We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nannys Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frognel Hall Hotel

Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frognel Hall Hotel
Ranked #63 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nannys Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had an excellant stay at this Hotel really comfy bed and nice hot bath luxery Stev and Angela were great hosts like staying with family friends very knowledgeble about the area. Food was very good. I loved the various names of the rooms and the history behind them.We stayed in Nannys room witch tickleded my grandaughter

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrag620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BOURNEMOUTH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have just come back from a weeks Bowling Tour to Torquay,Hotel is cold no proper heating, the shower in our room went hot and cold and hot and cold, individual heaters in rooms so they are warm, but public rooms are cold.Food is very average and never hot always tepid to cold, I like my food hot.Owners are very pleasent and will do all they can to help, place is just a bit run down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRANKMBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frognel, Owner at Frognel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for posting a review so soon after your return home. It does mean your visit is still fresh in our minds and allows us to consider your comments with a view to learning and improving for the future.
You can please some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time but you can’t please all of the people all of the time, and this is a case in point, I will quote from the card we received yesterday from your group’s organiser.
“Thank you so much for all your hard work and hospitality arranging our bowls matches, setting up the horse racing game- everything…your hotel is lovely, the food, the staff, comfort - love the log fire! THANK YOU SO MUCH and already looking forward to next March.”
I take it that you didn’t express your dissatisfaction to the organiser and I am sad that you did not talk to either Amanda, me or the staff, because, as you rightly state in your own comments, we would do anything to help and would have addressed your problems if given the chance.
Thank you for giving us good scores in most areas and please, if you go away again and have a problem with any aspect of service, either in a restaurant or a hotel, please, please, please tell someone so they have the chance to sort things out, it’s what we’re all trained to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Steve and Amanda are the most perfect hosts and gave us both 5 star treatment within this gorgeous hotel and grounds. We are well rested having slept well in the very comfortable four-poster bed in the Master's bedroom. Meals, as always, delicious with the added extra of a chef with ingenious ideas.

Room Tip: Try the Master's bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepperZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Although we live in Mallorca, we visit the family in the UK at least once a year my husband is originally from Torquay so he knows his way around. His mother, three brothers and families, also daughter and grandaughter still live in the area, also many old friends, so we have places to stay, but, like to spend time in a hotel., we found Frognel Hall in 2008, and were so enchanted by it, we have been back each year since. The owners Amanda and Stephen really could not be more charming and the staff are so helpful and friendly, we find the hotel very clean and comfortable, the food, and indeed the choice of food excellent, in fact, our last visit was to celebrate my husbands 65th birthday with his family, the chef did a splendid birthday luncheon which we all enjoyed tremendously. Thankyou Frognel Hall.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to The Masters room, beautiful ambience, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakifaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed here with my adult family for a murder mystery weekend in Oct 2011.I realise this is a 2 star hotel and was cheap but is was still below the standard we expected. My Husband and I were dissapointed with the tired, dated decor throughout that included peeling wall paper. The twin room my other family members had was very tiny and smelt musty. Our attic room was dated with a tiny bathroom room and shower that went on and off. The poor quality tv reception was from an indoor airial. We couldn't open the window in our room as the dresser was in front of it. The wardrobe wobbled when we touched it. The food was ok but the set menu for the evening required you to order it at breakfast and although the staff were friendly you felt very rushed whilst dining. The bar and lounge was also old and dated and not cheap for drinks either, we didn't really enjoy the murder mystery as it was mostly people telling us what had gone on, no real acting. The outside of the building was better than what was found inside.

Room Tip: Ask where your twin room is as one is right by the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frognel, Owner at Frognel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
First of all thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take all comments seriously and try to learn from them so that we can improve our guest’s experience at Frognel Hall.

This review was obviously very upsetting for all of us here as it’s so out of tune with our other reviews and I hope any prospective guests will look at all comments before judging us too harshly. Despite this review being fairly negative we can take some comfort from the fact that we have, at least, been given 4 out of 5 for value for money and cleanliness, which is exactly where we would want to be as a 2 star hotel and those 3 out of 5 scores are hardly bad for a 2 star hotel.

The Murder Mystery: - We don’t really have much say over the method of performance or particular plot the actors use and I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy it. However the group, I think you were with, have been a number of times before and have also booked again for next year. Feedback from many guests was also positive.

As part of a large group attending a theatre type event, requiring specific start and stop times, it was necessary to get everyone through the restaurant within a limited time frame. This did require guests attending to go to dinner at the same time and to give main course choices at breakfast. This ensures the food is cooked properly and is ready when needed and it also reduces waste in the kitchen.

I am sorry you felt ‘rushed’ in the restaurant, it wasn’t the intention but you may recall that it was necessary to clear the restaurant by a certain time, not only to enable the second act to start but also to allow the ‘victim’ to be killed and found in the restaurant! This isn’t possible if guests are lingering over a leisurely meal, or if staff are trying to prepare tables for breakfast around the ‘body’.
Normal theatre intervals are barely long enough to get a drink let alone eat a 3 course meal with tea & coffee!

Please note that, private guests booking as smaller groups or as individuals are not required to order their evening meal main courses at breakfast nor do they eat at a set time.

I am also sorry you were unhappy with the décor of apparently ‘the whole hotel’!!!

Whilst accepting that’ some rooms are not as good as we would like, we are going through the hotel, redecorating and upgrading where possible.
Our annual ‘Quality in Tourism’ visit occurred just a few weeks before the visit that prompted this review and our inspector was satisfied that we were actually nearer 3 star than 2 in many examined indicators and he was also satisfied as all inspectors have been that overall we are a good 2 star hotel.

The guests did not visit all the bedrooms and did not, therefore, see those rooms that have been completely redecorated within the past two years, nor those where bathroom improvements have been made, nor would they have seen the ‘Masters room’ containing ‘dated’ antique furniture of a very comfortable standard.
The bar is currently being redecorated at the time of this posting. The lounge and adjoining room were both redecorated in 2011!

It may be true that your particular room has not yet seen the redecoration needed and although we would love to completely refurbish the hotel in one go we cannot afford to do so, as you say we are cheap. Instead we decorate, fix and refurbish as much as possible within financial constraints.
I do hope you reconsider and give us a chance to show that we are improving and that, irrespective of star ratings, we are striving to make Frognel Hall the most calming, relaxing and pleasant place to visit, with the obvious exception of those Murder Mystery victims!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have just spent 5 days at the above Hotel, it was very comfortable and the owner made us feel at home, all the Staff were friendly. Being on my own, my bedroom was very small indeed, but warm and comfortable...I did envy the people who had a four poster bed, as I had to move my armchair around to get either into the bathroom or the wardrobe, but I do realise that single people are hard to cater for.
All in all this is a friendly, family run hotel and very good value.
Thanks Steve and Amanda.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErlanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

A group of us recently visited Frognel Hall for a Murder Mystery Weekend (October). I found dealing with the hotel when we booked it, right the the way through to our departure was all with ease. The hotel is situated on a hill with some of the rooms having lovely views over Torquay. My wife and I were given a 4 poster room (The Masters Room) which was really lovely and clean. I understand from the rest of the group that there rooms were very good as well. We found the owners Stephen and Amanda very helpful. We all enjoyed the food and the choices, we were there for evening meals and breakfasts. The weekend was also good value for money.
We all got into the swing of the Murder Mystery which was well acted and got us all really using the grey matter to try and solve the murders.
We enjoyed it so much that we are looking at doing another weekend sometime. Thanks Stephen, Amanda and staff for making our weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frognel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frognel Hall Hotel

Property: Frognel Hall Hotel
Address: Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frognel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Frognel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frognel Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing