We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Torquay”
Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #35 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Torquay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If Carlsberg made hotels , this would be it.
Just returned from a stay with our three teenage sons, and we will definitely be going back. Dave and Nicola made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.. The rooms are spotless and decorated to a very high standard.
Nicola's breakfast was lovely and Dave serves it with a smile, and he is a fountain of knowledge.
The location is nice and quiet, and only a fifteen minute walk to town centre, or five minutes to the beach.
They should be number one on this site, and I'm sure its only a matter of time until they are.
Thank you for a great stay, we look forward to coming again.
Joanne, William and boys

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you Joanne for your lovely kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased we met your lovely family. Your boys are a credit to you both and we look forward to seeing you all again.
Enjoy the rest of the sunshine

Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
132
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently spent a few days at this excellent hotel. Amazingly clean, lovely ambiance and nicely appointed rooms throughout. Our bedroom was average size with every amenity you could possibly need. Nicola and David looked after all our requirements and gave us lots of tips for getting about in Torquay. The breakfasts were lovely and dinner very good. We found the people staying there were all very friendly owing to the atmosphere and everyone seemed very pleased with everything.
Would highly recommend this hotel which we found ideal for our stay. The flowers around the property were a joy to look at.

Room Tip: The rooms are not over big but are well presented. Very good beds, lots of hangers in the wardrobe w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmiancornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you are we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It means so much much to us when our guests find the time to write a review .
Thank you once again and enjoy the rest of the sunshine.

Nicola & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a fantastic 4 days at the Tor Dean Hotel. This was the first time we have stayed and will most certainly be happy to go back. The hospitality was superb - Dave and Nicola are very helpful and accommodating. My mum who is 84 and struggled at times with walking, and Dave was always there to help. The food was lovely and the hotel was spotless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungalow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you all and we are so pleased you are coming back for a second visit.
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Enjoy the sunshine

Nicola & David xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just had a lovely week at the Tor Dean Hotel .This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and we will certainly be back. Nicola & Dave are very friendly and make you feel welcome .The hotel ticks all the boxes for us Location, Cleanliness, Food and of course the welcome you get makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive We loved Dave's furry friends and wanted to take the cat back to Scotland with us. Thank you both for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you Jean & Eric for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we know you had a great time. Luckily we can take the batteries out of the furry friends and the cat. We look forward to seeing you both next year, enjoy the rest of the summer and look after yourselves.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We came with my in laws and our 2 year old son recently. It's the first time me and my husband have stayed in the area, and had come on recommendation. I really could sum it up with 'perfect'. Tor Dean is spotlessly clean, facilities great and hosts amazing. So friendly and brilliant with our son. Nothing was too much trouble and Nicola and Dave were really knowledgeable about the area. The food was tasty and lots of choices. There's no way I would even consider staying somewhere else should we come to Torquay again. You both should be very proud.
Andrew, Donna & T

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you Andrew and Donna for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and of course Thomas, it was also a pleasure for us to look after you all . We had lots of fun with Thomas , he really is a lovely little boy. Good look with the new arrival and we look forward to seeing you all again.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

July 2014
Just had a lovely break at Tor Dean in Torquay. Nicola and Dave were very friendly and welcoming from day one. Their home is very clean and homely the rooms were immaculate, comfortable and cleaned each day. At breakfast we had a good choice offered to us, Bacon & Eggs was a winner for us. Dave suggested some places of interest in the area and provided maps and directions this was very helpful. Thankyou both for an enjoyable stay we will definitely be back….. Ade & Tracy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adechance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you Ade and Tracy for your lovely kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and to look after you both. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time. Enjoy the summer.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for a weeks holiday in June 2014
The hotel was Fantastic, and the rooms were spotless.
They went out of their way to make me feel welcome & could not do enough to help.
I have stayed in many hotels previously, but this was definately one of the best.
Take it from me " You will struggle to beat this hotel " & i wil visit again shortly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you Martin for your lovely kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you, we know you had a great holiday and you will be back. Until then enjoy the summer.

Nicola & David xxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#22 of 149 in Torquay
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#14 of 149 in Torquay
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#31 of 149 in Torquay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 149 in Torquay
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Crimdon Dene Guest House
#59 of 149 in Torquay
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#21 of 149 in Torquay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Property: Tor Dean
Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tor Dean Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing