We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The time of our lives”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The time of our lives”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

3 generations of family have visited TLH over many years, myself for the first time 11 years ago. I bought my partner to stay at The Carlton for the first time in 2007, since he had also enjoyed a childhood full of memories n the English Riviera and he too fell for the charm and quality of this wonderful establishment.
On a personal level, it is rich with sentiment and happy memories, but for the wider audience, offers a breadth of facilities and entertainment in a jewel of a setting, with an outstanding team providing exceptional hospitality and attentiveness at all times. There are plenty of activities to enjoy, catering for all ages and tastes and in a wonderfully convenient and beautiful setting overlooking the bay.
Over the years, we have been amazed at how there have been welcomed into the hotel like old friends and how he staff have always managed to surpass our every expectation and it has become our home from home.
In April we bought over a hundred family and friends to share in our wedding day at a venue deeply entwined in our hearts and our backgrounds and without a doubt, we celebrated the best day of our lives for which we cannot possibly thank lee, joss, mark, mikke, Alex and the team at The Carlton enough.
Joss and her team made the planning and preparation so simple, particularly since we ourseves were 150 miles away, and took everything on board to create the perfect setting. They were able to accommodate our wide and varied demands For our guests, ranging from 3 months to 90+ in age, making everyone feel welcome and supporting the high spirits of the occasion. The day ran absolutely like clockwork and our guests too felt very much at home and deeply welcomed, sharing our high praise for a very special hotel and team who were willing to go above and beyond at all times.
You can travel far and wide and stay in 4 or 5 star hotels across the globe but will struggle to exceed the welcome and hospitality that you will find in the real English Treasure; thanks everyone - we'll be back again in a heartbeat and look forward to making many more memories in the years to come!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bambigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for your review about your wedding weekend we recently hosted at the Carlton.

I have shown your review to the team and they were really thrilled by your comments and that we made your weekend so special.

It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all and getting to meet your family and friends.

We know you will be returning again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes to you both for you future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    243
    63
    19
    7
See reviews for
228
135
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just got back from a 5 day break at Torquay wher we stayed at the Carltom which is part of the TLH complex with three other hotels(Derwent,Victoria and the Toorack).
We didnt book the hotel as it was part of a dancing weekend as n ormally we go for 4 of 5 satr hotesl but although the hotel is only 3 star the staff certainly gave 5 star treatment.The dining room staff in particular were very attentive and the service was excellent ,no waiting or compalints about cold food evrything ws just right and far better than some 4 or 5 star hotels I haved stayed in.
The menu consited of table de hote but also al la carte was availabe and you could pick any course from the al la carte and pay the supplement but we found that there was sufficeinet choice on the table de hote so we only usde the al la cate once.
The hotel is ideal for all ages as the complex has many daily and evening activities and entertainment.In the centre of the hotel's complex is an area calloed the Aztec Spa which contains swimming pools,plus psa facilities and a very good eating area that caters for snacks and meals.Whilst the weather wasnt very good while we were there,there is an outdoor pool area with plentyof room for sunbathing with adequate sun loungers.
In the afternoon there is tea and cakes served in the Derwent's Starlight lounge and various types of dancing if your up to it.
In the evening we had a private part for dancing on three nights but on the other two nights the evening entertainment was very good with a comedian/singer one night and a singer and very good comedy magician on the other.
We booked a room with a sea view( 205) and it was a family room with a double and asingel but it was clean and the bathroom was of a very good standard.If there was a small critcism it was that they didnt replenish the soap very well but as we had our own it didt matter the only other minor criticism I could make is that the stair and hall areas look a bot tired and need updating.
Otherwise I would recommend this hotel for all ages and particularly familes in the summer months.

Room Tip: I would choose a high floorwe were on the second and nobody was above us so no creaky floors and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay and thank you for the compliments comparing us to 4 and 5 star hotels you have previously stayed in.

All the team at the Carlton work hard to offer the best service we can to our guests and it is great to read comments like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

had very good stay nothing to much trouble food good staff very good

Room Tip: ask for bed room on swimming pool side and ask for lux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejohn424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay.

I am pleased to read everything met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have been to TLH on a number of occasions and pleased to say its standards haven't changed. We had a good choice of food both for breakfast and evening meal. All staff, restaurant, housekeeping etc., could not have been more friendly, helpful and cheerful, even when it was obvious they were a little short staffed. Some of the rooms and public areas are looking a little tired, but it didn't really affect us. Two things I feel could be improved, 1) breakfast is between 8 and 8.45 which I felt was a bit too short, perhaps could be extended to 9.15? and 2) Clubs using the swimming pool/gym meant that we as guests were reluctant to make use of the facilities as they were quite busy.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the sea are worth requesting. While our room wasn't the quietest, it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay and I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and my team looked after you so well.

Thank you for also highlighting the two areas you feel could be improved on. Our standard breakfast times are 8.00am – 9.45am everyday, not the 8.45 as mentioned. Our pool areas are very popular with hotel guests and members and their usage does fluctuate during the day. When you next stay if you speak to one of the reception team they can advise you of the times where the pools are a lot quieter and this may encourage you to take advantage of the fantastic pool and spa facilities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Brilliant Zumba weekend..Hotel room was clean and comfortable, and food was good.
We enjoyed the Aztec pool. Would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the recent Zumba weekend.

The weekend was a huge success and hopefully you will be able to come along to one of our future breaks we have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We originally booked into the Derwent Hotel for a weekend of celebration with friends and family for my husbands 60th birthday, we were moved to the Carlton Hotel as a large party was booked into the Derwent and I was advised that the Carlton would be the better option for us.
Unfortunately on the of the 60th birthday a wedding took place at the Carlton which overtook the whole hotel, at night we were ignored in the restaurant our meal took over 2hours it was a very poor meal and not a great choice, we waited over half hour for drinks as all staff were preoccupied
with the wedding party. I certainly would not recommend the Carlton very poor for a 3star

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
I have had a chance to discuss this personally with the guest involved and apologise for their disappointment.

We do our best to look after all our guests and we tried to make the 60th birthday feel welcome by decorating their section of the restaurant with banners and balloons. I am sorry that they were disappointed, but am pleased that after speaking to them the issues were resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury on Thames
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have been visiting TLH for the last ten years and have always found it to be excellent value for money. There is always a good choice at the evening meal, I dont think we have ever had a bad meal. Plenty of food at breakfast and again lots to choose from. The staff are always friendly, really polite and very helpful.

Evening entertainment is generally very good, with the resident KB Sounds excellent as usual.

The indoor pool, jazuzzi, sauna and steam rooms are brilliant for everyone of all ages. we used the pool nearly everyday of our stay. Our children were able to have a room of their own next to ours which was great for them and us as they are getting older.

Again another relaxing excellent holiday at TLH. Will definetly be returning. We recommend completely and have done to family and friends

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candlewicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

I am pleased to read you love coming to the Carlton and enjoy the food, service and facilities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,818 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,102 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing