We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Review”
Review of Frognel Hall Hotel

Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frognel Hall Hotel
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Hard to Review”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

In essence I want to score this hotel very highly but it has negatives.Value for money it can not be faulted. The quality of the food is more than acceptable and the owners and staff are both friendly and efficient. Despite being clean and tidy the state of decoration is tired in places and needs considerable ongoing attention. Our room was a good size but others in our party were less satisfied in that respect. I would use it again but remember it is a seaside hotel and not the Savoy.

Room Tip: Ask about the room size before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Once again, the band stayed at their usual hotel Frognel Hall, which as usual is a lot of fun, the staff are great, the food is great, it's a very attractive place to stay as well.

Also I had car trouble whilst I was there and Stephen gave me a hand getting her back up and running, as a fellow classic car enthusiast himself!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We regularly stay at at this hotel and have spent the New year here for a number years. This time we were decided to stay for the whole of the Christmas and New year break; we had a lovely relaxing time. The food was up to the usual high standard and the entertainment good. The owners, Stephen and Amanda, made us very welcome and we were very well looked after as usual.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfreton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just back from another Christmas and New year at Frognel hall. it is impressive that the standards are consistently high, Many places vary from visit to visit, but Frognel is always to the same high standard. Entertainment over this period was very good.The owners, Steven and Amanda have the ability to make every guest feel that they are the most important people to ever enter the Hotel. There are helpful, but not obtrusive, a rare skill. Freshly prepared food from local sources and comfortable surroundings make for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The public rooms have had some redecoration recently and the gardens are as attractive as ever, We have already booked two more holidays there!

Room Tip: All are good, ask for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidw613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We visited Frognel Hall in 2011 and decided we would go back in 2012 and we were not disappointed. This time 18 of us visited this great hotel for another Murder Mystery Weekend at the end of November. The rooms were clean and food was great, everything was so good that we are looking at planning to visit again in 2013. Stephen and Amanda who own the hotel were fantastic in helping me to organise the weekend and I had 100% confidence in their suggestions. We chose to pay extra and have a singer/entertainer on the Friday evening, this went down well with the group. We then again had a Murder Mystery evening on the Saturday night which was enjoyed by all. The weather for the weekend was terrible, but this did not stop us enjoying another lovely weekend at Frognel Hall. Thank you Stephen & Amanda for making it such a good weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel was clean and tidy although a little dated (we stayed in "nannys room) and could do with a bit of mondernisation, rooms got very cold during the night and the constant heat clicking on and off was a bit of annoying.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, we stayed dinner bed and breakfast.
The evening meal was ok food all warm and fresh, breakfast could be improved but ok (toast was a bit like tesco value bread)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Every year (or at least for the last two years) we make it a point to go to Torquay during the Agatha Christie Festival. We're (mostly me) such big fans and this is a great way to get your fix. This year we decided to stay at the Frognel Hall Hotel because they offered a fantastic two night package which included 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, a murder mystery interactive play and of course a lovely room. All for an absolute bargain price!!

We can't say enough nice things about this place. Frognel Hall sits on top of the hill on an enormous estate and is one of the prettiest Victorian mansions I've ever seen. Very tastefully decorated (in some parts) but in some others it's a bit dated. I can guarantee you that it makes no difference at all because the atmosphere, location, tranquillity of it all makes up for anything it might be lacking in way of décor. The owners, Stephen and Amanda were extremely helpful, cheerful and always available to help out. We unfortunately arrived late on Friday night because we hit the motorway parking lot from London - otherwise known as the M3 - and got in just after 8:00 which meant we missed most of dinner. Amanda was kind enough to offer to make us something but we decided to go into town instead.

The dining room is quite pleasant and large - typical design for a B&B. The lounges and sitting rooms are also quite large and you wouldn't struggle to find a place to sit even with the hotel being full. Our room was called Sarah's Room (??I think), and although it was a very spacious, clean and nicely decorated room, it wasn't as nice as some of the others. Having said that though, we weren't fussed about it in the least as we hardly spent any time in there over the weekend. All you need to know is that it was clean, bright, and unbelievably quiet.

The meals (both breakfast and dinner) were very nice. Big portions and quite tasty. Service was phenomenal, always with a smile and very eager to cater to every request.

The murder mystery was absolutely the campest, funniest, most entertaining thing I'd seen in a long time. It made the weekend so much more fun!! We'll definitely do another murder mystery there again!!! At the end of the murder mystery, after all the guests had retired for the night, we decided to stay back and have another bottle of wine and were pleasantly joined by Stephen. We had such a fantastic night, sharing stories, having a great laugh and some good wine.

Any other time we go to Torquay we will most definitely stay here again and again. We highly recommend it to everyone!!! This hotel deserves more stars than it has. Beautiful location, beautiful building, great hosts, and only a few minutes walk from Meadfoot Bay or the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frognel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frognel Hall Hotel

Property: Frognel Hall Hotel
Address: Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frognel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Frognel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frognel Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing