We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab break at The Carlton”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is our fourth stay at the Carlton. Beautiful setting, lovely views over the swimming pool and out to sea. As always the staff are very friendly and helpful, food fab and wonderful facilities, especially the indoor pool complex.. We would like to say thank you to Mikki, Restaurant Manager, for always ensuring we have a great holiday. We will miss you and best wishes on his trip around the world. See you next year

Room Tip: The Riveria Rooms are well worth paying extra for, beautiful views
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I have passed your feedback onto Mikki and I am glad he looked after you so well.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for TLH Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed at the Carlton in Torquay for a Belly Spa weekend, lovely single room looking out over the sea. The Aztec Spa is wonderful, I had the fish feet experience where the feet are dangled into a tank containing fish that eat all your hard skin, a bit tickly at first but my feet were the smoothest they have ever been. A wide range of treatments available at very competitive prices. The food is good and the bar prices are very reasonable for an Hotel. The service is also ok. try it for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor about your weekend break.
I am pleased you had time to experience the Aztec Spa which is a great place to relax and be pampered.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel while on a bowls tour. We found the hotel clean and comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and friendly but also very professional. Our room was large and the beds were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfasts were ideal, catering for large or small appetites. The evening meals were well cooked and tasty. Because the weather was so good during our stay we did not need to use many of the facilities in the complex but there was certainly plenty to cater for all tastes. I look forward to coming back for a longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and I am glad that you had an enjoyable time.

We look forward to seeing you again, when hopefully you will be able to stay for longer and take advantage of our great Pools and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 day break at the Carlton. Food was lovely. We stayed on dinner, b&b and wasnt disappointed although it would have been nice to have a fruit salad and a selection of croissants in the morning. The room was very big and had everything we needed. The bathroom flooring had a split in it and the room was very hot but we were lucky enough to visit last week in the lovely weather. The indoor pools are amazing. Perfect for a 9 yr and 3 yr old and sitting around the outdoor pool actually felt like we were abroad (helped ofcourse by the lovely weather). We have stayed at the Grand Hotel 3 times now but preferred our stay at the Carlton. One thing that would make it perfect would be a heated out-door pool. My Husband jumped in it and I thought he was going to have a heart ache! We will definately stay at the Carlton again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and I have made a note of the couple of suggestions.

Last week the weather was fantastic and it was great to see the outdoor pool and sun terrace so busy, it definitely felt like we were in Spain.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed a weekend for a wedding in this hotel. The staff were very helpful in securing a disabled parking space even though we had not booked one. This helpful attitude continued throughout are stay. It is an excellent place for a child focused holiday, however it is not the most spacious of accommodation. Food was plentiful and adequate but the emphasis on mass catering for traditional British tastes. The leisure facilities in tha Aztec spa looked promising but half seemed to be out of use, steam room door broken and jacuzzi on permanent cleaning.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay and I am glad you had an enjoyable weekend and wedding.

Unfortunately the steam room has been out of order for a few days as a piece of safety glass was broken and we are waiting for the replacement to be manufactured and delivered. The Jacuzzi is operational, but we do clean it at intervals throughout the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Where do I start. Arrived at 7.15 after a 7 hour drive, parked up and had a walk around a deserted Torquay for an hour. Got back to the hotel expecting to be told that our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm but were upgraded and shown to our rooms immediately. Room was very clean and tidy, bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was a buffet style, the quality of food was very good. The food served for the evening meal was superb, good choice and excellent presentation. Staff were very friendly and pleasant throughout the TLH complex, but especially in the Carlton dining area. Large indoor pool was lovely, small pool was too warm. Our room was exceptionally warm but we paid a £10 refundable deposit for a fan from reception. Didn't really take in much of the entertainment apart from a few games of bingo and a couple of quizzes. Only gripe was that some lovely person bumped my car in the car park and did a runner, but that's the chance you take if you park anywhere these days. Anyway this didn't dampen our spirits that much as we've booked up for next year already.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfcengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback for your stay at the Carlton.

We put a lot of emphasis on good staff training and development and it is great to read comments such as yours. It makes it worthwhile when the team are delivering great service to our guests.

I am sorry to read about your car and that the person who bumped it was not honest enough to come and inform us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Went with teenage daughter. All staff friendly and helpfull. Some decor needs refurbishment but hotel clean and refurbishment underway without this being inconvenient. As always we had a great time. Food is good, pool complex excellent althhough too many lockers broken. Entertainment was variable and not attractive to a teenager (although she loved it as a child) but there was bowling, air hockey and good free wifi. We tried the spa for the first time and it was great. Aztec bistro really good now. All in all we had a great time and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I am pleased you and your daughter had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £80 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing