We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Enjoyed our third stay with TLH which represents excellent value for money with far more facilities than most other 3* hotels
The rooms are traditional but are clean and well serviced
The food is of good quality for the rating and breakfast has an excellent choice
The staff are only too happy to help
Must admit we didnt really enjoy the evening entertainment as choice was limited but we have been during peak months when it was a lot better
The hotel is also well placed for access to Torquay with a short walk to the sea-front and a fairly level walk into the town center if you walk straight across via the back streets

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are quieter and obviously have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

As a 3 star hotel we aim to provide comfortable accommodation, excellent customer service, good food and a range of facilities, which give our guests great value for money. From your review it would appear we ticked all the boxes for you, which is excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Carlton Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    238
    61
    16
    6
See reviews for
222
129
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The room was good with views over the Bay. The leisure activities were enjoyed by the children espcially the pool and Submarine play area. The Service was good. We enjoyed our meals - a good selection at breakfast - although i felt that the childrens' menu could be imporved as it was very limited: to chips beans and peas; fish fingers, whales, dinosurars. Tobay has amble tourist attractions and there are sandy beaches for building sandcastles. One the whole we had a good thre day break and have booked for next year

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

I am glad that the whole family enjoyed themselves and that you have re booked for next year.

We operate a children’s buffet over the summer with favourites like chicken nuggets and fish fingers, we also provide other home cooked options such as pasta and spaghetti bolognaise on most evenings. Children are also more than welcome to choose from the main menu and salad choices.

When you stay with us next year if you would like alternative meals for the children do not hesitate to speak with the Restaurant Manager as we are more than happy to arrange meals that are not on the menu.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Staff very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you. This applied to the whole of TLH not just the Carlton Hotel. Earlier review mentioned about damaged equipment in the Arena Games, we experienced problems with the basket balls late one evening, mentioned it to staff, problem was rectified by the next day. Can't ask for anything more!
Thanks for a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchytooth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you posting your feedback on your recent stay.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We went as a family of 5 with 3 children aged 9, 3 and 1. We stayed at the Carlton Hotel in a family room with bunk beds which was spacious and very clean. We were half board and the food was great - something for all of us (and we are fussy eaters!!). The waiters were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble.
The entertainment team were brilliant - all our kids loved it, as did we.
We were lucky with the weather so were out and about during the day - although the kids would have loved to have stayed at the hotel all day to use the kids club and the soft play area which is fantastic.
I can't find any fault with the hotel at all - I only wish we had gone for longer and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

I am so pleased you had an excellent and enjoyable stay with us this summer.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The rooms a little bit on the small side & a little dated with the decor.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your posting your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and had a good stay.

If you found our standard bedrooms a little small for your requirements then I would recommend one of our front facing rooms on your next stay which are generally more spacious and a stunning view looking out towards the sea.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We brought our grandsons (8+5). Everything from staff,. room, facilities and entertainment was faultless. We stayed at the Carlton last year, this year and we have re-booked for next year. An excellent venue for all ages, babies to seniors.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad you and the rest of your family had a great stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We should have realised that this was not going to be the holiday that we were looking forward to when we arrived in our "apartment". We noticed a card on the table saying "serviced by Julie."We never met Julie but she had not noticed that one of our three pans had food encrusted on the bottom whilst another was burnt black with bits flaking off the bottom.
In addition to the above the sheet on one of the beds was stained and one of the bedside lamps was not working. When we went to inform reception about these problems we were given a sheet and asked to change it ourselves as no housekeeping staff were on duty at 6 p.m!
At 8a.m. on the third morning of our stay my wife and I were awoken by voices and a loud bang. We opened the curtains of our ground floor bedroom to see two men and a large skip which they were starting to fill with refuse.
When we complained to the general manager about the delivery of a skip inches from our window, he said that he would speak to the maintenance manager and ask him not to start work loading the skip until 10 a.m! He said he could not move us to another apartment as they were all occupied.
We never saw or heard from the general manager again. When I told the assistant manager later that day how unhappy we were with the noise and overlooking a skip filling up with rubbish having paid £1106 for a weeks rental she offered to move us to a hotel bedroom. I wanted to take up the offer but my wife rightly pointed out that the main reason that we had hired an apartment was because we had our daughters friend on holiday with us and her parents were under the impression that she would be in a room with us. We told the manager that we expected a significant reduction in the rental charge when we checked out.
On leaving our bill was discounted by £100 less than 10% of the overall charge which we considered wholly inadequate and typical of the general lack of understanding of how badly let down we felt.
On the plus side the indoor pool, food,and entertainment were good.
The general manager should also look at the grubby plate glass panels and windows throughout the public areas. Tables were left for too long with used glasses from previous occupants. Waste bins in the toilets were overflowing with paper towels on more than one occasion.Big promises about family entertainment are fine but attention to detail is what really matters to most people.
If, having saved like us for your holiday and if a clean quiet room in a well serviced hotel are an essential part of your holiday ,this hotel, based on our experience , is probably not for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyholsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your stay.

I am very disappointed to read about the problems you encountered during your stay. As other reviews on this site highlight it is very rare for us to receive negative comments, especially about housekeeping issues. I was led to believe that my team had resolved your matter on check out, I apologise if this was not the case.

August is our busiest period on the Resort with over 1500 people on site every day and I am very pleased to say that we have had very little negative feedback from our guests over this time. Over 70% of our business is repeat bookings which tells us that we do get it right and people return to us over and over again. However, I do acknowledge we cannot get everything right all of the time, but we always aim to resolve issues when they happen.

I will contact you personally to follow up the matters you have mentioned and resolve them for you. We are a family owned business and we take all our customer feedback seriously to help us to continually improve what we offer, so thank you for bringing your comments to my attention again. I hope you will come back again in the future to see that what you experienced on this occasion is not our usual standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing