We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great price:))”

Clifton Grove Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifton Grove Hotel
Ranked #108 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great price:))”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for just one night, but if we ever go back to Torquay we would definitely try to book this hotel again. We had an en-suite room which was fresh and clean and cosy. Bathroom was spotless and linen smelt freshly laundered. We wanted a room near Torquay and was surprised to find this was just a 10 minute walk right to the harbour! It was in a quiet location and although didn't have parking, there was ample room near by. For a place to clean up and have a cosy night's sleep, this hotel ticked all our boxes. We normally just leave quietly, but my Greek husband and I even ended up chatting with the owner for almost an hour when we checked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy13186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My friend, I and my little girl stayed for one night at the end of october.
My friend stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom and we stayed in the family room.
Both rooms were clean and had all the required essentials.
The family room was on the top floor, which was a bit of a challenge with all the luggage as well as trying to carry the baby up there, but we managed in the end. The room was very spacious and had its own little toilet and shower.
The hotel was really quiet and it felt like we were the only people there.
Breakfast was served between 8-9. It was £5 per person and was a standard breakfast with cereal and full english.
We had very pleasent stay and the hotel owner made us feel very welcome. My little girl loved Scooby the sausage dog and had a great time feeding him my breakfast.
The only criticism I had was that the radiator in the room was behind the wardrobe and was not actually turned on, so it was rather chilly in the room. Otherwise we had a great stay and it was very good value for money. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueclaudi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed a couple of Nights in October 2012, double en-suite room.
Hotel was good value for money.
Hotel was clean and room was bright and comfortable.
Owner was friendly and helpful.
Only short walking distance to marina but uphill from marina to hotel so location needs to be took in to account if you have mobility problems, although using a taxi or bus an option and only takes a couple of minutes.
Hotel is only approx a 20 minute walk from Railway station,which is a very pleasant walk along the sea front.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The room was clean, and well set out, and also nicely furnished. Owner was friendly and polite and made us feel welcome. Toilet/shower was a bit small but usable. There was limited parking outside the front, however there was street parking further along the road. All in all, good value for money, nice atmosphere, and in a nice location on the outskirts of torquay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Basic but clean, don't expect frills or contemporary furnishings, (it's very 1970's set decor) and not all rooms are en-suite. However the manager and his wife seemed very friendly, it's very quiet, and in a nice part of town within short walking distance to the main "hub" of Torquay (I say hub, there's really not much going on...)

This is probably a 4-star stay but the beds were a little hard and the facilities were on the very basic side. That said, without question recommended if you're looking for a cheap, convenient stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepthought33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Me and my girlfriend visited Clifton Grove Hotel 1st-3rd of July. Hotel is set in a quiet area, but only a few minutes pleasent walk to the Quay in torquay. We had the Standard Double (non ensuite) on the top floor at 90£ for the two nights(Which we thought was excellent value) Toilet and shower very close to the room, and a very comfortable bed, with a LCD television on the wall. Rooms very clean. and bed linen lovely and soft! We had the option of using the bar/pool table at our own leisure, Jason even offered to bring the drinks to us, which is a lovely touch! (but unfortunately we did not have time to use the bar facilities) Breakfast was fantastic value for 5£ per head, per day. Full english offered, aswel as help yourself cerials, toast, orange juice, tea , coffees, and bbc news on the massive LCD television in the dining room. Really helped set you up for the day. Jason even made the time to speak to us at any oppertunity. We will DEFINATELY visit again, as Oddicombe beach closeby is beautiful. and reccomend it to anyone wanting a perfect hotel for a devon getaway!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano_Stratfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Clifton grove hotel on the weekend of the 25th February. Jason was very accommodating and friendly.

The hotel was within walking distance to the centre but far enough out to miss any noise and get a greats night sleep.

We stayed in a double with en suite and the room was very clean.

Overall extremely happy with hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotel2inspect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#123 of 149 in Torquay
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#107 of 149 in Torquay
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Grove Hotel

Property: Clifton Grove Hotel
Address: Old Torwood Road, Torquay TQ1 1PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clifton Grove Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Grove Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing