We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Hotel Concorde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Concorde
Ranked #77 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Just had five days at the hotel. Worst hotel i have ever stayed at. Dated grubby and needs alot of money spending to update. Meals cold,small helpings and most stuff cooked from frozen. Would not reccomend to my worst enemy. Over grown garden, i could go on and on

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed at the Concorde with National Hloidays. On arrival we were greeted by lots of tubs of dead flowers and a bucket of cigarette ends. The whole area needed a good sweep and tidy up. The hotel is very dated and tatty. There is a distinct smell of damp and boiled cabbage as soon as you enter the building. As we were given the key to our room we were asked to choose what we would like for evening dinner i wish we hadnt bothered. After the first evening meal we ate out the food was so bad and i just couldnt take to the tables being covered in pebble patterned plastic. The waiting staff were all teenagers that didnt have a clue, the breakfast wasnt much better. There were 2 children going table to table with a clip board asking what you wanted for tea (their exact words). Our room was large but tatty but it did have a lovely brand new bathroom with walk in shower.
The bar and entertainment area is down a flight of rickety steep stairs with no toilet facilities down there, so we were unable to participate in the free bar and socialise with our fellow travellers as i have severe mobility problems. This hotel is definitely not disabled friendly.
Would not recommend this hotel .
Our room

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baileysnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I spent 10 days at the Hotel Concorde with my Aunt in June and we had an excellent time. My Aunt has mobility problems and we were offered a room in an excellent location with a large walk-in shower. The hotel is a lovely building and I believe the owners have worked extremely hard to make it as welcoming and comfortable as possible. The pool area is relaxing and due to the gorgeous weather we had I made use of the (very clean) pool every day. All the staff were great especially the bar staff who we had a good laugh with every evening. The food was also good and I am hard to please being a fussy vegetarian! All in all a great hotel with good entertainment. I think we'll be returning this year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonnieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We have just returned from a pleasant long weekend at the Concorde. The hotel itself is very clean but tired looking. The terraces overlooking the pool are in desperate need of repair and the cutting back of bushes and shrubs etc. to make it more pleasant to sit outside. The room itself again needed a facelift but was very comfortable and clean with generous tea/coffee making facilities. We also found it to be very peaceful, great for a good nights sleep. The food was mediocre but enjoyable and the service first class. The entertainment varied each evening from excellant to passable depending on individual taste. The service at the bar was a bit hit and miss as the young man serving seemed a bit unsure of what he was doing. Finally the hosts Peter, Aillen and family were very attentive and made you very welcome. We would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Stayed here for two nights. Got their last available room, which we were very satisfied with, as almost every B&B in town were occupied due to tennis- and chess tournaments in town. We slept 5 in one large room, my daughter on a bunkbed, which she thought was okay.
The cleaning was not superb and we missed the opportunity to take a shower (only had a bathtub with no hose). But the kids loved the 25 degree pool.
The hotel is very worn (don´t know a better word in english), but it does the job.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Having read some truly awful reviews about this hotel that already appear on Trip Advisor, I was a little apprensive about my forthcoming visit to the Hotel Concorde. I stayed at the Concorde from Friday 20th February 2009 until Monday 23rd February 2009 for three nights as part of a National Holiday coach trip. The cost of the trip was £129 including all coach travel, three nights in the hotel, 3 hours free bar each night and breakfast and evening meal each night.
My review takes into account the excellent cost of the entire trip. Anybody expecting a five star hotel for that money has to be deluded.
We arrived at the Concorde around 5pm on the Friday evening. The hotel is run by a family (Mum, Dad and two daughters) and Dad greeted us on the bus with a few words of welcome. It took literally seconds to check-in and get our room keys. No filling out forms or hanging about. Our party of 5 friends had two rooms (numbers 27 and 28) which were both family sized rooms which could sleep 3 or 4 people. The rooms were quite spacious and had an excellent view. The beds were clean and comfortable and we had a bath in one room and a shower in the other. The hot water was always hot and always available instantly.
The hotel itself used to be two large Victorian houses, but they have been joined together to make one large building. There are some nice original features around the building, including stained-glass windows and original coving and plasterwork. There are some areas that were in need of a bit of care, but the hotel is generally well-presented and maintained.
At meal times you have your own dedicated table for the duration of your stay. The restaurant area was quite pleasant, but it did become a little hot at meal times.
The evening meals consisted of a starter (choice of soup or fruit juice) and then a choice of three mains courses plus a choice of dessert. The main course was always something quite basic. You've got to remember that many of the guests are pensioners and pensioners don't like exotic foods! The main course was accompanied each night with a tureen of 3 different vegetables, which included tinned carrots and frozen green beans (to name a couple). All of the food is very basic - don't expect haute cuisine - but it was always served quickly and it was always hot and well cooked.
Breakfast is at 08:30 each day, except the day of departure when it was at 08:00. There's a wide choice of fruit juice, cereals and an English breakfast. I don't feel it's appropriate to use the word 'full' English breakfast as there were no beans or black pudding during my stay!
The waiters and waitresses are mostly quite young people (students maybe?) but the service was always excellent. Each morning the two Daughters would take your order for that evening's meal. They were always polite and professional.
The hotel bar is located below ground down a flight of creaky stairs. The service was always excellent and the free bar each night included Fosters lager, Murphy's Stout, Strongbow Cider and a good quality branded bitter (can't remember which one). You could also have spirits (Sainsbury's own) with a mixer. No complaints about the drinks at all. The free bar ran from 7pm to 10pm each night.
The entertainment in the bar was the sort of thing I was expecting really. Think Phoenix Nights and you're more or less there. It probably kept the older folk happy, but our group (ages ranging from 25 to 45) ventured outside of the hotel each night for something a bit more lively.
The hotel itself is located about 20 minutes walk from the seafront and about 20 minutes walk (in a slightly different direction) from the main shopping areas. Taxis are very cheap in Torquay though!
All in all, it's excellent value for money - no doubt about that, but it's basic and a little old-fashioned. Would I go back? Definitely.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

this is the worst hotel i have been to with national travel,its dirty,grubby,on day one i spilt soup on table the cloth was still there friday,the bar down stairs is bad for older people you have a creeky stairway no toilets down there you have to go back up and up to the next floori landing we went into town but got taxi driver to pull up next door at premier inn,he knew we wernt staying there, as its happened before he satd it was a showing up just pulling up outside,there children taking our orders before school was'nt very proffesional either

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank margaretmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concorde

Address: 26 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Concorde 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde Hotel Torquay
Hotel Concorde Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing