We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I am a seasoned customer of Premier Inns all over Britain. We stayed over at this Inn, in November last year after having spent a couple of years at a 3-star hotel in Meadfoot Road. I have to say that the beds and cleanliness at Torquay Inn is top banana and the staff aren't surly and rude like they were at the miserable hotel in Meadfoot Road! The room was very comfortable, the shower was powerful, the breakfast plentiful, the adjoining beefeater for evening food if you wanted was of their usual good standard, and the bar didn't get too crowded. The rooms are also very quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMorticia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that our hotel, facilities and great team here met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. The team will be delighted to receive your comments as they are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

Nice location and close to seafront but hazardous having meal in front garden due to the inevitable attacks from vermin, namely seagulls. Has to be expected when at the seashore. Nice, clean comfortable rooms but not ideal for a stay of one week. Poor clothes storage areas. Better suited to the one night business stay and not really ideal for a five night holiday. Dined in bar most nights and found staff service to be very inconsistent, for serving drinks and meals. The quality of the food and drink was very good, but the presence of staff varied from hour to hour. There was a great deal of confusion about where to stand at the bar for service. The staff were not helpful in telling customers what the normal procedure was for queuing. My wife waited ages at the bottom of the bar for service and was always ignored by passing staff. When she complained about queue jumping she was told to stand at the top of the bar for service. We thought it was just us who had made a mistake until during our meal, the quietness of the bar was shaken by another female customer protesting very loudly and correctly about being ignored by staff. She was not accepting sorry from the staff and was loudly demanding the Manager. Very embarrassing for everyone. We left our meal and went to Wetherspoons where service was exceptionaly good and helpful despite being very busy.
Not sure what the problem is with the staff. They acted proficiently and seemed to be well trained, but their customer relations and personal contact with customers was lacking. I got the feeling that they were doing us a favour and not the opposite. This attitude is not good for a hotel charging premium prices.
The Breakfast staff were very, very good. Well trained if not a bit repetitve, and knew exactly how to cope. Put under pressure by large amounts of customers arriving down at same time. Hot water, juices etc all ran out at same time due to demand but staff on the ball and replenished very quickly. Customers not too bothered by delay.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay but dont know what to tick for the recommendation to a friend. Depends who our friend is - - will not tick any box.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0bj0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

just had three days at torquay premier inn and as usual superb,, nice clean big rooms, invigorating power shower, pleasant friendly staff, big comfy beds, good hearty breakfast, nice bar area with bay views ,adjoining beefeater restaurant good food at good prices " why stay anywere else "..........................

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin.eastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2010

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel and our great team here met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

It is what it is but we found the rooms very claustrophobic and unable to open the windows. Awful view and expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We were staying as a couple to help my mother look after my very disabled father; they had booked a disabled room with wet room. The hotel arranged for us to have the nearest room to them and could not have been more helpful. The disabled room was excellent and the bathroom had plenty of space with numerous grab rails located in sensible positions. The staff on Reception went beyond the call of duty when my father was dropped and three female staff came to the rescue!!
Our double room was adequate with a very comfortable bed. My only complaint was that there was no internal telephone, this would have been useful for communicating between rooms.
The attached restaurant is a typical "chain" but the staff were efficient and friendly and the evening meal was what you would expect. The buffet continental breakfast was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryfromspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stayed here with my wife and nine year old son for five nights in May/June 2010. The hotel enjoys an excellent location by Torquay seafront, with a footbridge conveniently located for access to the beach.
From the moment we checked in, we were very impressed with the friendly and efficient service provided by all the staff. On entering our room we found that our son's sofa bed had not been made up, but when we contacted Reception, this was rectified immediately.
Our family room was located just over the entrance to the hotel, where we occasionally heard people hanging around for a smoke and a chat at night after they left the bar, but this was nothing which particularly disturbed us or warranted a complaint.
We took breakfast daily in the adjoining Beefeater restaurant where the service was excellent and the generous “eat as much as you like” buffet provided everything we needed and more. Breakfast was served from 8-10 Saturday to Monday and 7-9:30 the rest of the week, and we found the service just as good regardless of whether we arrived towards the beginning or the end of that window.
Apart from breakfast, we didn't use the Beefeater, but we did take an evening meal and a lunch in the hotel bar, where we were more than happy with the quality and service provided. We visited at what must be one of the busiest times of year, but did not have to wait more than twenty minutes for our food to be served.
Car parking was easy. On arrival, you are issued with a voucher to display in your windscreen which entitles you to free parking for the duration of your stay, and we always found plenty of space available during the six days we were there.
We intend to return to the Torbay area more frequently in the future, and will certainly consider booking the Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, great location and helpful team members met your expectations. Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We very much look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

i havent stayed at this hotel yet but i have tried to book a £29/room that is widely advertised on the website.. but no luck. i have spoke with the reception staff at the hotel who cannot give me a date at to when this offer would apply. they say i should manually check everydate in the year ..what nonsense..!!! if you advertise such a rate then at least have the rooms available!!.. i think this goes against the advertising laws in the country and i will be speaking to WHICH about this ... and if premierr in decided to reply to this message at least leave an email so i can talk to you directly!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apple7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have encountered problems booking one of our Premier Offers. The Premier Offer is available at selected Premier Inns only and is subject to availability Bookings for our Premier Offers have proved to be very popular rooms do become booked very quickly. Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact one of our operators in our Customer Contact Centre or our Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 86 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £48 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing