We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for a stay in Torquay - shame about the misleading offers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a stay in Torquay - shame about the misleading offers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights between Xmas and New Year, and the hotel was excellent.

The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious (even with three of us in it). The position of the hotel is very good - right on the sea-front and a 5-10 minute walk to the main centre of town, where the harbour, shops and most of the restaurants are.

Because this was an existing hotel that Premier Inn took over it has the best of both worlds. The building has the character that many Premier Inns lack, but as it was refurbished fairly recently (in 2008 I believe) it is really smart & tidy and the room feel modern. Also, the restaurant and bar are integrated into the main hotel, rather than being in a separate building next-door, which is the usual set-up for Premier Inns.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night. The food and service were excellent, although we were told when we ordered that a special offer being advertised on the Premier Inn web site and in the hotel was no longer running (but still being promoted!). The separate bar was always busy, but we always found a table. The bar staff were very efficient and it was always easy to get served, even when it looked busy at the bar. It has a good, lively atmosphere rather than the sterile feel most hotel bars have.

There is ample car parking; there were always plenty of free spaces in the hotel car park during our stay, and I'm fairly sure the hotel was full. It's pay & display but you can get a free pass when you check in to the hotel. There is an enormous public car park next door, but I doubt if you would need to use it.

My only real objection is the "rooms from £29" campaign that Premier Inn have been running. We paid more than double this amount for our room and there was no sign of any £29 rooms when I booked. I also booked a room at a Premier Inn near home for visitors over Xmas, and despite a large "£29" on the front of the place, I was charged about 3 times that amount. This "dodgy" promotion has tarnished my view of Premier Inn and the non-existent special offer in the restaurant (see above) has reinforced an image of them (and other companies in the Whitbread group) as not being entirely honest with their customers. Apart from this I would not hesitate to use Premier Inns again, but this has put me off.

It's also worth being aware of a clause in the Premier Inn booking conditions that allows them to charge the prevailing room rate when you stay regardless of the price quoted when you book (so if you book in advance then they raise their prices, they can charge you the higher amount when you turn up). I'm not sure if they would actually try to do this, but they must have put it in their booking conditions for a reason.

It really is a shame that the hard work and professionalism of the staff in the hotels is undermined by sharp practices from head office.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and that our hotel, helpful team members, bar and restaurant facilities met your expectations. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the price of your room. Premier Inn do have rooms from £29.00, these rooms are available subject to availability, however bookings do need to be made at least 21 days prior to arrival and have specific terms and conditions. Once a booking is made the price quoted and confirmed for the booking is the price that will be charged on arrival at our hotel, we do not increase pricing on confirmed bookings. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    590
    207
    81
    40
See reviews for
572
816
50
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of November and could not fault it at all.
It was a fantastic nights stay. The staff are really friendly.
The room was very clean and tidy.
We ate at The Beefeater resturant and had a really enjoyable meal. The staff were really friendly and the meal was fantastic.
Its in a great location for The Harbour, Town Centre, Beach and Riveria Centre.
I would reccomend this hotel to anybody visting Torquay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyz_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Thanks for you review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our location, hotel and restaurant facilities met your expectations. Our staff are committed to providing all our guests with the highest level of customer care and it is good to know this was evident during your stay. Once again thank you for your review we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

we had a brilliant time when we stayed here in august for our annual holiday.The rooms were lovely and clean and the breakfasts were lovely and plentiful.I would not hesitate in staying at a premier inn again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murraymints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are committed at Premier Inn to providing a first class service and it is good to know that our rooms and breakfast facilities met your expectations. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed here for a week it was our summer holiday, as other reviewers, the staff were great and very friendly, made us feel very relaxed and comfortable, can not fault maid service, they were also very friendly and unobtrusive. We had not eaten at a Beefeater for quite some time, so we were pleasantly surprised on how the food has improved, it was really good, the service was good, and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful, even though you could tell that they were working under a lot of pressure when the restaurant was busy. I would agree that the management could do with upping the staffing level in the restaurant.
Our room was huge, and very comfortable, and spotlessly clean, I have two criticisms though, one is as we stayed for a week, we could have done with more clothes storage space, maybe a chest of drawers, although saying that we did manage so no big deal. Also I did expect there to be free wifi internet access, lots of other hotels provide this now. And I think the price charged for it is very high! we paid for a weeks access which works out a lot cheaper (if you are staying that long!), but the daily hourly charges were ridiculous!!

That apart the whole stay was brilliant we will definately be going back!!
Incidentely, we also stayed at a travel lodge for one night on our way home, this was totally the opposite, absoloutely awful, will not be staying at a travel lodge again!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russbrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Booked a 2 night stay at the last minute based on the previous reviews. We were not dissapointed. The hotel was everything we had hoped for, great clean family room, very helpful staff and a superb location for a family with 2 young children (5 & 8) who wanted to be on the beach. We ate in the bar and were very pleased with service and the standard of food. Breakfast in the restaurant was also very good and we felt that the offer for children under 16 to eat free when an adult pays full price was good value.
We will certainly be making another visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dku5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

I cant really fault this hotel at all. The hotel is situated in probably as good a location as possible in Torquay, on the seafront close to the centre but not in it. Turn left out of the hotel and you're in Torquay within 5 or 10 minutes walk along a very nice promenade. The hotel has ample free parking and we never had a problem finding a space.
Check in was fast with no problems and the room was large and spotlessly clean. Downstairs there is a modern bar and Beefeater restaurant with a garden and patio area to the front that faces the sea. You can also order food in the bar if you don't want to sit in the main restaurant.
Overall, if you want a good clean hotel at a reasonable price in a good location, you wont go far wrong with the Premier Inn Torquay. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. I'd certainly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigem08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed here for a week in August, even though the weather wasn't that good we had a great time. We loved everything about this hotel. We had a brilliant seaview room, plenty big for four of us. The location was excellent with plenty to do day and night. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful especially the restaurant staff. The meals in the beefeater were excellent, great value too. You do need to book as it gets really busy. We will be visiting this hotel again next year for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janberry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relatons Advisor at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
#22 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing