We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I needed to book a hotel near the Riviera Centre. There were loads of independant hotels but they all looked a bit run down. I chose Premier Inn because although I know it wouldn't be earth shattering I felt that at least I knew what to expect.

It was mildly uncomfortable - the bed was poor, the pillows were rock solid, there was no bath, the shower overflowed, there was no phone in the room, the food in the beefeater was awful - overcooked and bad value and the parking was dire with cars up all the kerbs and along the double yellow lines.

All in all it was mediocre but not unbearable. It certaily wasn't cheap either at £89 per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you are n the main building otherwise you have to walk across the car park for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeakyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were taken here by an elderly friend and sat outside as it was a lovely day (and we had a little dog with us).We were appalled at the lack of interest in serving us (neither the bar staff nor the restaurant staff thought it was their responsibility). After much walking around, we got menus and ordered drinks, then waited a long time for the drinks. Even longer for the food.
I chose whitebait with a side salad-or at least that was what it was called. The whitebait was cremated and the salad -a small bowl of wilted greenery-was doused with a very vinegary dressing which left a bad taste for the rest of the afternoon. Even our dog, sitting with us outside, was not keen to help me out.
As I said at the outset, life's too short to hang around a seedy place like this for poorly presented food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank busman39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thanks for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at your hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

First trip to this hotel. Lovely clean room, nice touch with toiletries included. Did not do breakfast, we found £7.99 a head a bit to steep for us. We dont eat big meals usually eggs on toast, or bacon sandwich, So we ate in town. We did do the evening meals a couple of times, and they were very nice.This hotel is over the road from the sea, and easy 15 mins walk into town. We will come here again.

Room Tip: Rooms faceing the gardens are more private, and quiet. Free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucygoosy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed in the new building, very large room, sea view and proper beds for the children. Service was very good, and if you can ignore the typical labarinth which make up the corridors, there is little to distinguish this from much more expensive hotels. At £38 for a night for 4 people, it's exceptional value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

First impressions WoW Frendly Reception and Staff,the resturant was excelent and so was the Bar the Accomadation well another WOW comfy Bed and the shower bath and benroom was spotlessA WOW Factor 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quitemystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this Premier Inn, it was great. The room was big and clean and the beds were very comfortable. Soap and shower gel were provided in the bathroom. It was very quiet, no slamming doors and the room was air conditioned and had black out curtains. The staff were friendly and helpful there was a very nice bar and it faced the colourful harbour. The only problem was it was difficult to park as the car park was very small. I would definitely recommend this Premier Inn and I would go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend, we did the same last year. We found the location to be great, right on the front & a nice amble towards the harbour and town.We think that Torquay has something for everyone and found totally different things to do this year than last. The hotel room, breakfast etc. were all the same as we'd found on other stays in Premier Inns & similiar hotels: breakfast time was busy but was fine & tariffs paid for breakfast provided good value for money for families. However, our BIG criticism was the parking which was a nightmare, so much so that once we managed to get a space, we left car there & used public transport. The problem is that since last year, another block has been built, so effectively 2 Premier Inns on 1 site but there are still only 100 car park spaces. Therefore people were parking absolutely anywhere, including in the entrance to the pay and display council car park (therefore blocking it) No-one was monitoring the car park, I did not see 1 person pay (which users of the restaurant should) and people parked up on walkways, double yellows etc. It really put us off. We spoke to the receptionist who very unhelpfully said that lots of PIs had no car parking! I don't think we would come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NANM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 86 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £48 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing