We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best torquay break yet”

Gresham Court Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gresham Court Hotel
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best torquay break yet”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

the gresham court hotel is a budget hotel worth a visit . the hotel is slightly dated but the service is excellent dont expect 5 star for the price and you wont be disappointed the hoteliers are the best couple you could expect to meet they work very hard and try their utmost to please. the welcome was great as was the goodbye now can genuinely call these friends .the food was excellent and good size portions .though dated cleanliness and room conditions excellent keep up the good work helen and david. will definitely return. helen assures me that she is updating all the rooms as an ongoing project and hopes for the standard to just keep getting better seeing the comitment of these people i can well believe this and maybe can soon see this as an old building with a modern room standard.thank you for a great holiday jim and viv

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I spent six nights at the Gresham Court Hotel.
Really had a great time, Owners David and Helen were very friendly and made me and my wife very welcome, they worked really hard. Our room was pleasant, with clean linen and a lovely bed, and a really good shower.
The food were well presented, well cooked and plentiful. Table service was excellent and quick, thanks to both David and Helen, and our very attentive waitress.
Nothing seemed too much trouble, if you wanted something different for breakfast or dinner other than on the menu, it was no problem. There was a good choice each day, and the full English breakfast was was just that, plenty of tea and toast with cereal, porridge or fruit juice to start, in my opinion the whole dining experience was like that of a very good restaurant. There is a well appointed quiet lounge with comfortable chairs. The price of alcohol was not overpriced, like some Hotels.
The rooms at the front do face onto the main road, however it quietens later in the evening.
The only issue would be the few steps from the lobby to the lift, if you find steps a problem.

It is only a short walk to the town and main bus stops, so, handy for exploring the area.
Overall a very clean .comfortable and friendly Hotel, we enjoyed our stay, well the worth the money and would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms the front do suffer from road noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010Barney15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel was very clean and overall the meals were very good. The only meal that we were a bit disappointed with was on the Friday evening when we arrived, the chips and scampi were both very hard, after that though the meals could not be faulted. The owners could not do enough for you and were very friendly. On the Saturday night there was entertainment in the hotel and the singer was vey good. The drinks in the bar were reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Greasham Court in mid April, our first floor front double room (No; 24) was well furnished with a comfortable double bed, 3-door wardrobe, 3-draw chest, 2 comfortable chairs, en-suite, with dated shower, and creaky floorboards.

The food was well cooked, and served, with a choice of menu each night. The entertainment was excellent.

The hotel runs with minimum staff, so David and Helen are always on hand to attend to any problems.

The downside was the restricted step-free areas, we traveled with a Over 60’sgroup, age range 60 – 90 and a third of the group had some degree of walking difficulty, access from reception to the small and dated lift was via a flight of steps, the lower ground floor dining room presented the same challenge.

So I give it 4 stars

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First i must start thanking David and Helen for being great hosts. and thank them for doing all they can to make sure you have a great holiday . The food was delicious and a good choice of vegetarians meals .It was are first time at this hotel but not are last. You was welcomed from the time we arrived to the time we lelt . THANK YOU .

Room Tip: we were in room 9 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terence f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

What a fantastic holiday! This is our second time at the Gresham Court Hotel, and it is fabulous! David & Helen are great hosts - they cannot do enough to make your stay warm and welcoming. The hotel itself is lovely - spotlessly clean, the rooms are lovely. The bed was so comfy. The food is absolutely delicious & plentiful. Great entertainment every night. We will definitely be back & definitely recommend. It was like leaving friends, and we can't wait to visit again. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just back from 4 nights stay at The Gresham Court Hotel in Torquay. David and Helen were great hosts and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. John, our waiter, was most efficient and helpful, the best I have come across in a long while. The rooms are a little dated but are built of masonry which makes them very quiet, not like rooms where the walls are made of plasterboard and one can hear snoring from the next bedroom. Breakfast and evening meals were served in a dedicated Dining Room. Breakfasts consisted of a choice of three starters, cereal, porridge and orange juice (some guests had all three) a main course of full english breakfast, including black pudding. Tea and coffee, and as much toast and marmalade as you wanted. Evening meals consisted of three starters, two mains + three salads and three desserts, these varied everynight except the three salads. Tea and coffee were in ample supply and wine was available to purchase if required. Meals were more than adequate and empty plates taken away by the waiter. Evening enterainment was provided by our hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Court Hotel

Property: Gresham Court Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Rd., Torquay TQ1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Gresham Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing