We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest House more than Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Morningside Hotel
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Guest House more than Hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Good value for the location. No bar or restaurant facilities but there see plenty locally. Car park a bit limited but there is free on street parking available. Breakfast a little late for a working day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

No Greeting on arrival, just shown to cess pit of a room, mould and stains 3 foot up curtains which were just about hanging on at the top, sofa should have been delivered to the local tip years ago full of mould and stains, electric socket cover hanging off,carpets unfit to even walk on, had to cover furniture with towels to sit down. I thing the cheap emusion on the walls and electic sockets was thrown on and not painted. When we checked out after one night, owner stated he was not interested in my comments, when I tried to explain that the room was dangerous due to mold and electric socket,I was told to shut up and get out!! What a welcome to Devon, I have plenty of photographs of this very dirty room.

Room Tip: do not book room 8, actually don't book this hotel customers skills do not exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Everything in our previous two reports are still correct. Friendly staff, good breakfast and excellent facilities and the sea view is one of the best in Devon. Evening meals are not available but this is a plus factor because it allows you to use the fanastic selection of establishments nearby and when you go farther afield you do not have to be back for a set time. Babbacombe is a quiet location but you can easily reach the main Torbay resorts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We just stayed over night. We were made to feel vey welcome. Very bright and airy room. Spotless and clean. Lovely breakfast in the second conservatory. Parking in the carpark. Also on the road out side. Good position with seaviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I have stayed here three times over a couple of years and always try to get a booking when I go to Babbacombe. This last time we had two single rooms in our party and in fact ended up in nice big rooms on the ground floor. Both rooms appeared to be newly decorated, clean and well maintained. My bed was very comfortable - nice and soft! Its in a great situation on the clifftop with great views from some rooms. It is a B&B rather than a hotel but its excellent value - and I am hoping to get in again for a couple of days in August!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

'have stayed at this hotel three times. the facilities are excellent with a breakfast that keeps you going all day'

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayward190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have stayed at the Morningside for many years and we have always found it to be bright, cheerful and friendly- the same goes for all the staff. Paul, Jon-Paul, Ann and Frankie have all become like family and we continue to return year after year, its like a home from home.

The hotel is right on the cliff top with the most incredible views from a lot of the bedrooms and the shops etc are a few minutes walk away, as is the cliff top railway to get to Oddicombe Beach ( kids love the old fashioned railway!). Babbacombe beach is more of a trek- but good for fishing and keeping the kids amused in the rock pools.

Some of the reviews on this site are not to complimentary to the Morningside- my answer is if you want 5star+- then book a really expensive hotel in Torquay- this is a family run B&B and family service is always preferable to large corporate hotels. The rooms are all a good size (I think we have tried them all) and tea/coffee stocks are always well maintained and they have internet access too if you need it.

We can't recommend this hotel enough, staff are very friendly (and very good with children) and very knowledgable as to local amenities and always available for a friendly chat.

As for the food- the breakfasts are great- and there is always the option of more, with no moaning/tutting or trying to get you to hurry up, and if you manage to catch some Mackerel off the harbour wall, they will even cook it for you and serve it for breakfast- what more can you ask for!
They don't do an evening meal, but the local pubs etc are all within easy walking distance and the staff will advise readily as to the best place to go. If you get a bit peckish during the day there is always the option of the conservatory where they serve excellent cakes (this is our daughter favourite bit), snacks and drinks (both soft and alcoholic) all at very reasonable prices.

This is a very good value for money B&B and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have the best views. You must try the cakes and cream teas- divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
501 reviews
2.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
514 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morningside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morningside Hotel

Property: The Morningside Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Morningside Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing