We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
91
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cup of tea definately book home from home room was spotless warm welcome twin room second to none jackie babbacombe landlady taxis
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed the end of September after staying in July because they were close together Tripadvisor wouldn't let me put another review so soon but now I can. Marvellous just like the first time. We tried the breakfast this time that is great and really set us up for the day. Jackie and Dave looked after us brilliantly again. We hope you both enjoyed Dave's birthday celebrations recently. Will be back with mother in law mother father wife etc., next year in spring when the weather perks up so see you then, will ring when I know more about likely dates etc., when we can get back to our favourite guest house-what a find we made! Thanks again Mark and Gai

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanveen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Abberley Guest house, very nice, neat & tidy. Owners Dave and Jackie are fantastic people and nothing is to much trouble to make your stay a good one. We would recommened a holiday stay at Abberley to our friends and anyone else. From myself and Andy a very big thank you to Dave & Jackie Rowan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Firstly want to say a massive thank you to both Jackie & Dave what warm, happy, approachable and decent ppl they r. We loved staying at the Abberley Guest House. It was everything we expected and wanted, homey comfortable and well worth the money. We really appreciated the front door key, it meant we could go out an not worry about time. Would certainly recommend to our family an friends. It was our 1st visit to Torquay and we will return as the area and the guest house made it special. Guest house It was only 10 min to Babbacombe with plenty pubs/bars and attractions. We ate at Himalaya restaurant and it was in a word stunning, hubby had the goat curry mmm lovely. Torquay is a little further took about 30 min to get to the pavilion but that's because we wondered through shops. It's a downhill walk which was pleasant but would not have attempted to walk back taxi cost £7. Although when we booked taxi using the taxi firm Jackie an Dave recommend it was £5 from guest house to pavilion.

Thank u both for a lovely break away an for our anniversary gift. Xxx Leanne & Iain Hurley

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you Leanne & Iain. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Abberley House sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

No complaints at all, this guesthouse was good value for money, clean and well presented. The owners were lovely and very welcoming and provided us with directions in order for us to find our way to and from town. Next time I stay in Tourquay I will be sure to check avalibility here first.
Michaela

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaela5147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you Michaela for your appreciative comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at this guest house, room only.Not overly impressed. I will start with the good points:
The price for room only was excellent and affordable.
The owners were very nice welcoming people, giving plenty of information and advise about the area and sights.
A front door key was given to us to come and go as we liked no matter how late at night.
The house itself was presented nice and quite cosy with plenty of free parking outside on the road.
Ample drawers, tea and coffee facilities.
Lovely toiletries in en suite and clean towels.
Plenty of heating and hot water.
And now the bad bits:
This guest house was advertised as being a 0.5 mile walk from town (the reason we chose it) when in actual fact it was 1.3 miles down a steep hill, ok going down but not for the faint hearted on the way back up. Easy to catch a taxi back but paid between £5- £10 each time!
We stayed in room 3 , top of the stairs which on first appearances looked nice but once settled found the bed base to be broken on one side, the mattress was as lumpy as hell, could feel every spring in it even waking me up during the night in pain and the bed squeaked every time we moved or rolled over in it.
No mirrors at all in the bedroom for hair or make up although there was a small mirror in the bathroom but no sockets close by that would allow my hairdryer (which has a very long lead) to reach.
No wardrobe just a metal clothes rail.
Tiny shower cubicle that somehow leaked as our floor would be soaking wet after each shower.
Noisy neighbours with noisy kids that woke us up each day and finally I think this room is above the kitchen as every morning we constantly listened to the pinging of the microwave and stirring of probably beans!!
Apart from that Torquay was most enjoyable and this did not spoil our weekend. Other rooms in this guest house may be 5* but not room 3.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 3
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bottle-blond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

We can only judge our performance by comments and reviews by guests. Some of the comments made in this review are inaccurate. This room has been used 55 nights in the the months of June, July and August 2012 and we have had no complaints, either directly or as part of a review as you can see from the rest of our reviews. Some of our returning guests specifically ask for room 3.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews