We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abberley Guest House
Ranked #105 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B+B”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another fabulous stay at Abberley Guest House this is the fourth time now and myself and my wife cannot fault the place. As soon as you arrive you are warmly greeted by Jackie and offered a cup of tea and she's always genuinely interested in what you've been up to, the place is spotless the breakfast is excellent and an added bonus this visit the other people staying there were an absolute scream, can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights . Jacky welcomed us with a cup of tea on arrival . Hospitallity was fantastic, breakfast was superb. Room exceptionally clean . We felt like we were at home..has to be one of the best B&B's we have stayed in & we have been all over the country. Can't praise Jacky & her daughter high enough.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Abberley when we came down for the Devon Pottery Collectors Meeting at St. Anne's Hall Babbacombe on Sunday 23rd February. Jackie was really helpful and kind - pot of tea on arrival, super breakfasts - and she is interested in the steam railways, as we are - in addition to the local Torquay pottery. We shall definitely be staying here when we come down for the next pottery meeting on 13th July - hopefully we'll stay longer this time too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely, friendly place to stay, very convenient for all attractions. Jackie is a superwoman, seeing to our every need. When she found out that it was our 25th anniversary, she left a bottle of red wine, 2 glasses and flowers in our room, how kind.
Breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased we were able to help make your 25th anniversary a pleasant visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just stayed at the Abberley and can honestly say a lovely place to stay. Our room was lovely and clean shower hot and a friendly welcome was made. We arrived late due to bad weather but a pot of tea welcomed us as soon as we arrived. The breakfast was superb beautifully cooked and we left with full bellies we will definitely be returning and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamega67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHREWSBURY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Going to a place I love (Torquay) means that everything has to be right, otherwise it spoils the whole time away. So returning to the Abberley is a must. When you arrive you are treated like an old friend, the kettles on, and you just feel at home.

During my previous four stays here, I have got to know Jackie and Dave well. As I also know some other former Guest House owners in the town, I can tell you just how hard they work to provide us with value for money we expect. So well done to them.

Breakfast is just amazing, and every day I set off on my "jaunts" full fuelled. (I joked that returning to the gym following my stay would be hard work).

The place is spotless. Credit to owners.

I would recommend the Abberley to anyone. I'm a football fan and my friends and I were recommended this place as its nearest the ground. I'm so glad we stayed here, and my repeat visits prove its quality.

It's location - a five minute walk from Babbacombe and Plainmoor, mean that your not to far from the main bus routes (believe actually a 65 now runs past the Abberley during the day). So avoiding the walk back up the hill is easy for those who don't want the challenge of Torquay's topography.

As a real ale fan, being not far not just from the Buccaneer but also the Crown and Sceptre in St Marychurch is just cracking.

All in all, a wonderful guest house that I so enjoying staying at, and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Always ask when booking about the room you will be staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVAP1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me & my friend have recently returned from a 4 night stay at Abberley Guest House. After reading so many good reviews I believed I was in for a warm welcome & hassle free stay, when infact I can honestly say that I had an unpleasant encounter with the owner of this guest house daily, putting a downer on every.single.day of my stay. I got the distinct impression that we were expected to be trouble from the moment we stepped in the door, maybe because me & my friend are both in our early twenties, I don't know, but regardless of our age or appearance I expect to be treated the same as any other paying guest.
The morning after our first night, we had slept in after a long early morning train journey the day before followed by a late night. When we were leaving the guest house to explore the town the next morning we could hear the lady rushing down the stairs to catch us in time to make a remark about what time we had got up, "oh so you do surface then girls" . Frankly I do not want to be criticised about what time I sleep in till when on holiday!!

The first night of our stay my friend bought a subway which she ate on the way home from a night out leaving the wrapper in our bin in the room. The next day we were told in no uncertain terms we were not allowed food in our room... which, granted, is my fault for not reading our terms & conditions more thoroughly but after an 8 hour train journey I was keen to just get into our room & relax, but the manner which we were spoken to was completely unnecessary. After finding this sandwich wrapper in our bin, we were then abruptly asked "and what is that stain all over the carpet?"...which seems very bizarre as nothing had been spilt on the carpet whatsoever. Apparently the worst of this stain had been removed, but the owner suspected it was "that fake tan you youngsters wear" which neither of us actually use, or "perhaps coffee" which neither of us drank, to settling on "some sort of beauty product you youngsters use".... The most we could see on this carpet was a tiny speck of dirt...short of making guests take their shoes off at the front door I see little else that can be done about tiny marks on cream carpets.

The reason for our stay was that a friend of ours was getting married locally. The night before the wedding we chose to stay in & have an early night. We were sat in bed talking amongst ourselves, and I stress not shouting across the room to one another, not shrieking and hollering, when in conversation one of us swore. Next thing, there is knocking at the door, the lady complaining "she can hear our bad language downstairs & to keep the noise down". To be fair she probably could hear our conversation as the walls were that paper thin neither of us could get a decent nights sleep due to traffic or hearing other guests moving around or speaking, but in the privacy of a room we have paid for I expect to be able to talk (using whatever language I please!) & watch tv at 9.30pm without being reprimanded and spoken to as if I was troublesome 15 year old!!

When booking the hotel I was aware it wasn't right in the town centre, I did expect a 10 minute walk. However, I did not anticipate this to be up and down a very steep hill. With shopping bags or after a couple of drinks it was a no go so the amount spent in taxis I feel would have been better used paying the extra to stay somewhere more central.

To give Abberley it's credit it did seem very clean (to the point where specks of dirt cause uproar on the carpet apparently). Although, there were at least 2 occasions were the owners had been in are made our beds, but not taken away or replaced any used towels or supplying any fresh glasses.

I understand that whereas some people find it friendly that the owners take interest in their guests comings & goings, but personally I would rather go about my business privately. I have never had to take photos of a room I've stayed in, to prove there was infact no stains on the carpet before. I was uncomfortable the duration of our stay. I do work in hospitality myself, & I can honestly say I was appalled at the way we were spoken to on numerous occasions. NEVER again.

Room Tip: Away from the road, the walls are paper thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank char181091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are a small family run guest house, and our other reviews say how friendly and helpful we are and they come from all age groups.
I could understand the comment ‘worst hospitality ever’ if you were dumped in your room, it was dirty, bedding and towels not clean, and I ignored you every time I saw you; but I did not. You were treated like all our other guests. I greeted you at the door, offered a drink, gave you written notes how to get to Babbacombe and Torquay. I explained about the local eating places, one of which you tried. I showed you the leaflets, where you expressed an interest in Pennywell Farm. I showed you to your room, and said if there was anything else you needed, to please let me know. On the day before the wedding I asked if there was anything you needed to help you get ready and you said your friend might need an iron.
Coming down the stairs from the floor above just as you happened to be going out in the afternoon, I said ‘Oh you do surface then’ but this was said in jest as I sometimes do to my own family and friends.
I asked politely if you knew what the stain was as something had been dripped on the carpet at the end of one of the beds. I did explain it would have given me an opportunity to ask other guest house owners if they had any advice for removing marks of that type as I had struggled to get it out. Instead of struggling with it, I could have left the stain on the carpet and billed you £500 to replace it, Make-up, fake tan, and hair dye are a constant challenge getting it out of bedding, flooring and towels. If the stain had been all over the carpet as you allege I said, the whole carpet would have been damp as I would have had to tackle it with the carpet shampooer
As for noise from other guest, the house is over 100 years old and the walls are substantial masonry. Your room was over the lounge and on the first two nights you were with us, there was only one other guest, on the Friday there were two rooms occupied as singles on the same floor as you, and three rooms on the floor below.
Your room was cleaned all three days, whatever time you went out. The towels were changed on the second day and you gave no indication you wished the towels to be changed again. As there were three bottles left on the unit, I changed the glasses but left them next to the tea tray as there was not enough room left on the bathroom shelves.
As you walked straight out on the Sunday morning I was unable to apologise if you were disturbed in the early hours of that morning when we required an ambulance. The crew did a fantastic job getting the patient out quietly, but unfortunately we have no control over the engine left running or the noise the tail gate made. I apologised to the other five rooms of which two were at the front of the house like yours. None of them had heard a thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#65 of 149 in Torquay
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abingdon House
Abingdon House
#38 of 149 in Torquay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#36 of 149 in Torquay
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#70 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#46 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberley Guest House

Property: Abberley Guest House
Address: Babbacombe 100 Windsor Road, Torquay TQ1 1SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abberley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest B&B in Torquay on the English Riviera, South Devon's Beautiful Bay. Convenient for Babbacombe and Torquay Centre, and ideally located for exploring beautiful South Devon and Dartmoor. 7 rooms, squeaky clean, very comfortable - all non-smoking, all en-suite. Ground floor rooms. Our Full English Breakfast will set you up for the day and if you want an early breakfast to make the most of your day that is not a problem here! Delicious evening meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abberley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abberley Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing