We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abberley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abberley Guest House
Ranked #94 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have stayed at a number of B&Bs in Torquay. This was the first time I have used Abberley Guest House. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable, great breakfast and Jackie and Dave were always very friendly and helpful. There is no on site parking but I never had problem finding a space nearby. The best recommendation I can give is this is where I will be staying on future visit to Torquay.

Room Tip: Book direct and give your requirments, quite room etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you Andrew for your appreciation of our efforts. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Me and my parnter thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this guest house over the weekend. Upon arrival we were welcomed and the instant impression was that the owners were very friendly and this first impression stuck throughout the duration of our stay. The place itself was very clean and the layout of our room was very good. We also found the bed extreamly comfortable. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend this to anyone.

Scott & Chelsea

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you Scott for your appreciation of our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This B&B is amazingly spotless and clean. I have never stayed somewhere so immaculate. I am the fussiest person when it comes to cleanliness and could not fault this place. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. From the moment I booked the room, they emailed me to to confirm the details. They welcomed us after a really long journey, with a nice cup of tea, which was very sweet. They were very informative on giving us ideas of local places to visit and how to get there. There is free parking right outside their front door too.

The B&B provides everything you will need, including towels, soap, flannels, shower cap, shower gel, shampoo, tea and coffee facilities. The only slight negative is that our bedroom size, our bathroom size and our shower size were a little on the small size and not very spacious for larger or bigger built people. The decor of our room was a little old fashioned and not very modern, however it was not old or worn in any way, just more 80's/90's taste, but in excellent condition.

The B&B is very close to Torquay town centre and also to Babbacombe town centre too. It is an ideal place to stay if you want to be somewhere reasonably central and like to go off and explore other places. We parked the car up and jumped on the bus. This was a little pricey, but cheaper than parking the car in the centre for the whole day. We went on the steam train and to the zoo in Paignton, on the ferry to Dartmouth, out shopping in Torquay, out to dinner in Brixham. There is something for everyone! The only let down was the rain and climbing the hills!

If you are looking for a way to save some money, the B&B offer the option of 'room only' without breakfast. We chose to buy a full English breakfast in a local cafe in Babbacombe, which was really tasty, and was under £5. We ate this closer to lunch time as 'brunch', so this not only saved us money, but it meant we didn't have to worry about waking up early each morning and could lay in until we were ready to wake! The B&B is already very reasonably priced and was one of the cheapest priced places I could find in such a good location and with such fantastic reviews, but this option made our experience even more value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musiquegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your appreciative remarks. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week at Abberley Guest House.
Due to heavy traffic it took us 8 hours to get from west yorkshire to Torquay and its fair to say we were a bit grumpy and tired.... but when Jackie came to the door, welcomed us in and offered us a cup of tea we knew we had found a little gem of a guest house.
We were shown to our room and it was so clean and very practical, this house is like a tardis inside by the way! We stayed in room 6 and were very pleased with it.
The next morning we went downstairs where Dave was waiting to take our breakfast order. Everything was fresh and made to order, it was delicious, there was also a variety cereals available.
The bed made for a very comfortable nights sleep
Dave & Jackie are wonderful hosts and really took an interest in how our holiday was going.
The guest house is not bang in the centre of Torquay but is certainly within walking distance of Torquay centre (15 mins) & Babbacombe centre (10 mins).
If you are looking for a clean, friendly and reasonably priced Guest House then look no further!
Thank you for letting us stay with you it was a pleasure :-) Stef & Carl

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you CandS for your appreciative comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope tp see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

glad to see that people are staying at this guest house its the bee's knees jackie and our dave are fantastic hosts can't do enough to please you.Can't wait till our next trip later on in the year.please give this guest house a go you won't be dissapionted.Fab rooms fab food fab location what more could anyone ask.

Room Tip: any room all first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you joey092. Your recommendation is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor,Co Down
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just back from our first trip to the English Riviera,the weather may have been indifferent but this Guest House certainly wasn't .It did exactly what it said on the tin(brochure).
Big Dave & Jackie were superb hosts.Quite liked the door on the shower room/en suite after all we have been married 37 years.Ground floor room was handy no point climbing stairs when you don't have to. Breakfast was freshly made and served with fresh tea & coffee.Brill break can't wait to make another trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are ideal , handy for the lounge & dinning room.Windsor Road is quiet little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you Roy C. We meet a lot of very nice people in this business. It's always encouraging to know our hard work is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Only stayed the one night but would recommend it to anyone,clean,comfortable and an excellent breakfast.Its only a 10-15 walk to Babbacombe where we had an excellent night at the Babbacombe Inn and its a level walk back to the guest house,the owners were very welcoming taking time out to have a chat with you,would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
It's always reassuring to get a review like which confirms that we are, on the whole, getting it right and our efforts are appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#54 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#33 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.4 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#35 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberley Guest House

Property: Abberley Guest House
Address: Babbacombe 100 Windsor Road, Torquay TQ1 1SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abberley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest B&B in Torquay on the English Riviera, South Devon's Beautiful Bay. Convenient for Babbacombe and Torquay Centre, and ideally located for exploring beautiful South Devon and Dartmoor. 7 rooms, squeaky clean, very comfortable - all non-smoking, all en-suite. Ground floor rooms. Our Full English Breakfast will set you up for the day and if you want an early breakfast to make the most of your day that is not a problem here! Delicious evening meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Abberley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abberley Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing