We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but poor house keeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Poor cleaning did not supply towels which I had to fetch. Did not clean glasses. Stench in bathroom. Breakfast pretty poor. Menu says bread.....great to toast and have with jam or words to that effect. Ok but not cheap for a room .........just what we Brits seem to like these days predicability.Sad

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hucclecotecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

weve just come back from a 2 night stay at the torquay premier inn and wasn't disappointed ! we had stayed in this hotel many years ago when it was the belgrave hotel and had enjoyed it then so after reading the reviews on trip advisor decided to give it a try ! also took the advice of others to ask for a room in the old building and on the top floor which we got ( tho I did contact hotel a few days before to make the request they said they couldent promise but would make a note ! ) we also had nice sea views which was a bonus ! the room was a good size with a very large bathroom and it was very peaceful ! in fact the layout isn't much different to when we stayed here before except the rooms were massive back then ! tho I didn't see what the newer block was like inside I cant imagine its as nice as the old block ! great location only 5 mins walk from station and 5mins walk to harbour ! with lovely walks by the sea in both directions and good bus services to other areas ! we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: we had room 211 on the top floor old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear gill g,
Thank-you for your review of your stay in Torquay, we are really happy that previous Belgrave Hotel guests still choose to stay with us as Premier Inn. We are lucky with our location that we have some fantastic sea views, and I am pleased that you got to enjoy these from your room. We endeavour to meet any requests that our guests make with us, and although this isn't always possible, I am pleased that on this occasion we were able to. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I would like to say that this was the most enjoyable stay at a hotel in a long while. My room was spotless on arrival. The bed was the comfiest I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in (except my own). I had a beautiful sea view from my window too. The restaurant provided an excellent service. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The receptionist was particularly careful when giving me my room number, as I travelled as a lone female. In particular I would like to give a special mention to Paul, who worked in the breakfast lounge. He was the loveliest guy. Professional, friendly, efficient and attentive. He made me feel very special, nothing was too much trouble for him. Well done to all the staff at Torquay, your hospitality was excellent.
It makes all the difference. I will definitely be visiting you again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Kerry M,
Thank-you for your 'fantastic' review! The team here work hard to ensure our guests have a great stay with us and will be happy to read that you had such a good stay. Our location means we are lucky enough to have some rooms with lovely sea views, and our new hypnos mattresses are proving to be very popular with our guests. I shall also pass your comments on to the restaurant manager especially regarding the excellent service you received from Paul. We look forward to seeing you here in Torquay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lovely hotel, restaurant took ALONG time to get served.

Nice outdoor area to sit in over looking the beech, rooms where to premier inns high standard. car parking was an issue when we first arrived as it is not big enough for the restaurant and hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

With Premier Inn there are certain expectations . . . the staff is top notch, the property is clean and neat, and the prices are reasonable . . . all true here . . . but restaurant and bar staff were lacking in one area . . . ICE . . . we know the British aren't big fans of ice in their drinks, but to not have any in the bar for 3 days . . . that's a bit ridiculous . . . even if the machine was broken, and unable to be repaired, couldn't someone have brought in a bag or two of ice from somewhere . . . instead, it was simply no ice available . . . so room temp Gin and Tonics . . .

Room Tip: Parking is a problem . . . get there before 4 or 5 to grab a slot . . . otherwise it's pay and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuyouBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff here. Dining was great with more very attentive staff. Parking a bit hit and miss. We found ourselves leaving the car in the car park and taking buses instead. This is easy as the bus stop is just up the road. No complaints about this Premier Inn at all.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear kiwicurls,
The team here thrive on keeping our guests happy and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our carpark can get very busy, but as you say the bus service for Torbay is easily accessed from the hotel. We hope to welcome you back here in Torquay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Recently stayed for one night on a Monday for business. The hotel is easily found on the seafront and has a large Carpark. Plenty of spaces to park (you get a free permit at reception) but the Carpark is pay and display for the town and the beefeater too so I should imagine in the height of summer it gets fairly busy.
Receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Got a lovely big room, 223 facing the park and seafront. Comfy bed, lots of pillows. The only downside, the road was extremely noisy to about 10pm and then again from 5am. Next time I'd ask for a carpark facing room which would solve the issue.
Ten minute leisurely stroll along the promenade to the main shopping area and this can be done with or without climbing steps.
Beefeater next door was good and very good value for money.
Would stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for side sea view facing Carpark to avoid main road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou_Lou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Lou_Lou84,
Thank-you for your 5* review of your stay with us. We're very proud of our new hypnos mattresses in Premier Inn and I was pleased to hear you found the bed nice and comfy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing