We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a tired old place”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a tired old place”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I know that these reports are very subjective but this place really is tired in the extreme.
The reception staff are friendly and effiicine tbut that's where the compliments end I am afraid. On stepping into the lift, one is given an insight into just how tried this place really is. The floor is filthy, the doors are inscribed - and the journey to the second flloor - which barely accomodates two people with luggage takes what seemed an eternity.

The carpets on the stairs are threadbare and the wall paper thorught the public areas is damaged and tatty. Lighting is poor.

Our bedroom was a triple, tucked away in a corner of the second floor. The widow opened on to a car aprking area which seemed more at home in an East Berllin movie - I expected Matt Damon to burst in through the window at any moment.

The furniture was similar but didn't match and the small 12 inch portable TV had first been watched by Noah who must alsoi have been left underwhelmed at the number of channels on offer. The bathroom was adeqaute although the shower produced little more than a trickle. The hand - towels were the size of tea towels and the bath-sheets were a joke. The room was overpoweringly warm.

The dinners we had were unimaginative and poorly cooked. On the first evening I had plaice which had been cremated inside breadcrumbs and then re-heated. Braekfats were a pathetic affair unless you like motorway greasy spoons. The offer of stewed prunes and grapefruit lacked all imagination and it would have been too 21st Century I guess to have offered cranberry, pomegranite or tomato juice.

My wife and I havce been to this "hotel" twice in the past year with organised parties - we wouldnt ever go there on our own - there are far too many competitors who try and work harder for my money.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markannzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel.

You are quite right in saying that reviews on trip advisor are subjective and everyone has different expectations about what they want from a hotel. On the whole our reviews on trip advisor are very positive about the Hotel, spa and facilities. Last week we had our annual undercover visit from the Hotel Inspector from enjoy England for our grading, I am really pleased to say that we were graded as a high 3 star hotel, which is fantastic.

The visit looked at things like quality of furniture and fixtures and fittings and overall he was impressed at the quality of furniture provided and general décor of the hotel and our bedrooms.

I do acknowledge some re decoration is required in one of our public corridors and this is scheduled for being improved, given we are open all year around, works which take out the use of public corridors do have to be carefully scheduled so as not to cause disruption. We have an ongoing upgrade programme and I am pleased to say that items like TV’s are currently being upgraded with flat screens with full freeview channels.

The lift at the Carlton is not the most high tech or spacious lift, but it is extremely reliable, serviced monthly and well maintained to ensure our guests have full lift access to all areas of the hotel, even if it is a little worn around the edges.

The food and service at the Carlton always score extremely highly on our guest comment cards. Our aim is to provide a good home cooked meal of 3 star standard that meets our guests tastes and expectations. I am pleased to say that last year 87% of guests rated food quality as excellent, which is higher than the previous year.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, but I do appreciate and understand that we will not suit everyone’s tastes, needs and requirements. I am proud to say that we are a family run hotel and have been in operation for over 50 years. During this time we have built up a business with a great reputation and have worked extremely hard to provide excellent customer service, great facilities and value for money. Again from comment card results last year 94% of guests said they would return to us again.

We always listen to guest feedback and take it on board in order to continually improve what we offer. I thank you once again from bringing your feedback and point of view to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    241
    63
    17
    7
See reviews for
226
131
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

good holiday like visiting old friends whenever you go, decor a bit faded but they are working ot make improvements year on year. Be prepared to go to other hotels on Sunday evenings for a drink as they quite often use bars in hotel for private functions and you have to go to one of other hotels for entertainment, all the staff are very friendly and do their best to ensure you have a good holiday

Room Tip: all rooms seem reasonable I suggest you ask not to sleep directly above kitchen / dining room as sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_worldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Carlton hotel.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with your Bowls group.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerleon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

wehad a lovely break at the carlton.The food accommodation and facilities were excellent. Only one criticism - The pool area was not adequately supervised because children were allowed to mess around in and out of the steam room spoiling it for adults who wanted to enjoy it. Obviously parents cannot be relied upon to look after their own children properly so you need to have an extra member of staff to police kids ! See what you can do please in time for my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortCaerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Carlton Hotel.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay, but I have noted your comments on children in the steam room.

Our lifeguards do try to monitor the wet areas, but we do rely on parents to be responsible, which is why we do not let under 16’s in the areas without a parent or guardian present. I have passed your comments onto my Pools Manager and lifeguards for their reference.

During your next visit should a similar incident occur please speak to the lifeguard on poolside and they will be able to intervene and remedy the situation by speaking with the children and parents involved.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Comfortable room, some decoration looking slightly tired. Food was of a very good quality with friendly accommodating staff. Hotel facilities were plentiful with an excellent themed indoor pool.
In general an enjoyable, comfortable stay, in a good location for walking to Torquay, Cockington village, and for the more enthusiastic Paignton.
Would recommend the Carlton, and will return for another visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Many thanks for posting your feedback on your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Carlton Hotel is one of four linked together and owned by TLH resort, which I believe is still family owned and run, not part of one the many big chains. It is clearly well used and so a little tired around the edges with well-worn carpets in the public areas and some of the decor needs improving BUT it is still well worth a visit. It must get very busy in the summer months but as we visited in early January it was resonably peaceful. We paid a little extra per night for a "Riviera Room" with a sea view and added the package which included drinks from the bar from 6.00 pm until 11.00 pm. Brilliant value! The food was excellent. At weekends the breakfast is buffet style but on weekday mornings it is cooked to order. Dinner in the evening had a reasonable choice for each course and was first class. Probably the best thing about the hotel though was the excellent staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for the Riviera rooms as you are away from the road and so it is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Our aim is to provide a great value, relaxing and enjoyable break with excellent service from the team. After reading your review I think we managed to tick all the boxes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Brenda W Had a lovely Spa weekend at the Carlton Hotel. Pool was excellent and the Aztec Spa was fab. The girls in the spa who give the treatments were very professional and welcoming and made me feel at ease, as I had never been before. The food was good and the staff were helpful and friendly We had a little trouble finding the way in to the pool but it's such a large complex I don't suppose we were the only ones!! The whole experience was great and I shall be returning next year for another pamper weekend. The aqua aerobics class was ace!! Very good value all round

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We have just spent 4 nights in the Carlton Hotel (for the 5th year running) and have had a lovely RELAXING stay. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the food is good and the leisure facilities are excellent especially the pool and Spa. The room are a little tired but what can you expect in a busy popular hotel. Cant wait for next January.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing