We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've just come home from a 2 night stay here from Cornwall and I'm very pleased with our stay!
My partner was impressed with our room ( and he's not easily impressed ) and the receptionists were very nice and polite....we tried the bar too and we have got to say that the barman Callum made us most welcome! We would definatly come back to your hotel without question :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    607
    211
    87
    47
See reviews for
590
855
51
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn Torquay for 2 nights before our 'proper' holiday at Devon Hills - thank goodness we stayed before and not afterwards, the difference in accomodation was so stark, I think we would have cried if we'd had PI to contend with at the end of our holiday!
Parking was a nightmare but we found a spot in the Pay and Display car park eventually. On booking in at reception we got the keys to our room...we walked in, inhaled the paint fumes and walked straight out again. There were notices up saying that painting was being completed in rooms but honestly, the smell was atrocious and we couldn't have stayed more than 5 mins in that room before passing out - maybe leaving a window open or leaving it a few days after the painting had been completed would've helped before booking the room out.
The lady at reception was very helpful and said they could swap rooms but there was only 1 available. Again we took the keys and found our room which can only be described as a broom cupboard ( my partner could stretch out and touch the walls either side of the bed). Knowing they were fully booked we decided to wait until morning to see if we could be moved and put the kettle on...only to find there weren't any teabags and that both mugs still had dribble marks down the front and remnants of tea in the bottom of them, ugh!
The next morning we were very, very tired as we had been kept awake by air con units positioned on the flat roof right next to our broom cupboard, sorry, room, so went down down to reception again to find the same poor woman on duty who confirmed that yes, we were next to air con units and also fans from the kitchen!! She promised that we would be given a different room for that night but made no mention of the money back guarantee for our complete lack of sleep until I mentioned it and she refunded my card at once (£84 - honestly Lenny, 'Everything's premier but the price' you're having a laugh!).
Once we'd managed to drag ourselves around Torquay seafront to wake ourselves up (very pretty it was too) we went back to pick up the keys to room number 3 and found we'd got the best room of them all - sea views from both windows and an enormous room in the newer building. Very happy and a good nights sleep, thank God.
The lady on reception as faultless, which cannot be said for this Premier Inn. How they can charge the same standard price for a cupboard as they did for a sea view room is beyond us, surely everyone should expect the same level of quality whichever part of the building they stay in? We'd never stayed in a PI before, only a Travelodge - and it certainly won't be a PI we stay in again and don't get us started on the Beefeater restaurant...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building or stay at a Travelodge instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with my stay, my room was nice and clean. I was staying in the new building ( 507) the view wasnt good but that doesn't bother me. The girl who cleaned my room was nice and friendly I think her name was lisa.
The only disappointment that I had was the house keeper who checks the rooms. Well she was in the corridor,i heard her radio go saying "susie" is such and such room ready or not , she replied by saying "for god sake I dont no"?. And then I think she was moaning to her self Because she saying for [--] sake im getting p***ed off with this place ect.? I think that was little unprofessional.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank harlequin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Premier Inn in Torquay lives up to all it's promises as a place to stay and relax. There is aways someone available to offer a very friendly service. The room that we stayed in, which was in the annex area was very comfortable, clean, quiet and good size (with a bath to soak in), and was a short internal walk to the restaurant, bar and reception area. The bar and restaurant had good views over the bay.
The restaraunt was a Beefeater which had a varied menu and food the quality was very acceptable both for dinner and breakfast.
The hotel's location was just a short walk to all the delights of Torquay, and of course had ample parking spaces with CCTV security. It was also a very handy place to stay if you want to explore other places in Devon such as Paignton, Brixham and others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJHADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
The team here at Premier Inn Torquay always endeavour to deliver great service to our guests and we therefore very much appreciate when our guests write fantastic reviews about their stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Torquay & look forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 Friday night. Friendly check in, rooms were of a higher standard than other Inns we've stayed at. Bar was busy as you would expect for a Friday night but service was quick and friendly. Booked a table for 8 in restaurant with food pretty good but made better with very good staff. This is a great location for Torquay and would recommend to friends. Overall an excellent experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank-you for your kind review of Premier Inn Torquay. We take pride in our high standards and great service to ensure our guests have an excellent stay, and I am pleased to hear that you had nice stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Up to Premier Inn's high standards. Clean, new build with good sized rooms. Only 5 mins walk to centre of town along a lovely prom. Good and reasonably priced accommodation. Parking voucher can be claimed from reception on arrival so no parking costs involved. Well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShazWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank-you for your kind comments about your stay at Premier Inn Torquay, we look forward to welcoming you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have stayed here before but quite a long time ago the hotel hasn't changed a lot it is still very good the staff are excellent I could not fault them in any way , nothing was too much trouble they were just as staff should be ! At first I was given a room in the new section which was along walk away from the main building up along corridor ,it was inside but when you are over 80 not recommended ,I complained and was given a close room in the main building ,the room was much better but the heating was very hit and miss that is the only reason for me not giving the hotel 5 stars ,will definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: I think the old building better than the new one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#32 of 87 in Torquay
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing