We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another fantastic holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
penzance
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“another fantastic holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

twelve of us have just had a fantastic five day stay at the carlton hotel, great food and brilliant entertainment, we have rebooked for next year, but some of us will be returning in september. my family and I have been coming to TLH for the past eight years and hope to come for many more.Very helpful staff and lots to do for all ages we just can't fault it.

Room Tip: We always book the reviera front facing rooms for the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_pilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you all enjoyed your stay and have re booked for next year.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    238
    61
    16
    6
See reviews for
222
129
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just returned from our 4th stay at the Carlton and have already booked for next year!
The standard of food was very good. Room clean and bright. All facilities were well used and more than made up for the fairly awful weather.
The resturant staff were excellent and led by a very busy well organised manager, always had a smile and looked after us really well. Overall once again a lovely stay and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Riviera rooms have a fairly good view, when weather is clear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Carlton. I am pleased you had a great holiday with us.
I will pass your kind comments onto Mikki my Restaurant Manager.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

First impressions of hotel at reception very good. Was looking foward to the room as booked from the brochure picture and chose the carlton as was advised by the booking office that the rooms were all newly refurbished, disappointed that the room was dark and not refurbished with climber plants covering the window and was told by reception that if you want a nice room to ask for reception when booking as they know the rooms better.(overgrown plants did get cut down during the stay which made a big difference to light in the room.) Also standard family rooms are at the front of the building so you do get a lot of road noise and deliveries from 6am - ask for a riviera room as an upgrade as these are bigger and at the back!!! The food and restaurant at the carlton were lovely, plenty to choose from at night and the staff were excellent - sea view lovely. Breakfast was ok but could do with more choice as same every day. Leisure facilities excellent - plenty of things to do!

Room Tip: Ring and speak to reception for your requirements not the main booking office. Ask for a Riviera ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am glad you had an enjoyable time.
Our Riviera rooms have a great sea view and I would recommend booking one of these if the room view is an important part of your stay.
I am also pleased we were able resolve your problem with the climbing plant.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

A friendly welcome, delicious food & fantastic selection of activities for all the family. This is our favourite holiday destination, very close to sea front, beautiful sea views,can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay.

It is great to read you enjoy staying with and also enjoy the beautiful coastline here in Torquay that we are fortunate enough to be positioned on.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

A group of 15 of us visited the Carlton in June as part of a Spa and fitness break. Although the decor is fairly dated and a bit worn the rooms were all spotlessly clean, lovely fresh bedding and sparkling bathrooms.
Our Spa treatments were all fantastic and the instructor who led our Private Zumba class was amazing!!
Dinner was fairly basic, but hot, served quickly and plenty of it.
Breakfast was fab!
Staff were friendly, welcoming and seemed genuinely pleased to have a largish booking even when we turned up for dinner in our Olympic themed fancy dress!!
I cannot see why anyone could make negative comments as The Carlton isn't trying to be anything that it isn't!!
we had an amazing time, thank-you, give your staff a pay rise!!
Frampton Cotterell Netball Club ( we will be back!!)

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of your group, I am pleased you all had a great stay with us.

Our Zumba classes are really popular and I am glad you enjoyed your class and also got time to relax in our Spa.

The team work really hard to provide great customer service and it is good to know that we are getting it right.

We look forward to welcoming you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is our fourth stay at the Carlton. Beautiful setting, lovely views over the swimming pool and out to sea. As always the staff are very friendly and helpful, food fab and wonderful facilities, especially the indoor pool complex.. We would like to say thank you to Mikki, Restaurant Manager, for always ensuring we have a great holiday. We will miss you and best wishes on his trip around the world. See you next year

Room Tip: The Riveria Rooms are well worth paying extra for, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I have passed your feedback onto Mikki and I am glad he looked after you so well.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed at the Carlton in Torquay for a Belly Spa weekend, lovely single room looking out over the sea. The Aztec Spa is wonderful, I had the fish feet experience where the feet are dangled into a tank containing fish that eat all your hard skin, a bit tickly at first but my feet were the smoothest they have ever been. A wide range of treatments available at very competitive prices. The food is good and the bar prices are very reasonable for an Hotel. The service is also ok. try it for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor about your weekend break.
I am pleased you had time to experience the Aztec Spa which is a great place to relax and be pampered.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing