We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mind the Steps” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gresham Court Hotel

Gresham Court Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gresham Court Hotel
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mind the Steps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Greasham Court in mid April, our first floor front double room (No; 24) was well furnished with a comfortable double bed, 3-door wardrobe, 3-draw chest, 2 comfortable chairs, en-suite, with dated shower, and creaky floorboards.

The food was well cooked, and served, with a choice of menu each night. The entertainment was excellent.

The hotel runs with minimum staff, so David and Helen are always on hand to attend to any problems.

The downside was the restricted step-free areas, we traveled with a Over 60’sgroup, age range 60 – 90 and a third of the group had some degree of walking difficulty, access from reception to the small and dated lift was via a flight of steps, the lower ground floor dining room presented the same challenge.

So I give it 4 stars

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

First i must start thanking David and Helen for being great hosts. and thank them for doing all they can to make sure you have a great holiday . The food was delicious and a good choice of vegetarians meals .It was are first time at this hotel but not are last. You was welcomed from the time we arrived to the time we lelt . THANK YOU .

Room Tip: we were in room 9 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terence f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

What a fantastic holiday! This is our second time at the Gresham Court Hotel, and it is fabulous! David & Helen are great hosts - they cannot do enough to make your stay warm and welcoming. The hotel itself is lovely - spotlessly clean, the rooms are lovely. The bed was so comfy. The food is absolutely delicious & plentiful. Great entertainment every night. We will definitely be back & definitely recommend. It was like leaving friends, and we can't wait to visit again. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just back from 4 nights stay at The Gresham Court Hotel in Torquay. David and Helen were great hosts and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. John, our waiter, was most efficient and helpful, the best I have come across in a long while. The rooms are a little dated but are built of masonry which makes them very quiet, not like rooms where the walls are made of plasterboard and one can hear snoring from the next bedroom. Breakfast and evening meals were served in a dedicated Dining Room. Breakfasts consisted of a choice of three starters, cereal, porridge and orange juice (some guests had all three) a main course of full english breakfast, including black pudding. Tea and coffee, and as much toast and marmalade as you wanted. Evening meals consisted of three starters, two mains + three salads and three desserts, these varied everynight except the three salads. Tea and coffee were in ample supply and wine was available to purchase if required. Meals were more than adequate and empty plates taken away by the waiter. Evening enterainment was provided by our hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

To Helen and David than you for a lovely stay the room was nice and clean and food was excellent and the entertainment was good and how nice and friendly you both were you made us feel at home we will try and come again thank you again Sandra and mick from the Angela coach party love to you both xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is what I would class as a 'basic' hotel, all the rooms that I could see were rather dated and tired in appearance. However the rooms were clean with nice new flat screen TV's, the bedlinen and towels were spotlessly clean and soft, and the beds extremely comfortable.
The food was good old plain home cooking, it was hot, tasty and perfectly acceptable in quantity and choice.
The staff including the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and always happy and willing to help if they could.
Overall we have enjoyed a relaxing 4 night break here and although the hotel may be lacking in some areas, it makes up for it in plenty of others.
Value for money, a sense of welcome and relaxation definately!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

how very dissapointed with this hotel after reading such good reviews all i can say this hotel was completely a dissaster all that was promised such as a welcoming drink and pies never happened the bar only opened after dinner the food was appalling cold not presented good when you eventionally received it very small more like a childs portion new years eve galla dinner is not worth mentioning it was suppose to be an 8 course galla dinner which did not materealise i sat down for my mealat 6 30 and at 8 30 still had not receive my 3rd course i actually got fed up waiting i got up to walk out as a guest starting to be sick all over the dining room floor and this was the start of several other guest coming down with sickness going back to new years eve we had nothing on the table such as hats all that was given was 1 blower and1 popper i felt we were being treated like children i holiday on new year eve at different hotels at various places and can honestly say hands on heart this was the worst and would advice people to think twice before booking this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#102 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#98 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Court Hotel

Property: Gresham Court Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Rd., Torquay TQ1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Gresham Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing