We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff but poor entertainment in the evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic staff but poor entertainment in the evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Carlton Hotel in February for DBB.
The hotel staff were lovely & polite.
The restaurant staff were really good. They endeavoured to make our meals enjoyable & the food was fairly good.
The bedroom was average, clean & modern. But we had a broken bin in the lavatory - which obviously isn't 3 star standard.
The leisure facilities were really good. But the big let down was the hotel seemed to be taken over by the dancing holiday goers for the whole week. Meaning you weren't ever allowed to sit in the Riviera lounge during the day or evening. You could not admire the views & have a drink there as the hotel boasts on their website.
If there is a special event on or particular set of holidaymakers, the whole focus is on these people during your stay. I would think it would be more important to focus the attention on all your guests & their needs.
I do not think this is a hotel for families at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and I am glad you enjoyed the service and food at the Carlton.
Our Rivera Ballroom is a fantastic space and has a fantastic view over Torquay Seafront it is ideal for a wedding, dance group or function and is very popular. The room is hired out either to a group staying at the hotel or on a weekend sometimes for a function. I am sorry you were unable to use it during your stay. We do put in our brochure that this room is not always available for guests to use, but we do have other lounges at the Carlton that our available. If you wanted a great sea view I recommend booking one of our Rivera front rooms which have the same outstanding views as the Riviera Ballroom.

We are a family resort and during weekends and school holidays we have entertainment and activities and kids clubs all aimed at families, and one of our selling features as a resort is that we have something for everyone on site.

I am sorry that the bin in your room was broken, if you had mentioned this to Reception we would have replaced this immediately.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    238
    61
    16
    6
See reviews for
222
129
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I returned to the Carlton hotel on Sunday 27 Jan 13 for another two night break, again the welcome was warm, nice to meet up with the friendly staff again, the room was excellent, as usual, the food was up to its usual high standard with the waiting staff up to their usual high standards. We were even recognised by some of the girls. Before leaving I booked a further midweek break for the whole family (three rooms) and received confirmation of my booking this morning. My family are looking forward to the trip. Well done Carlton Staff. Management you should be proud of them

Room Tip: Any one of the Rivera rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for posting feedback about your stay at the Carlton.

I am very proud of the team as I know how hard they all work to look after our guests. It is great to read feedback like yours which acknowledges this. I will ensure my team read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

A wonderful resort to stay in. It has everything you need (pubs, dancing, restaurant, swimming pools, entertainment games, etc.) our kids definitely enjoy the experience and are looking forward to go back!!..so are we :D

Room Tip: Our rooms in the second floor had a nice view to the beach! There are also apartments available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natacha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

I am glad you and your family had a great stay with us and there was something for everyone to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We went on the Spa Break (which we have done for the last 3 years) because we feel this break is excellent value for money - includes good treatments in a relaxing atmosphere and the hotel is clean with good food in a friendly environment. Lovely to be able to use the facilities of an excellent swimming pool, gym and evening entertainment. We keep returning!

Room Tip: Top floor gives the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for your review on your visit and I am pleased that you enjoyed your 3rd spa break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your 4th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed in the Carlton and was very pleased to recieve a bowl of fruit in the room on arrival, along with comfy beds, plenty of tea or coffee and a nice size bathroom, this was a very pleasant experience. Food suberb and all for a very good price. Well done, we'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

It is always great to read such positive comments about the hotel and I am glad you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have just returned home after a fantastic spa weekend break with Rosemary Conley's fitness group. This is my third visit and hopefully will not be my last. Our hotel room was very nice, clean and well equiped. The food was excellent and our waitress Ela was very charming nothing was too much trouble for her.
We used the pool, jacuzzi & steam room, did aqua arobics, attended the zumba class as well as our organised fitness classes.
Our spa treatments were lovely, hoping to repeat them in the near future.
The evening entertainment on Saturday was very enjoyable, we joined in the fun!!
All too soon the weekend was over, well done the Carlton & Toorak for making it so brill

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suelynn219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent spa break at the Carlton Hotel.

Our weekend spa breaks are really popular and I am glad you enjoyed yourself and got a chance to use all of our fantastic leisure facilities. These breaks run throughout the year, so hopefully you will be able to attend another one.

We look forward to you returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed for for a few days after Christmas . Restaurant food was brilliant ( previous ref to coffee i agreed i only drink coffee so really like a nice coffee and your coffee is terrible ,so i take my own fresh coffee and a cafeteria , the restaurant staff didn't have a problem filling it with hot water)
The room was very spacious . We have been going to the TLH for over twenty years and any we have had a problem its been sorted The updated dining room looks very smart now ,so will the corridors and hallways when finished

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandak1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Many thanks for posting your feedback on your stay and I am glad that you had a great time.

I have noted your comments regarding the coffee and I will look into this, we use Douwe Egberts in our Restaurant and Nescafe in our bedrooms at present. I am glad the team ensured you had the water for your coffee.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing