We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at the Carlton”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed for for a few days after Christmas . Restaurant food was brilliant ( previous ref to coffee i agreed i only drink coffee so really like a nice coffee and your coffee is terrible ,so i take my own fresh coffee and a cafeteria , the restaurant staff didn't have a problem filling it with hot water)
The room was very spacious . We have been going to the TLH for over twenty years and any we have had a problem its been sorted The updated dining room looks very smart now ,so will the corridors and hallways when finished

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandak1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Many thanks for posting your feedback on your stay and I am glad that you had a great time.

I have noted your comments regarding the coffee and I will look into this, we use Douwe Egberts in our Restaurant and Nescafe in our bedrooms at present. I am glad the team ensured you had the water for your coffee.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayrd at the Carlton in the OCtober half term break with our two children aged 9 & 8.The room was clean and comfortable. The food was lovely and teh children liked teh buffet style which meant they could have a bit of both the meal choices! The pool facilities are great but unfortunately the heater in the smaller pool was broken which could have made it difficult for parents with smaller children. It was quite busy ,which was not a problem in the large pool, but meant there was a wait for the cubucles when we wanted to get out. The evening entertainment was excellent and the bingo had great cash prizes. Would recommend to friends and am planning another trip, a spa break without the children!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on Your October half term break and I am glad you had a great stay.

I am pleased to say the heating issue with our smaller Med Pool is resolved and we are currently looking at expanding our changing facilities to accommodate the increasing demand from guests, members and customers who want to use our great leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at the Carlton for two nights the 2nd and 3rd of January 2013. We are a family of five with two boys aged 7 and 8 and a girl aged 11. We had stayed at the Hotel some years ago and had always been keen to return. We had a fantastic time, the staff were always friendly, the food amazing and the location excellent. I have little to say other than praise and would recommend the hotel to anyone and we are planning our next visit already

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robannie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read you and your family had a great stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My stay at the Carlton hotel was extremely good. The staff were pleasant and really helpful especially in the restaurant. The food was excellent and the waiting staff did everything they could to ensure we had everything we needed especially Olly who was so pleasant and joined in with our laughing and sometimes a bit loud behaviour. I would definitely recommend the Carlton to any of my friends holidaying in Torquay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Many thanks for your review and for the 5 out of 5 rating in all areas.

I will ensure Olly reads your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for the Twixmas Break at the Carlton 3* (2 adults & 2 children aged 13 & 3.) We had stayed previous before at the Derwent 2*, so finding our way around the TLH was not a problem. The facilities & enterntainment were great as usual, we had a family room which was very clean, however, just wished the towels were larger and the coffee at breakfast stronger. My sister, brother-in-law and Niece (aged 13 also) stayed at the Victoria 3*- their room was old fashioned and the bed was extremely hard and you could feel the springs - they did complain and the mattress was sorted! Staff were always pleasant and its certainly good value for money- would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am glad you had a great time at the Carlton.

We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Our second Christmas at the Carlton & probably our sixth visit overall. As always, the welcome was warm, the food and service excellent. Plenty to do, with a full entertainment programme & fantastic leisure facilities.
All twelve of our party were delighted & the staff could not have done anymore to ensure that this was the case. Thank you & we look forward to returning in 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LubLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you and your party all had a great time over Christmas and we hope to welcome you all back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A great holiday. We found every member if staff incredibly friendly and helpful above and beyond the call of duty. What a difference that makes to a guest. Great facilities, good food, excellent entertainment. We will be going back !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oatcake67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and I am pleased you had a great time with us.

I will pass your comments onto my team as they work so hard to look after our guests and it is great to get this fantastic feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 85 in Torquay
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,188 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £66 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing