the Hotel. Nicola and David made us very welcome, great hosts. Wonderful relaxed atmosphere, and home from home. Breakfasts were first class, and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble,very informative with information of surrounding area's. A lovely place to stay, is within walking distance of Torquay seafront and the shops. Arrive as guests and leave as friends. Will certainly recommend this Hotel.
Alan and Elaine Nightingale.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you Alan and Elaine for your lovely review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look for to meeting you again in the future and thank you once again
Nicola & David xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at Tor Dean and could not have been more pleased with the hotel. Nicola and David are brilliant hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them, very informative with their local knowledge too. The food was second to none and the hotel is spottlessly clean and very well equipped. We will certainly return again with no hesitiation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you Jan & Keith for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourself so much. It was another great week when you were here and the sun shone through for us all. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Best wishes to you both , Nicola & David xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Nicola and David make you very welcome and they create a lovely relaxed atmosphere for your stay. The rooms are nicely furnished and beautifully clean. There is a wide choice at Breakfast and the evening meal is nicely cooked. We have just been back for the 4th time over the last ten years and will certainly go again .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you Mary and Ken for your lovely review. It was great as always to see you both return again. You always have such happy smiley faces. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th Visit, Love to you both, Nicola & David xxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband, brother-in-law and I have spent a week in this friendly hotel. The food is home cooked and delicious. A varied menu to suit all tastes (even a fussy husband)! Nicola's breakfasts will basically stay you until the 4 course evening meal. They are wonderful hosts, extremely kind and friendly and do all they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel is in a very convenient position, wthin walking distance of Torquay seafront and shops. If you are looking for an hotel which offers friendly service, really appetising home cooked food and clean first class accommodation, then look no further than the Tor Dean!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you Mary, Alan and John for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all for the first time,you are all such lovely people. We had a wonderful week when you were here and we so look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Love to you all, Nicola & David xxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just stayed for a week at this small hotel and, as usual, had a very good time. The hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to make customers feel at home. The food is very good and the fittings cosy. Although the on site parking is limited, the street outside has free parking.
The location is relatively near the seafront and the railway station and there is a newsagents nearby with parking outside. The gorilla stationed on the garden wall is a great talking point and doesn't look in the least naff! We have been before and will undoubtedly go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you Bob & Nancy for your lovely review.It was lovely to welcome you back again.We had a great week with you all that week and you will be pleased to know John is fine. We know you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Love to you both
Nicola & David xxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#88 of 149 in Torquay
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#21 of 149 in Torquay
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tor Dean Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing