We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group stay”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Bedside shelf had ring stain from cup or glass before we used it .
We left it for two days to see if it would be cleaned ,then cleaned it off.
Bistro bar tables were not cleaned and looked grubby.
Breakfast was excellent , evening meals veg uninspiring.
As a group we had to sit where we were put .
Tea , toast seemed to be allocated at random depending how many were sat at the group table instead of treating each couple as an individual table.
Promises made to allow good service to enable theatre trips to be arranged without rushing or missing meal but did not happen.
The same with early breakfast on departure day.
Wifi kept dropping out.
Hotel not suited to summer weather.
Hotel quite near to front but up a hill .

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Got to hand it to the staff they were all so friendly! Me and a friend had a package deal as a treat for ourselfs. Would really recommend this hotel whatever your age or family size there's something for everyone for everything they do there we felt like it was great value for money! The food was lovely! My only fault is the room was very hot to sleep in but this being end of July on boiling nights. I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennypill1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent 4 nights here attending the Bellyspa weekend last week,our second visit and just as good as the first,
Rooms can get a bit hot when weather is good but opening windows helped-might take a fan next time,rooms were spacious,ours was on second floor and overlooked main entrance so there was some noise but not enough to be a problem.
Faclities at the hotel were excellent,and restaurant staff could not do enough to help,(special mention to our waitress Barbara and restaurant manager Steve)
Within easy walking distance of shops marina and beach
All in all an enjoyable weekend,which I would nt hesitate to repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anji P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel on business for two nights. It is very much a "coach tour" hotel, and both nights I was there I was woken up at approx 0600 by the sound of people coming and going outside. Perhaps this was because the window was open, however if it had been closed I think I would have died from the heat!
The pool, spa and Aztec Bistro are nice and give the hotel a sense of class, however I agree with a previous reviewer that the rooms feel dated. The hotel was also very very hot which wasn't great, especially on the hot days that I was there last week.
Breakfast on day 1 was good, however on day 2 I dined later (approx 0930) and the bacon was inedible - chewy and dried up. The eggs also looked as though they had been sitting there all morning.
Most of the staff seemed friendly, however one of the breakfast waitresses was rather abrupt when telling me where I could or could not sit.
Hotel complex is a bit of a maze...you can end up going the wrong way quite easily, especially between the TLH complex.

Room Tip: Back of hotel! We were above the car park - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beanstalkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was definitely a lovely surprise! I went with a group of friends for a hen party - the staff were excellent and really accommodating! The pool area was lovely, with a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The Spa was amazing and so relaxing!!! As we booked on a special package, we got bed, breakfast and dinner, a spa treatment, a Zumba class and access to all the facilities for £130 for 2 nights - which is excellent value for money! The hotel is close to town, about a 10-15 minute walk to town and even closer to the beach.
The breakfast was a buffet style and delicious. The dinner was also lovely, with good food choices and amazing desserts!!
The only downside to the hotel is the rooms - they are quite rundown and could really do with updating. They had everything you needed - TV, kettle facilities, hairdryer, etc.. and for the price you can't really complain but they just need a bit of modernising. The duvet covers were old looking, carpet grubby and the bathroom needed a good scrub. This didn't really matter as we were celebrating most of the time, but if I was with my partner I would have wanted a nicer room.
Overall, it was a lovely hotel and excellent value for money!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lots of things to do at the complex. Food in the Aztec bar is fab and very reasonable in price. Mike the Aztec Manager was great made us feel very welcome. Even came to see us go home. Hi Mikey!!!! Haha keep up the good work everyone x

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Janice340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great for short break. Staff lovely. Good value, dinner brilliant and Spa deal well worth it. Handy to walk along front and taxis not too dear to get back. Went for hen spa weekend and def going back with my friends again.

Room Tip: Very hot and so room hot too. Some managed to get fans put in rooms, we were too late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sdwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 86 in Torquay
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £86 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing