We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Star in Devon's Crown”
Review of The Berburry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Berburry
Ranked #31 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Star in Devon's Crown”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I found this wonderful place on the internet and were looking for a quiet place for a fortnight's holiday. My husband had been very ill and we both wanted a good break to recharge our batteries.What a find this charming guest house turned out to be! Spotlessly clean, tasteful decor, perfect facilities and most of all..warm, friendly hosts! Our breakfasts were delicious and cooked to perfection and so much choice! Jan and Wyn are a delightful couple and a strong team and their love overflows into the welcoming house...nothing is too much trouble for them both. needless to say we came home looking and feeling much healthier for our holiday and the Devon sea air and hospitality. There are not enough stars in the galaxy to award Jan and Wyn and their beautiful place! Thank you so much to them both! xx

Room Tip: We had room 3 on the ground floor which had a door leading straight on to the delightful garden with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
82
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My sister and I shared a room in this lovely Victorian house with 2 twin-size beds in the spring of 2012. The room was decorated beautifully, and was big enough (but not overly spacious). The adjoining bathroom had a wonderful corner tub with a seat built-in and a shower that could be removed and held by hand. The public lobbies and dining room were also beautifully decorated and all was immaculately clean and maintained. The garden and patio were also beautiful.

The generous, delicious, cooked-to-order breakfast was accompanied by enough cold food to be a breakfast by itself. Win and Jan were always friendly and accommodating. The (separately-priced) 5-course dinner was first-rate; Jan is an amazing chef! The menu varies day to day.

The house is situated close to a beautiful abbey and within easy walking distance of the coast and several beautiful parks. In April, hundreds of gorgeous tulips were blooming. It is convenient to visiting the amazing Dartmoor National Park.

I recommend this B&B very highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a great welcome from Wyn and Jan on our first visit to the Berburry in Torquay. A beautiful Victorian Hotel occupying a corner plot and consisting of 9 ensuite bedrooms. Decorated to a high standard and our room was clean and comfortable. The food was very good and all home cooked. A great choice too. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a ready smile. Go to the Berburry if you want a break at a lovely Hotel which is a great base to explore Torquay and the surrounding area. Close to buses and trains so not excuse not to get out and about. A bit of a noisy road outside but that does not detract from the Hotel at all. Just take earplugs or an MP3 player. Would recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but you can pay more for more sumptuous rooms and robes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sassy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We hadn't stayed in Torquay for 15 years so essentially starting from scratch. Prefer smaller hotels but standards can vary so much. After reading, browsing, consulting Trip Advisor we booked for 7 days at the Berburry.

Verdict: BRILLIANT! Sparkling clean with high quality furniture & fittings throughout. We chose a Traditional room where everything first class including easy-use shower. There is the option to upgrade to even bigger rooms with even posher fittings! Wyn & Jan are superb hosts- efficient & organised but friendly & relaxed so that everyone feels totally at home from start to finish. Excellent breakfast & splendid dinner served in spacious airy dining room.
Several couples had been many times before & spoke enthusiastically about their stays here.
Hotel located in the green & relatively level part of Torquay with views across sports fields. Easy walking distance to town centre via grounds of Torre Abbey.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We spent a lovely three nights at the Berburry and had a most enjoyable time. Wyn and Jan are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. The time of our arrival meant that we only had one evening meal at the hotel but it was a memorable one. We had a deluxe room which was very large and spacious; enjoyed the water and sweets as well! It was very hot during our stay but the two windows on opposite ends of the room helped to keep it reasonably cool with the option of the ceiling fan if we wished. The hotel had a car park which was an essential from my point of view, and is a nice walk away from the seafront. It was a while since I'd stayed in a small hotel and it reminded me what I'd missed; the personal touch, friendly advice and good home cooking. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We have just spent 10 wonderful days at The Berburry. Wyn and Jan are 'perfect' hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The food is fantastic - made fresh every day - homemade! You would not want to eat out anywhere else.
Tranquility assured - so peaceful and quiet - so relaxing!
Spotlessly clean and rooms are very tastefully decorated and really cosy with comfy beds - showers are really good and straightforward to operate!
Location is excellent in that all areas are very accessible and the walk into the centre of Torquay is lovely as you can go through the grounds of Torre Abbey leading thru to the tennis courts, bowling greens, recreation centre, pitch and putt and crazy golf...leading straight to the beach and the marina...lovely!
Value for money - definately...tea,coffee,hot choccy making facilties in your bedroom with daily bicky fill-ups...yummy! And where else would you go to get bottled water and sweeties too in your bedrooms refilled each day!
The garden is so lovely with the scent of lavender, a little fish pond and lovely lounging seats and tables and sun umbrellas!

I would totally recommend The Berburry 110% and i have mentioned only a few delights...see for yourselves the others.

Cecil and Eliz Aicken

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Our 10 day stay at The Berburry was everything we could have wished for and more. Wyn and Jan were the perfect Hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was wonderful, the food was excellent, Jan's menu's were superb and a real treat each night and Wyn dished up an equally delicious breakfast to set us up for the day, If you thinking of visiting Torquay then there is only one place to stay and that is The Berburry.

D & B, North Lincolnshire

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#47 of 150 in Torquay
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#53 of 150 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#71 of 150 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#23 of 150 in Torquay
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berburry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berburry

Property: The Berburry
Address: 64 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berburry 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Gold Award 2012/2013. Traditionally cooked Breakfasts & Dinners served in our elegant dining room. Nine spotlessly clean en-suite individually decorated rooms. No children, no pets and no noise. Situated close to Torquay Sea Front, Harbour, Abbey Gardens, Theatre & Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Berburry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berburry Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing