We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming, great value, great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abberley Guest House
Ranked #92 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed here twice now and would thoroughly reccommend this guesthouse. Very pleasant welcoming couple, who offer a cup of tea on arrival. Nice and clean, recently decorated rooms, each with en suite shower. Great cooked breakky too! Quiet location within easy reach of Torquay Centre (5 mins drive) and delightful Babbacombe seafront. All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorquayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

What a lovely and welcoming couple nothing is to much trouble for jackie or dave the house is so clean and tidy its a pleasure to be there we loved it so much we intend to visit this wonderful couple time and time again.The location speaks for its self theres so much to go out and see and the breakfast is something else we are returning this weekend can't wait i think many more breaks will follow so glad we found the abberley perfect all round.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joey092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The service was great, greeted every morning with welcoming and polite host and hostess. The English breakfast was generous , with a choice of cereal and fruit juice. The rooms are very clean with ensuite and working showers . Clean towels provided everyday as was supply of tea/ coffee. The locality is not too far from the beach and there is ample amenities.
Definitely recommend visiting and staying in this guest house.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbarn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What a great little place....
Wonderful value, lovely quiet location yet close to all attractions. Hosts are fabulous with tea being offered on arrival. Delicious breakfast and rooms are simple yet comfortable. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickle_sensier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I have just returned following a weekend at the Abberley Guest House for our Football Teams final away game of the season.The Hosts Jackie& Dave were very polite and friendly and nothing was too much for them. Good choice of Breakfasts, just ask! The rooms were warm, clean and tidy and we were never disturbed by noise.Plenty of on street parking and within a flat walking distance of football ground(5mins) and Babbacombe & Babbacombe Downs(10-15 mins) famous for its model village.If walking from the Guest house to sea front or town centre, would recommend a bus or taxi back(unless you feel fit).Highly recommend a day at Cockington Hall for those who like pleasant walks and chocolate box scenery.This was our first visit to Torquay and we will definately come again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp1re1te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was our second stay at the Abberley after being recommended by a Torquay United supporting friend of ours. It is the closest B and B to Plainmoor, but please dont be put off if your not a football fan, or dont desire to spend your stay with football fans. The one thing I've learnt about the Abberley is its a place you'd go to with a group of friends, or your partner or familu, and all are quite happily to mix.

The rooms are clean, and well appointed with falt screen digital TV's. Courtesey tray with tea, coffee was all stocked up.

The breakfast is to die for. Full English with cereal start if so desired. Orange juice and toast, plus your choice of hot drink all thrown in. The perfect way to start your day or recover from the night before.

There is no bar, but actual that adds to its charm, with a nice lounge to chill in. There are plenty of pubs in Babbacombe, St Marychurch and Plainmoor, and its only a 15 walk into Town as well.

Babbacombe is just down the road, and as well as the Waitrose in Plainmoor there are some good small shops in both Babbacombe and St Marychurch - ie Co-operative, Chippy, Indian, Bookies, Post Office etc.

Being so close to the 'Downs' give you an opportunity to sit and look at the view over Lyme Bay. Surely the best view in the world!

I definite thumbs up from me. Well done Jackie and Dave on an excellent facility. See you soon!

Adrian Plimmer

Shrewsbury

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REVAP1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We arrived to a very welcome cuppa in their lounge, which can be used at any time. Rooms were very clean with shower etc and beds made all through weekend. Clean towels left when needed. Very comfortable bed(especially pillows) Excellent breakfast with a wonderful choice. Highly recommended by us all. Hope to stay again in the future. Sue,Barry,Pete,Carol,Terry and Mary. Chulmleigh, North Devon

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbfChulmleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,574 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberley Guest House

Address: Babbacombe 100 Windsor Road, Torquay TQ1 1SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abberley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest B&B in Torquay on the English Riviera, South Devon's Beautiful Bay. Convenient for Babbacombe and Torquay Centre, and ideally located for exploring beautiful South Devon and Dartmoor. 7 rooms, squeaky clean, very comfortable - all non-smoking, all en-suite. Ground floor rooms. Our Full English Breakfast will set you up for the day and if you want an early breakfast to make the most of your day that is not a problem here! Delicious evening meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Abberley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abberley Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing