We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic..... highly recommend :-)”

Oscars Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oscars Lodge Guest House
Ranked #113 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Best hotel we have ever stayed in, rooms were lovely, location was perfect..... close to town and beach, both within walking distance. There are restaurant's, bars, take aways and shops nearby so it's perfect if you don't have a vehicle. What made the stay so perfect though was the owner who was so welcoming and friendly, absolutely fantastic woman! Will be definately going back as soon as we can and can't wait to see her again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misskwilliams73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

i work in a local hotel in torquy and when we are full we send them to oscars lodge and they allways come bk to me and let me know what they thought of ocsars lodge and all i have had is very pleased customers which have said it was a very nice place clean and tidy and the landlady was very helpfull and pleasant and they would visit again so go and visit for yourselfs and make your own minds up about oscars lodge

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven4444591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

After reading the other two reviews on Oscar's they were nothing like the experience we had. We arrived in Torquay late in the evening. It was after the Bank Holiday weekend so all local hotels and B&Bs we may of chosen were fully booked. A Hotel sent us to Oscar's which is rated a two star Guest House and one of the only places in the area with vacancies... strangely. But our first thought was we had got lucky.

We were not expecting the Ritz and the room was basic which was not a problem. The problem was it just wasn't clean enough to feel relaxed in. The bathroom floor was not swept, used soap, damp stained towels and hairs in the bed. Once in the bed we both started to feel as if we were being bitten all over. We ended up sleeping above the sheets which gave some relief but it was a very cold and uncomfortable night.

Giving some credit to the owner we ended up getting half our money back. I would say our overall impression was Oscar's was just too big for her to manage effectively on her own. I'm just hoping our feed- back will help make things better for future paying guests. But as it stands I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SophiaS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

After a long drive found the hotel no bother.
Stayed one night but if time was on my side would of stayed longer.
Very warm and friendly feeling to the place.
Would return and recomend a stay to freinds.
THANKS

Room Tip: Stayed in high class hotels and low class b&b all over the world and this beats any by fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Had a weekend break here, hotel is fantastic. Clean, tidy and very friendly. Food was excellent, will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren336699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscars Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscars Lodge Guest House

Address: 56 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscars Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodation consisting of 2 single bedrooms,2 double bedrooms,2 family bedrooms all en-suite.Prime location to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oscars Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscars Lodge Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing