We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay 18/05/2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abberley Guest House
Ranked #104 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our stay 18/05/2013”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A superb welcome from Jackie & Dave. A cup of tea and an introductory chat leads to our common interest and hobby so this stay was heaven for us. Clean and tidy through out, Superb breakfast which meant lunch was only a salad. Will definitely be back. Thank you both

Room Tip: A pleasant location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. It ws a pleasure having you with us, the more so because of a shared hobby. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor,Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Visited for the second time over the May Day Bank Holiday Weekend.
Service with a smile from Jackie & Big Dave , made to feel very welcome and at home.
Clean & well run guest house , ample choice of Breakfast.
Free streeet parking(which for this part of the world is something)local councils seem obsessed with charging parking everywhere 24 hours a day.
Abberlay House is top of our list for next visit to Torquay.

Room Tip: We like the Ground Floor front room why climb stairs when you don't have to !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoy your visits and we enjoy having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed the end of September after staying in July because they were close together Tripadvisor wouldn't let me put another review so soon but now I can. Marvellous just like the first time. We tried the breakfast this time that is great and really set us up for the day. Jackie and Dave looked after us brilliantly again. We hope you both enjoyed Dave's birthday celebrations recently. Will be back with mother in law mother father wife etc., next year in spring when the weather perks up so see you then, will ring when I know more about likely dates etc., when we can get back to our favourite guest house-what a find we made! Thanks again Mark and Gai

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanveen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Abberley Guest house, very nice, neat & tidy. Owners Dave and Jackie are fantastic people and nothing is to much trouble to make your stay a good one. We would recommened a holiday stay at Abberley to our friends and anyone else. From myself and Andy a very big thank you to Dave & Jackie Rowan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Firstly want to say a massive thank you to both Jackie & Dave what warm, happy, approachable and decent ppl they r. We loved staying at the Abberley Guest House. It was everything we expected and wanted, homey comfortable and well worth the money. We really appreciated the front door key, it meant we could go out an not worry about time. Would certainly recommend to our family an friends. It was our 1st visit to Torquay and we will return as the area and the guest house made it special. Guest house It was only 10 min to Babbacombe with plenty pubs/bars and attractions. We ate at Himalaya restaurant and it was in a word stunning, hubby had the goat curry mmm lovely. Torquay is a little further took about 30 min to get to the pavilion but that's because we wondered through shops. It's a downhill walk which was pleasant but would not have attempted to walk back taxi cost £7. Although when we booked taxi using the taxi firm Jackie an Dave recommend it was £5 from guest house to pavilion.

Thank u both for a lovely break away an for our anniversary gift. Xxx Leanne & Iain Hurley

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you Leanne & Iain. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Abberley House sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

No complaints at all, this guesthouse was good value for money, clean and well presented. The owners were lovely and very welcoming and provided us with directions in order for us to find our way to and from town. Next time I stay in Tourquay I will be sure to check avalibility here first.
Michaela

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaela5147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you Michaela for your appreciative comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at this guest house, room only.Not overly impressed. I will start with the good points:
The price for room only was excellent and affordable.
The owners were very nice welcoming people, giving plenty of information and advise about the area and sights.
A front door key was given to us to come and go as we liked no matter how late at night.
The house itself was presented nice and quite cosy with plenty of free parking outside on the road.
Ample drawers, tea and coffee facilities.
Lovely toiletries in en suite and clean towels.
Plenty of heating and hot water.
And now the bad bits:
This guest house was advertised as being a 0.5 mile walk from town (the reason we chose it) when in actual fact it was 1.3 miles down a steep hill, ok going down but not for the faint hearted on the way back up. Easy to catch a taxi back but paid between £5- £10 each time!
We stayed in room 3 , top of the stairs which on first appearances looked nice but once settled found the bed base to be broken on one side, the mattress was as lumpy as hell, could feel every spring in it even waking me up during the night in pain and the bed squeaked every time we moved or rolled over in it.
No mirrors at all in the bedroom for hair or make up although there was a small mirror in the bathroom but no sockets close by that would allow my hairdryer (which has a very long lead) to reach.
No wardrobe just a metal clothes rail.
Tiny shower cubicle that somehow leaked as our floor would be soaking wet after each shower.
Noisy neighbours with noisy kids that woke us up each day and finally I think this room is above the kitchen as every morning we constantly listened to the pinging of the microwave and stirring of probably beans!!
Apart from that Torquay was most enjoyable and this did not spoil our weekend. Other rooms in this guest house may be 5* but not room 3.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bottle-blond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We can only judge our performance by comments and reviews by guests. Some of the comments made in this review are inaccurate. This room has been used 55 nights in the the months of June, July and August 2012 and we have had no complaints, either directly or as part of a review as you can see from the rest of our reviews. Some of our returning guests specifically ask for room 3.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#63 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abingdon House
Abingdon House
#34 of 149 in Torquay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#37 of 149 in Torquay
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#70 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#41 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberley Guest House

Property: Abberley Guest House
Address: Babbacombe 100 Windsor Road, Torquay TQ1 1SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abberley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest B&B in Torquay on the English Riviera, South Devon's Beautiful Bay. Convenient for Babbacombe and Torquay Centre, and ideally located for exploring beautiful South Devon and Dartmoor. 7 rooms, squeaky clean, very comfortable - all non-smoking, all en-suite. Ground floor rooms. Our Full English Breakfast will set you up for the day and if you want an early breakfast to make the most of your day that is not a problem here! Delicious evening meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abberley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abberley Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing