We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing fun place to be”

Gresham Court Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gresham Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing fun place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thanks to the efficient lift found it easy to get around this quaint hotel with stairs in odd places .
Delightful and helpful hosts. Was visiting from Canada and was impressed with prompt and hot food, ample and nicely presented. Beds very comfortable . An enjoyable 5 days spent in Torquay.
.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for three nights, Friday Saturday and Sunday. The 3 course evening meals were varied and substantial, the breakfasts were also plentiful hot and freshly cooked. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and owners. Yes some of the rooms are a little dated but Helen and David are upgrading them room by room. Modern flat screen tv's in all rooms and a comfy bed, clean and tidy with fresh towels and bedding, what more do you need. Helen and David put on live entertainment in the form of a singer as an unexpected bonus on the Saturday night. At the end on the evening they both joined in with the singing and dancing until later into the evening. They were up again at 6.00am preparing breakfasts. They did everything and more to make sure all the guests had a good time. They even waved off the coach as we left on Monday morning.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front by the road, although did not bother us there is some road traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a really nice family run hotel, very good food, with daily choices.Our room was spotless, large and a very `cumfy` bed. The staff were friendly and helpful.,Helen and David organised a coach and a visit to Babbacombe Theatre for all interested , it was a very good show ,entertainment better than the T.V.!!
There are a lot of stairs ,but a lift is available to all floors .
The Hotel is situated up a steep road from the harbour not suitable for people with mobility problems, although the local bus stops almost on the doorstep.
We had a lovely 5 day holiday,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PamalecScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Bus trip, lovely hotel, lovely staff, reasonable food. Rooms spacious but a bit dark. David's wife is a gem, but he needs to loosen up a bit!! Very regimented set up, no flexibility, we are on holiday after all. Kept quoting how little we were paying for our holiday, well, we help keep him in business!!, he would do well to remember that!!. Overall we had a great time, but I wouldn't stay at Gresham court through choice. Margaret is great, and couldn't be more helpful, but David's attitude + manner is intimidating and off putting. Sorry guys, you asked for honest review :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tb12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

After staying at this hotel, we can only say how relieved we were to get home!
Rooms were dated and dirty, holes in the door and walls of our room. Our shower did not drain away properly. Food was repetitive and evenings meals you were asked to choose whilst still eating your breakfast. As nearly all our coach party had mobility problems, it certainly is not a suitable hotel. All meals served down a basement access stairs are step and narrow. After using the lift you end up walking through the kitchen. No phones in rooms in case of emergency so keep your mobile on charge! We felt it was run on a shoestring, the host did not have any people skills especially if presented with a problem, such as out of date drinks.
We could not fault the driver Steve, nothing was to much trouble, he was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food excellent, hot and well cooked [none of this modern 'al dente' nonsense]. Helen and David worked tirelessly and could not do enough for us but I did feel that they could do with a bit more help, to ease their workload if nothing else.
Many of the people in our group are 'mobility challenged' and although we were told the hotel was disabled friendly we did not find it particularly so. There was a lift but on almost every floor when leaving the lift it did involve either going up or down a number of steps, particularly when going down to the dining room, and many of our group found this very difficult, although I have to add that the staff were always there willing to give a helping hand if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

just returned from the gresham court hotelwith my sis i spesk for us both helen and david are without doubt the best hosts ii have met and have become good friends their hotel is spottless rooms are great the food is brilliaht david and helen cannot do enough for you nothing is to much trouble we also met a great crowd of people from peterborough entertainment is great we had a brilliant time and we will be back

Room Tip: all the rooms look good there are ground floor rooms if you are less mobil but also a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickrichards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#100 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Court Hotel

Property: Gresham Court Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Rd., Torquay TQ1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Gresham Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing