We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We keep going back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“We keep going back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have been to TLH several times & always stay at the Carlton. Never been disappointed. Rooms a good size and always clean. Restaurant food & service excellent, thank you Mike and his team. Entertainment great and we took our son who is 7 & enjoyed himself both day & evening. Pool also a bonus. Placed in an ideal location, not far from the front & town. We'll just keep going back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LubLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback about the Carlton hotel.

It is always great to read reviews from guests who keep coming back to the Hotel and enjoy everything we offer. It is even better to read such great comments about the team and service at the Carlton and I will ensure that Mike and his team see your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    236
    60
    16
    6
See reviews for
221
128
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice prior to this visit and it was a lovely stay yet again. The reception staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. The only problem with the room was that the bin in the bathroom was broken and the tv remote initially only had one battery! The food was very nice, particularly the breakfast buffet and children's buffet. The waiters, waitresses and manager were very friendly, efficient and helpful and made you feel special. This is a great family friendly hotel situated in a perfect location: 5 minutes away to the beach, not too far from the town and close to the other TLH facilities. I love this hotel and the whole of TLH and would love to return in the future. The only suggestion I would have is to have bigger televisions in the rooms and more channels, possibly freeview or something similar.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool_as_a_cucumber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for your Easter break.

I am pleased to read you all enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the team at the Carlton.

I have noted your comments about the bin and will ask Housekeeping to replace this. We are also in the process of upgrading televisions and all new ones have flat screens and full freeview channels, so hopefully on your next stay this work will be complete in all our bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had a great massage at the Aztec Spa today. This was our 3rd visit and was definitely the best so far. My husband had an Indian head massage and I had a Swedish back massage. Will return again and will request Steph, who was great

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowler10033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review for your Spa treatments at the Carlton hotel and Aztec Spa.

I am so glad you enjoyed them and I will ensure Steph reads your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more treatments in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carlton, food was good and very varied staff were accomodating and friendly Our room was really good, but as we paid a suppliment for a view we were a little dissapointed, half of the view was concealed by a roof and that was covered, i mean covered in bird droppings even the gutters were full and when we left our window open at night there were droppings inside the sill. Apart from that we would definetly stay there again. Decor could do with a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Dont book room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Carlton. I am pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the hotel, service and food.

I am sorry about the roof outside your room. Unfortunately being right by the sea it does mean we have a lot of birds perching around on the roofs. We are aware that the a small section of our flat roof does get messed upon and we do schedule cleaning of this area. I am pleased to say that the next clean up has been arranged to start on Mon 19th April, straight after the Easter holidays.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending a long weekend walking the south-west Coastal path around Brixham/Paignton/Torquay/Babbacombe - I stayed at the impressive Carlton Hotel with its excellent facilities, great food and helpful staff !! My room was perfectly furnished with an outstanding view over Torbay, as I was on the second floor and the hotel is up a Hill. The only downside was that the dividing walls of the rooms are thin, and at night you can hear some noise from guests in adjoining rooms or in the corridor. The card system on the doors is not foolproof, and members of staff often had to open doors for older people.However as the Hotel complex is very busy, one must expect a bit of noise from the guests as they return from their evening entertainment etc

Room Tip: ask for one with a sea view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Torquay and the Carlton Hotel are ideally situated to access the costal path and it is a beautiful area to walk and explore. I am glad you enjoyed it so much.

Thank you for posting pictures of your room view as well, it gives other people a good idea of the amazing view you have from our front facing rooms and I agree it is definitely worth paying a little bit extra for.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Four of us girls!! stayed recently for a spa treat and we had a lovely time as everyone was so friendly and helpful. The food was really good and being a vegetarian I sometimes find it difficult to find a choice of food but there were no problems here. We had a mix of facials and pedicures and the girls who treated us were lovely and did not expect us to buy the products which is something we have experienced before and find very irritating. We enjoyed the singing by the hotel singers but [and this is the only criticism] we found the comedy side a bit tired and not very acceptable for the 21st century.
However this is the second visit for two of us and we came with 2 new visitors this time and all of us will be returning again. Thank you Carlton Hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leesriggann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read you and your friends had a great stay and the team looked after you so well.

We always provide a home cooked vegetarian option each night on our menus and I am glad you enjoyed them.

We try to provide a variety of entertainment to suite the wide range of guest that stay on site each night. Everyone has different tastes and we aim to put something on that everyone will enjoy throughout their stay.

We look forward to welcome you all back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Torquay is a lovely holiday destination and The Carlton Hotel, part of TLH is a brilliant place to stay. Whether you're holidaying as a couple, a family or even alone the hotel has so much to offer, delicious breakfast & evening meals, friendly & helpful staff, entertainment, spa & fantastic swimming pools. Only a short walk from the beach, harbour & town its ideally situated too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms tend to be larger. You can also request upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review about your stay.

I am pleased that you enjoy the Hotel, the facilities and service we offer and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing