We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Great Hosts”

Gresham Court Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gresham Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just back from 4 nights stay at The Gresham Court Hotel in Torquay. David and Helen were great hosts and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. John, our waiter, was most efficient and helpful, the best I have come across in a long while. The rooms are a little dated but are built of masonry which makes them very quiet, not like rooms where the walls are made of plasterboard and one can hear snoring from the next bedroom. Breakfast and evening meals were served in a dedicated Dining Room. Breakfasts consisted of a choice of three starters, cereal, porridge and orange juice (some guests had all three) a main course of full english breakfast, including black pudding. Tea and coffee, and as much toast and marmalade as you wanted. Evening meals consisted of three starters, two mains + three salads and three desserts, these varied everynight except the three salads. Tea and coffee were in ample supply and wine was available to purchase if required. Meals were more than adequate and empty plates taken away by the waiter. Evening enterainment was provided by our hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

To Helen and David than you for a lovely stay the room was nice and clean and food was excellent and the entertainment was good and how nice and friendly you both were you made us feel at home we will try and come again thank you again Sandra and mick from the Angela coach party love to you both xx

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is what I would class as a 'basic' hotel, all the rooms that I could see were rather dated and tired in appearance. However the rooms were clean with nice new flat screen TV's, the bedlinen and towels were spotlessly clean and soft, and the beds extremely comfortable.
The food was good old plain home cooking, it was hot, tasty and perfectly acceptable in quantity and choice.
The staff including the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and always happy and willing to help if they could.
Overall we have enjoyed a relaxing 4 night break here and although the hotel may be lacking in some areas, it makes up for it in plenty of others.
Value for money, a sense of welcome and relaxation definately!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

how very dissapointed with this hotel after reading such good reviews all i can say this hotel was completely a dissaster all that was promised such as a welcoming drink and pies never happened the bar only opened after dinner the food was appalling cold not presented good when you eventionally received it very small more like a childs portion new years eve galla dinner is not worth mentioning it was suppose to be an 8 course galla dinner which did not materealise i sat down for my mealat 6 30 and at 8 30 still had not receive my 3rd course i actually got fed up waiting i got up to walk out as a guest starting to be sick all over the dining room floor and this was the start of several other guest coming down with sickness going back to new years eve we had nothing on the table such as hats all that was given was 1 blower and1 popper i felt we were being treated like children i holiday on new year eve at different hotels at various places and can honestly say hands on heart this was the worst and would advice people to think twice before booking this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a lovely holiday in Gresham Court. David and Helen are lovely people who really know to make you feel at home. We had so much fun with some entertainment nights. Some people left their shoes in the bar and found them the next day. Lovely place. I would certainly recommended this place to my friends. Sometimes you feel like you are IN a Fawlty Towers episode.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Myself husband and two friends,booked this hotel for the new year ,what a disappointment . The hotel was run on a shoe string,The food was never hot ,the gala dinner was a joke if you only chose four courses off the menu( 1-4-6-8) you had to wait until all the other courses were served in between and cleared away before you were served, what a shambles After noon bar non existent .Evening bar opened by the owner after the evening meal was finished A number of people were sick one in the dining room( ugh.) RUBBISH

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have traffic noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Myself my wife my sister and my brother in law booked this hotel for a new years break 2012/2013 on the good reviews on tripadvisor, what a dissapointment. We were told that there would be drinks and mince pies on arrival, NOTHING we were told that we could get a drink at the bar in the afternoon and were told by the owner that there were plenty of bars in town.The people that wrote that it was a nice hotel must be easily pleased the food that they served was not that appertising, they told us that on new years eve we would have an 8 course dinner what a load of unedible rubbish was served to us a few persons acctually walked out of the dining room including the driver of our coach.The oners of the hotel were not very helpfull in fact we thought that they were very ignorant they ran out of drinks, their sevice was terrible ro say the least and they did not clean our rooms all the time we were there. on new yeas day quite a number of people were sick and they all put the fault on the food. after staying at this hotel for 3 nights we were glad to get home, this is the only hotel that we have stayed in that we never gave a tip. Gesham court Hotel RUBBISH

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrivno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Court Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Rd., Torquay TQ1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Gresham Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing