We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return to frognell hall”
Review of Frognel Hall Hotel

Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frognel Hall Hotel
Ranked #65 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
“return to frognell hall”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Once again a super holiday at the frognell hall hotel, we live in Majorca but try to get over to Torquay to see family and friends at least once a year, and have for the past few years stayed at this hotel, why change when you always have such a good time?
We have had two parties over the last couple of years which have always been beautifully catered for, so where else to have my special 60th birthday, we had thirty guests to a finger buffet,which could not have been beter, then MAC came along to sing the night away, absolutely wonderful, thank you so much Mac and of course owners Amanda and Steven for making my birthday so special. Hope to see you again soon.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindakifaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just returned from our fourth very enjoyable 9 days stay at Frognel Hall Hotel.
The standards are consistently high and in our opinion Frognel merits a higher star rating.
Stephen and Amanda are fantastic hosts who do all they can to ensure their guest's have an enjoyable stay.
On this visit we stayed in the Masters Room,which is a lovely spacious room charmingly furnished with an extremely comfortable four poster bed.
Food is of a very high standard,breakfast is first class with plenty of choice.
We have always chosen to have dinner at the hotel simply because the food is so good.
The well chosen menu's provide excellent variety of dishes and we were always spoilt for choice.
Thank you Stephen and Amanda for making our holiday so enjoyable and we very much look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

In essence I want to score this hotel very highly but it has negatives.Value for money it can not be faulted. The quality of the food is more than acceptable and the owners and staff are both friendly and efficient. Despite being clean and tidy the state of decoration is tired in places and needs considerable ongoing attention. Our room was a good size but others in our party were less satisfied in that respect. I would use it again but remember it is a seaside hotel and not the Savoy.

Room Tip: Ask about the room size before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Once again, the band stayed at their usual hotel Frognel Hall, which as usual is a lot of fun, the staff are great, the food is great, it's a very attractive place to stay as well.

Also I had car trouble whilst I was there and Stephen gave me a hand getting her back up and running, as a fellow classic car enthusiast himself!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We regularly stay at at this hotel and have spent the New year here for a number years. This time we were decided to stay for the whole of the Christmas and New year break; we had a lovely relaxing time. The food was up to the usual high standard and the entertainment good. The owners, Stephen and Amanda, made us very welcome and we were very well looked after as usual.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfreton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just back from another Christmas and New year at Frognel hall. it is impressive that the standards are consistently high, Many places vary from visit to visit, but Frognel is always to the same high standard. Entertainment over this period was very good.The owners, Steven and Amanda have the ability to make every guest feel that they are the most important people to ever enter the Hotel. There are helpful, but not obtrusive, a rare skill. Freshly prepared food from local sources and comfortable surroundings make for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The public rooms have had some redecoration recently and the gardens are as attractive as ever, We have already booked two more holidays there!

Room Tip: All are good, ask for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We visited Frognel Hall in 2011 and decided we would go back in 2012 and we were not disappointed. This time 18 of us visited this great hotel for another Murder Mystery Weekend at the end of November. The rooms were clean and food was great, everything was so good that we are looking at planning to visit again in 2013. Stephen and Amanda who own the hotel were fantastic in helping me to organise the weekend and I had 100% confidence in their suggestions. We chose to pay extra and have a singer/entertainer on the Friday evening, this went down well with the group. We then again had a Murder Mystery evening on the Saturday night which was enjoyed by all. The weather for the weekend was terrible, but this did not stop us enjoying another lovely weekend at Frognel Hall. Thank you Stephen & Amanda for making it such a good weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#43 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frognel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frognel Hall Hotel

Property: Frognel Hall Hotel
Address: Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frognel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Frognel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frognel Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing