We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
91
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscup of teadefinately bookhome from homeroom was spotlesswarm welcometwin roomsecond to nonejackiebabbacombelandladytaxis
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just spent four lovely nights at the Abberley. This was my third visit. Previously I had come with a group of friends to watch the football at Torquay (being avid Shrewsbury Town fans). I just fancied 'chillaxing, ctaching up with old firends, and enjoying the Indian Summer.

Mr room (No 4), had een refurbished since my previous visit (see my first review). As ever it was spotless. Janet and Dave are so friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The nreakfasts are to die for.

It was the perfect base to explore Devon, and being so close to the beautiful Bababcombe and St Marychurch, there are plenty of shops, pubs and other activities close by.

I would recommend the Abberley to all. If you are a single person, the place is great, a family or group would love the place.

Looking forward to going back again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REVAP1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you Adrian. As always it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We would just like say a big thanks to Jackie and Dave for makeing our honeymoon stay a memorable one
The B&B is spotless clean and the rooms are of generas size with comfy beds it is a great place in a great location central to a lot of things
There is no problem parking at all
The floral displays at the front make it very pretty and welcoming as do Jackie & Dave
We have travelled all over this country and indeed the world and we would stay here any day rather than the cattle market chain hotels as it is nice to be treated as a person not just a room let for the night we strongly feel that the self rating on this B&B is under rated by a long way we feel it is definatley four star heading to five
Breakfast amazing just how you like it and evening meals good to
Our stay was great from start to finish and we have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone it is perfect
Thanks very very very much for makeing it great and we look forward to seeing you in the near future and bringing our children with us so they to can enjoy the experience
Darren & Louise Castle Newly weds

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you both for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed here with my sister for a relaxing break. Jackie and Dave welcomed us as if we were old friends. We could not of wished for a better room or food. The menu for evening meal was varied, and whatever we ordered was cooked and prepared to perfection. Everything was done to ensure our comfort and pleasure, Jackie really went the extra mile for us

Room Tip: The twin room we had was up a flight of stairs but a twin room is available on the ground floor if there is a problem with climbing the stairs
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you Steve. It's always nice to hear our efforts have been appreciated. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed here overnight with my lad as we had come to watch Leicester City play Torquay United, the ground being only a couple of minutes up the road.
We were greeted by our host's, Jackie and Dave upon our arrival, and were immediately made to feel welcome.
Our room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast in the morning was great as well.
Jackie and Dave provided us with information on how to get to the harbour and provided us with relevant taxi information in case we were not up to the 10 minute walk.
A lovely guest house that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to other visiting football fans because of it's close proximity to Plainmoor and to anyone wanting to be well looked after in an obviously well cared for house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you Mr Chilled. It's knowing our guests appreciate what we do for them that helps us get through the not so good times. Come and see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were staying here as we were going to watch Leicester City play Torquay at Plainmoor, which was literally just a two minute walk down the road, so for us the location was excellent!This guesthouse is a little bit out of the town of Torquay, but it is walkable although it is a steep walk back! Babbacombe is a little nearer and a much easier walk and I recommend The Buccaneer pub for its meals and real ales.
The owners, Jackie & Dave, at Abberley Guest House could not be more welcoming (cup of tea and chat on arrival!) and helpful throughout our stay with plenty of advice on the surrounding area and things to see and do. The rooms were small but very well presented and perfectly adequate for our short stay. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you Mick for your kind comments. We hope we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews